You are not logged in.

#1 2004-01-22 05:47:25

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile
    Attempting   pacman -Syu   

   Received     "font config conflicts with XFree86, Remove XFree86 (y,n)?
"
  What action do I take to allow the upgrade to continue?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#2 2004-01-22 05:56:23

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

Let's see... the safest thing to do is... read the announcement section!  Everything you need to know about problematic upgrades is in there.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2004-01-22 06:14:57

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile Hello xentac, please advise as to what and where the "announcement section" sad


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#4 2004-01-22 06:32:28

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

Right at the top of the Forum Index there's a section called "Announcements"  If you still can't find it, I've included a link.

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewforum.php?f=24


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#5 2004-01-22 18:26:45

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile Thanks for the info, xentac.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#6 2004-01-23 20:09:41

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile Xentac: 

     If a person upgrades arch per the instructions given in the announcement, I assume that I will lose GUI KDE along with X and will have to re-setup KDE to open and so-on.

    I also assume that this will occur every time I upgrade using     Pacman -Syu    and there is no escape from the "Ugly X-86 upgrade".

    Do I understand the situation correctly?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#7 2004-01-23 20:52:31

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

No, you don't. Your KDE/GNOME/whatever preferences are not stored in anything that has to do with XFree86.

You will have to restart X, but none of your settings will be gone.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#8 2004-01-23 21:05:39

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile Please excuse my persistence but the statement given in reply said "no you don"t" and I "don't" what?  Don't understand or don"t have to do the procedure every time I update?

  I still assume I can escape the "Ugly X-86 upgrade" by some other procedure which might involve using a previous release of X-86.

   The big question to answer is...Does the pacman -syu activity require the "ugly X-86 " every time it is used?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#9 2004-01-23 22:02:02

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

    To make certain I understand the procedure, I expect to do the following:

            Enter ......   # pacman -Rd xfree86.....   

      The above  exactly as  appears.

    I expect that something will happen to my display....

      I do not know what will occur first off.  Then I assume I do not need to restart the computer but must enter :

        #pacman -Sy xfree86 ....enter

     This is expected to install xfree86 by pacman with the fonts no longer in conflict thereby.

       I expect I have to ......#startx..enter      :However, to provide KDE at start up I need something further I seem to recall.

      Do I have this procedure correct?  If so, what happens after the first ...#pacman -Rd  xfree86  enter.....?  Does my screen go blank?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#10 2004-01-23 22:26:53

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

pacman -Rd xfree86 will remove xfree86 - the X windows server. KDE will still be installed, Gnome, XFCE or other WM's will still be there. Just X will be gone.

IMHO I would do all of this from a console log in.

To get to a console login.. at the KDE log in, you should be able to choose login type - and console - or just hit <crtl><alt><f1>. Login as root (or yourself then SU). Then head on over to /etc/rc.d and do "./kdm stop". This will shut down X. Then go ahead and do "pacman -Rd xfree86" and then "pacman -Sy xfree86". Your X server should be uninstalled and re-installed. You can then do "./kdm start" and get your nice, pretty KDE Login.

Good Luck!

Offline

#11 2004-01-23 23:02:58

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

    I am getting in the soup even deeper with each question I ask.

   I don't know what a "  console login" is  and  have done everything as "root".

    What occurs if I  enter  "ctl..alt.f1"?

    When I go to   "/etc/rc.d" in what manner do I address it with  "./kdm stop" since it usually requires an  "Edit" to be performed in my experience.  I assume I get to /etc/rc.d with a "cd"command.

     As you can see, I am not an expert in linux.
     
    The last comment:  After installing   #pacman -Sy xfree86 .....is the entry....
          ./kdm start.... made in "root" or somewhere else?  In addition, previous mention of  "startx" was made.  Is this required before ./kdm start?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#12 2004-01-23 23:15:03

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

smile No problem - we all start somewhere

WHen you hit <ctrl><alt><f1> you should see a text based login prompt. Just login.

To get to /etc/rc.d - type in cd /etc/rc.d

that will change you to the /etc/rc.d directory

Then

#./kdm stop

- you are telling the kdm deamon to stop running - which shuts down Xwindows

then you remove and re-install X

then you

#./kdm start

telling kdm to start running again.

You should <ctrl><alt><f1> again and issue an exit command until you see the login prompt

#exit

when you see the text based login prompt, you should be able to <ctrl><alt><f7> to get back to the KDM.

Offline

#13 2004-01-24 00:47:20

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile tsykoduk:

   Performed the.... ctl alt f1.... and entered  root and password...

    Next...cd /etc/rc.d... enter
     Next#./kdm stop...  enter
   
    Result:  no such file or directory....


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#14 2004-01-24 00:52:01

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

Sorry - I did not remove the hash mark...

./kdm stop

./ tells you to run something in the same directory that you are in

kdm is the deamon

stop tells it what to do

Offline

#15 2004-01-24 00:58:27

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

     The hash mark (#) is part of the preamble..
       I entered    (./kdm stop) and received the  "no such file or directory" result.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#16 2004-01-24 01:16:07

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

[root@linux /]# cd /etc/rc.d
[root@linux rc.d]# ls
crond  fam  hotplug  network  nscd  slapd  syslogd  yppasswd
cups functions  kdm  nfsd portmap  spamd  xinetd   ypserv
esd gdm klogd nfslock  samba sshd   ypbind
[root@linux rc.d]#

That is what my rc.d directory looks like - if yours does not have the kdm - I dunno... try xdm (if you have it) or gdm? When you boot into linux do you get a GUI login or a text login?

If you get a text login, then no worries.

Accually - no worries anyways. I would just do the upgrade then restart X (<ctrl><alt><del> does that when you are in X).
[/code]

Offline

#17 2004-01-24 01:31:18

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

      I do not have    kdm   in /etc/rc.d

     I have a GUI login ...      root  /   password .....

       From what you say, I should continue with the procedure and end it with ctl alt del   .... then on reboot  will everything be back to normal 
????


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#18 2004-01-24 01:34:14

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

reboot is not nessary - just a restart of the X server - the clt alt del will force a restart of the X server and read in the new code. If you want to reboot it should not hurt anything smile

Offline

#19 2004-01-24 01:34:36

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

He means <ctrl><alt><backspace>.  That kills the X server, when you're in X.  Because you have a graphical login thingy X will start right back up again, but it will be the new version.

Then again, <ctrl><alt><del> would do something similar because it would restart the whole machine.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#20 2004-01-24 01:36:40

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

Yeah.. ctrl alt del, crtl alt backspace - same flavor right?  lol

Offline

#21 2004-01-24 02:01:27

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile Gents:

     Performed the pacman procedures w/o the ./kdm stop and start and the system  loaded the new Xfree86 and I am back up in KDE.

     I will later try the   Syu command for full system upgrade.

     Thank you for your patience....


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#22 2004-01-24 03:30:23

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

    After entering ....pacman -Syu.......

     The download commenced and entered all upgrades ending with xemacs-21.5.16-2.......  This was followed by:

         Checking package integrity...

    This was followed by:

     archive scrollkeeper 0.3.12-5.pkg.tar   is corrupted....

        What should I do next?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#23 2004-01-24 03:56:51

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

    Does this failure mean I have to rerun ...pacman -Syu.... and wait for the downloads again?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#24 2004-01-24 04:47:58

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

try pacman -Sc, (make sure your pacman is up to date) then try -Syu'ing again.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#25 2004-01-24 06:34:50

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Pacman -Syu error resolution

big_smile  smile

    performed the ....pacman -Sc.....
    Performed .....pacman -Syu......
    No errors occured and system returned to root prompt after  checking for file conflicts. 
    How can I be sure the system is upgraded?  Some warnings appeared concerning changes to file extensions such as; /etc/modules.conf.pacsave.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB