You are not logged in.

#1 2017-12-14 06:36:40

theonlylawislove
Member
Registered: 2015-01-05
Posts: 38

error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

My previous post was deleted because it referenced a script instead of distilling the commands the reproduce the issue.

I am using the arch-bootstrap tarball, arch-chroot'ing into it, and running these commands:

# Initialize the keys
pacman-key --init
pacman-key --populate archlinux

# Resyn the database
pacman -Sy --noconfirm

pacman -S base base-devel --noconfirm

I end up getting this error.

checking keyring...
downloading required keys...
error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely
error: required key missing from keyring
error: failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Other people had similar errors (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=231047), but the solution doesn't work here. I am using pacman-key --init.

I found the GPG key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" on an old Arch machine. I exported that key, and added it directly after initializing pacman-key.

Exporting from old machine.

sudo pacman-key -a problematic.pub

New installation commands.

# Initialize the keys
pacman-key --init
pacman-key --populate archlinux
pacman-key -a problematic.pub

# Resyn the database
pacman -Sy --noconfirm

pacman -S base base-devel --noconfirm

This solution is a workaround, but I feel like there is a deeper issue somewhere that the Arch team might need to deal with.

Last edited by theonlylawislove (2017-12-14 06:56:56)

Offline

#2 2017-12-14 06:44:52

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,687

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

Why are you using an old image to begin with?

Even then, pacman will look it up if gpg can actually do it. You probably have network issues preventing it from working.

Offline

#3 2017-12-14 06:50:43

theonlylawislove
Member
Registered: 2015-01-05
Posts: 38

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

Scimmia wrote:

Why are you using an old image to begin with?

The machine I found the key on was old, but I am not using it. I am trying to setup a fresh/clean install.

Scimmia wrote:

Even then, pacman will look it up if gpg can actually do it. You probably have network issues preventing it from working.

The logs don't give me any direction as to what network call is failing. The packages are downloading correctly from pacman and I can ping prominent public IPs (google.com, 8.8.8.8, etc).

Where would I look?

Last edited by theonlylawislove (2017-12-14 06:50:52)

Offline

#4 2017-12-14 06:52:02

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,687

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

And now you're arguing. If you were using an up to date bootstrap image, you'd already have this key, so the only conclusion is that you're using an old one and don't want to tell us. Good luck.

Offline

#5 2017-12-14 06:54:04

theonlylawislove
Member
Registered: 2015-01-05
Posts: 38

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

Scimmia wrote:

And now you're arguing. If you were using an up to date bootstrap image, you'd already have this key, so the only conclusion is that you're using an old one and don't want to tell us. Good luck.

Oh, you were referring to the bootstrap image, not the old machine that had the key.

You weren't clear, and I was hardly arguing.

Offline

#6 2017-12-14 06:58:40

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,060
Website

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

pacman -Sy archlinux-keyring
pacman -S base base-devel ...

Offline

#7 2017-12-14 06:58:44

theonlylawislove
Member
Registered: 2015-01-05
Posts: 38

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

Also, I am using bootstrap image from 2017.09.01. I will use latest version and see if problem still persists.

Offline

#8 2017-12-14 07:03:57

theonlylawislove
Member
Registered: 2015-01-05
Posts: 38

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

Allan wrote:

pacman -Sy archlinux-keyring
pacman -S base base-devel ...

Updating my bootstrap may solve the issue (haven't tested), but this approach did solve it. I am going to use this approach to prevent the rolling release from causing me to have to update bootstrap again.

I appreciate your help, thanks much.

Last edited by theonlylawislove (2017-12-14 07:05:08)

Offline

#9 2017-12-14 07:53:40

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 4,097

Re: error: key "EEEEE2EEEE2EEEEE" could not be looked up remotely

As a general rule of thumb, you want to try the latest version of xxx (in this case, the bootstrap image), just to see if it solves your problem before posting questions. wink

This should have solved the issue, courtesy of already having an updated keyring with the new key in question.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB