You are not logged in.

#1 2017-12-30 17:05:53

nuts
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 9

XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

Hi,

I'm using XFCE and I love it: it has a good support for multi-screens. I use dockx and I see that it's possible to get a globalmenu like unity for the applications.
I've installed:

community/appmenu-qt4
aur/appmenu-gtk-module-git
aur/appmenu-qt5-git
aur/vala-panel-appmenu-translations-git
aur/vala-panel-appmenu-valapanel-git
aur/vala-panel-appmenu-xfce-git

I have now the appmenu plugin (external)in the upper board of xfce

It works fine with thunar, libreoffice, ardour, vlc, gimp or openshot ... but not with google-chrome, firefox or skypeforlinux...  I see screenshots on the web show it should fine with crhome or firefox.
Do I miss something?

ps: sorry for my english

Offline

#2 2018-01-03 10:43:43

Morv
Member
Registered: 2016-10-09
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

From https://github.com/rilian-la-te/vala-panel-appmenu:

Install these libdbusmenu-glib libdbusmenu-gtk3 libdbusmenu-gtk2 to get Chromium/Google Chrome to work

Have you installed those? There's also some issue with firefox I read on the issue tracker, see https://github.com/rilian-la-te/vala-pa … /issues/17

skypeforlinux should work as it's based on electron which is supposed to be supported.

Offline

#3 2018-01-03 11:07:09

nuts
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 9

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

Oh thanks, these packages were missed. It works great for chrome now, but not for firefox nor skype.

edit: it works with skype after a reboot

Last edited by nuts (2018-01-03 17:27:39)

Offline

#4 2018-07-01 09:03:57

rilian-la-te
Member
Registered: 2012-08-24
Posts: 39

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

I am sorry, but only Firefox with Ubuntu patches works.

Offline

#5 2019-09-15 17:42:26

keshara.dorakumbura
Member
Registered: 2014-09-14
Posts: 7

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

rilian-la-te wrote:

I am sorry, but only Firefox with Ubuntu patches works.

I followed the guide on
https://github.com/rilian-la-te/vala-panel-appmenu

But some of my application don't have appmenu. Firefox, google-chrome, vlc player are few of them

Can you note down what ubuntu patches that I should look at to get this going.


Thanks

Offline

#6 2019-09-16 07:22:55

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,973

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

You will also want https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/vala … istrar-git for applications that us DBusMenu directly.

Offline

#7 2019-09-16 11:23:53

keshara.dorakumbura
Member
Registered: 2014-09-14
Posts: 7

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

After installing the vala-panel-appmenu-registar-git, previously none worked vlc, skypeforlinux, google-chrome started to populate global menu on top of the xfce panel.

Firefox still having trouble which is very bad.

here is the currently installed pkgs

local/vala 0.46.0-1
    Compiler for the GObject type system
local/vala-panel-appmenu-budgie-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    AppMenu (Global Menu) plugin for budgie-panel
local/vala-panel-appmenu-common-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    Translations and common files for Global Menu
local/vala-panel-appmenu-mate-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    AppMenu (Global Menu) plugin for mate-panel
local/vala-panel-appmenu-registrar-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    Small utility to hold DBusMenu menus
local/vala-panel-appmenu-valapanel-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    AppMenu (Global Menu) plugin for vala-panel
local/vala-panel-appmenu-xfce-git 0.7.3.r1.g8e8b2d0-1
    AppMenu (Global Menu) plugin for xfce4-panel
local/vala-panel-git 0.4.91.r4.gf300f22-1
    Gtk3 panel for compositing window managers

Last edited by keshara.dorakumbura (2019-09-16 18:20:00)

Offline

#8 2019-09-16 13:14:22

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 2,858

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

Please edit your post and use [ code ] tags (not yellow highlighting) when posting output.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

Offline

#9 2019-12-03 11:16:14

rilian-la-te
Member
Registered: 2012-08-24
Posts: 39

Re: XFCE: globalmenu with vala-panel not working for all apps

keshara.dorakumbura wrote:

[

Can you note down what ubuntu patches that I should look at to get this going.

Thanks

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/firefox-appmenu/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB