You are not logged in.

#1 2006-07-18 23:13:00

user
Member
Registered: 2006-03-29
Posts: 465

Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

Hi,

My network port is so closed (here), so i can't irc(gaim)/etc apps.
I know proxy server list do their job, but i have no known list atm.

What should i do?

PS: well i have look into proxy server list in google list.


I removed my sig, cause i select the flag, the flag often the target of enemy.

SAR brain-tumor
[img]http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/460/cellphonethumb0ff.jpg[/img]

Offline

#2 2006-07-18 23:14:54

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

user wrote:

Hi,

My network port is so closed (here), so i can't irc(gaim)/etc apps.
I know proxy server list do their job, but i have no known list atm.

What should i do?

With gaim you can change the port range in the options menu. Just change it to 80:80

Offline

#3 2006-07-18 23:16:38

user
Member
Registered: 2006-03-29
Posts: 465

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

twiistedkaos wrote:
user wrote:

Hi,

My network port is so closed (here), so i can't irc(gaim)/etc apps.
I know proxy server list do their job, but i have no known list atm.

What should i do?

With gaim you can change the port range in the options menu. Just change it to 80:80

Thanks, i will give it a try, and will tell you the result.


I removed my sig, cause i select the flag, the flag often the target of enemy.

SAR brain-tumor
[img]http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/460/cellphonethumb0ff.jpg[/img]

Offline

#4 2006-07-19 06:20:59

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

I have a similar problem at work. My solution was to get myself a Jabber account, wich i believe uses port 80/443 by default, and then use its "relay"-function to get access to my ICQ/MSN friends. Works like a charm and passes our proxy without any problems.

Offline

#5 2006-07-19 16:12:18

user
Member
Registered: 2006-03-29
Posts: 465

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

I found this link from http://e.cactuswax.net/
http://bitlbee.org/


I removed my sig, cause i select the flag, the flag often the target of enemy.

SAR brain-tumor
[img]http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/460/cellphonethumb0ff.jpg[/img]

Offline

#6 2006-07-19 18:40:54

Bison
Member
From: Jacksonville, FL
Registered: 2006-04-12
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

Yeah, bitlbee is pretty cool. Thats what I use, but the servers can be pretty unreliable sometimes

Offline

#7 2006-07-19 18:47:59

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

I used to use httptunnel to poke SSH sessions through the firewall in my last job. It worked perfectly, and you can use it for any connection type.

Offline

#8 2006-07-20 10:54:48

drakosha
Member
Registered: 2006-01-03
Posts: 253
Website

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

There's also meebo.com ...

Offline

#9 2006-12-04 19:47:57

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 524
Website

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

tomk wrote:

I used to use httptunnel to poke SSH sessions through the firewall in my last job. It worked perfectly, and you can use it for any connection type.

Sorry for posting in a old topic, but I'm having a similar problem. At our university, the proxy settings are too strict. They barely have http browsing open. But I still need to use gaim, irc, etc.. using a live cd which has httptunnel. So is there a guide to using httptunnel?

Offline

#10 2006-12-04 20:04:45

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

aMSN has an option to make it use port 80.  Worked fine through my university's proxy.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#11 2006-12-04 22:48:04

noriko
Member
From: In My Mind
Registered: 2006-06-09
Posts: 535
Website

Re: Looking for (some) messenger apps using port 80

you should be able to use gaim, just go to add/edit or whatever the option is to modifyu account, and check the box that says ' use http method'
it works for me on JANET (uk university/academia man/network)


The.Revolution.Is.Coming - - To fight, To hunger, To Resist!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB