You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-25 21:24:43

lio

[Solved] How to use xscreensaver to track time at work ?

Hello,

I have recently installed Archlinux as my main working OS on my new desktop at work. I've been using it at home for close to 8 years, but pretty proud to be on it 100% of the time whether at home or at work big_smile

On the topic now...

I would like to track my arrival and departure times at work using unlock and lock events of xscreensaver.
First unlock of the day is when I arrive in the morning and last lock of the day is when I go home.

Logging the lock events is easy if I manually lock because I can simply bind my keyboard shortcut to a script that can write the date/time to a file and then lock xscreensaver instead of directly locking xscreensaver from the keyboard shortcut.

However, I forget to lock my workstation pretty much 90% of the times when leaving the office -_-

I would like to be able to log the lock events even when xscreensaver locks it automatically when the screensaver kicks in (after a few minutes without user actions). I would also like to have the unlock events in the morning to be logged obviously.

I looked in systemd "journalctl" log, but apparently xscreensaver does not write anything in there.

Has anybody used some scheme similar to this to automatically track times at work ? Or have a suggestion that would suit someone that can't simply remember to write arrival and departure times like everyone else ...

many thanks, in any cases.

Last edited by lio (2018-01-26 13:20:40)

#2 2018-01-25 23:01:13

seth

Re: [Solved] How to use xscreensaver to track time at work ?

Not sure about xscreensaver, but you could use xautolock to run a script that logs the invocation, runs an annoyance for you to exit (fullscreen video loop or whatever) and logs the termination.

However, I forget to lock my workstation pretty much 90% of the times when leaving the office -_-