You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-06 22:10:46

scrip

'Fn' keys not working, not a hardware issue

Hi !
I'm new to Arch and I like it so far but one thing is grinding my gears : all F1 to F12 keys (I access those keys by pressing Fn + F_ ) don't do anything in chrome, terminal, etc...

The weird thing is I installed screenkeys to check if it was a hardware problem or a wrong mapping, but the latter is indeed showing me F_ when I type the coressponding key.

I already tried forcing a mapping with

xmodmap -e "keycode 88 = F12 F12 F12 F12 F12 F12"

but It does not seem to change anyhing. I also discovered that

showkey

and

xmodmap -pk

were inconsistant (the 'a' keycode wasn't mapped to 'a')

What can be wrong here ?

#2 2018-02-07 12:59:22

seth

Re: 'Fn' keys not working, not a hardware issue

Desktop environment (gnome?) and "xev -event keyboard" output?

#3 2018-02-07 13:13:35

scrip

Oh yeah sorry, forgot to mention I'm using Deepin.

"xev -event keyboard" is giving me something when I type a letter or anything but nothing when I type Fn + F_

#4 2018-02-07 13:25:31

seth

Ie. the keys are not mapped by the input driver, ensure you're not using wayland as display server and then simply try using xf86-input-evdev instead of xf86-input-libinput.
Also check the behavior of "xinput test <id>" and evtest and take a look at the output of "xinput" on whether the keyboard registers as two devices - one might be responsible for the Fx keys and disabled.

Just to be sure: is this a macbook with a touchbar or are those "real" keys?

#5 2018-02-07 14:52:52

scrip

No not a macbook at all haha, it's a Lenovo 700-isk. If you want to checkout what the keyboard looks like :

https://www3.lenovo.com/medias/lenovo-l … 2MyOGFiNTc

I checked and I'm not using wayland but X11. I've tried installing xf86-input-evdev but nothing changed...

xinput gives me this:

https://i.imgur.com/j3tXqs0.png