You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-22 20:47:06

InvisibleRasta
Member
Registered: 2017-04-12
Posts: 4

Booting Arch ISO placed on ntfs sdb1 with grub2

hello guys i am trying to add entries for grub to boot the iso file but i cant find the correct configuration to get it booting. with this latest config when i try to boot it,it tells me that i have to load the kernel first
this is the configs i tried so far with no succes

insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    insmod ntfs
  set isofile=/OS/archlinux-2018.02.01-x86_64.iso
  set root=(hd2,gpt1)
  loopback loop $isofile
  linux (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/vmlinuz img_loop=$isofile
  initrd (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/archiso.img

insmod ntfs
set root=(hd2,gpt1)
   loopback loop /OS/archlinux-2018.02.01-x86_64.iso
   linux (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/OS/archlinux-2018.02.01-x86_64.iso noprompt noeject
   initrd (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/archiso.img


The errors i get are the following:
error: read out of range
error: you need to load the kernel first

Last edited by InvisibleRasta (2018-02-23 11:13:34)

Offline

#2 2018-03-20 21:43:13

InvisibleRasta
Member
Registered: 2017-04-12
Posts: 4

Re: Booting Arch ISO placed on ntfs sdb1 with grub2

hello guys, can anyone help me out with this? i have been trying for past a month.. i cant get it to boot

Offline

#3 2018-03-20 21:46:25

arobe176
Member
Registered: 2018-03-20
Posts: 10

Re: Booting Arch ISO placed on ntfs sdb1 with grub2

All you're doing is trying to boot an iso right? Whenever I boot from an iso I just boot from it in the BIOS boot options. Hit F9 during startup and select the USB. I know that doesn't help with what you are asking, but it should get you to boot from an iso without using grub

Offline

#4 2018-03-20 21:52:12

arobe176
Member
Registered: 2018-03-20
Posts: 10

Re: Booting Arch ISO placed on ntfs sdb1 with grub2

Also, that is assuming you have the iso written to the usb, not just saved on it. I'm not sure how knowledgeable you are, so might as well cover all the bases I know of. I use

dd if=pathtoiso.iso of=/dev/sdX bs=4M && sync

to write iso's to usb's, where sdX is the usb you want to write the iso

Offline

#5 2018-03-21 13:59:29

simona70
Member
Registered: 2017-01-08
Posts: 33

Re: Booting Arch ISO placed on ntfs sdb1 with grub2

I think the question was how to boot iso image in ntfs partition in grub2. The file. Not how to write to usb.

My /etc/grub.d/40_custom is:

menuentry 'Knoppix 64-bit ISO' {
  set gfxpayload=text # ~= vga='normal'
  set isofile_abspath='/boot/KNOPPIX_V8.0.0DVD-2017-02-02-DE2EN.iso'
  set isofile_devpath="${devroot}${isofile_abspath}"
  loopback loop "(${root})${isofile_abspath}"
  linux '(loop)/boot/isolinux/linux64' knoppix64 lang=it apm=power-off nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1
  initrd '(loop)/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz'
}

menuentry 'GParted 64-bit ISO' {
  set gfxpayload=text # ~= vga='normal'
  set isofile_abspath='/boot/gparted-live-0.29.0-1-amd64.iso'
  set isofile_devpath="${devroot}${isofile_abspath}"
  loopback loop "(${root})${isofile_abspath}"
  linux '(loop)/boot/vmlinuz' boot='live' union='overlay' username=user config components noswap noeject toram='filesystem.squashfs' ip='' nosplash findiso="${isofile_abspath}" nomodeset locales=it_IT.UTF-8 keyboard-layouts=it gl_batch
  initrd '(loop)/live/initrd.img'
}

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB