You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-05 00:25:49

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

This has happened before on other systems and I have just written it off to having a slow system in the past.  But now I have a hexacore, 12 thread system with a passmark score over 11,000 and 32GB of memory with a SSD as the system drive.  So now it is hard to believe it is entirely due to hardware.

When moving say 10,000 files in Dolphin using cut and paste I notice that plasma (the bar at the bottom) will become completely unresponsive until after the move is completed.  Clicking on the app bar at the bottom of the screen does nothing at all until the notification appears that the move operation is complete.  This doesn't seem like optimal behavior to me and it seems to me that these large moves of files should not effectively block plasmashell.

Is there a configuration change I should be making to prevent or minimize this?  Or is it some sort of bug or perhaps just an unreasonable expectation on my part?  I certainly get that moving a large amount of files like this is taxing on the system and should slow it down.  I just do not believe it should totally block the UI as it does.  Note that I can say change over to firefox or chromium and browse when this happens.  It is just that the bottom panel in plasmashell is totally unresponsive.

Offline

#2 2018-03-05 01:05:24

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 20,115
Website

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

davidm wrote:

... with a SSD as the system drive... I certainly get that moving a large amount of files like this is taxing on the system...

Either you've left out something important, or your assumption is flawed.  Where are the files being moved from/to?  If they are being moved within a filesystem on the same drive (SSD or not, in fact) the operation should be nearly instantaneous: the data does not actually move.

If you are moving across filesystems, or more importantly in this case across devices, then different gui file managers handle this quite differently.  Some of them rmonitor progress as changes get synced, others appear to be much faster but can result in problems if the target device is removed before a sync is complete.

Last edited by Trilby (2018-03-05 01:06:51)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2018-03-05 02:25:43

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Trilby wrote:
davidm wrote:

... with a SSD as the system drive... I certainly get that moving a large amount of files like this is taxing on the system...

Either you've left out something important, or your assumption is flawed.  Where are the files being moved from/to?  If they are being moved within a filesystem on the same drive (SSD or not, in fact) the operation should be nearly instantaneous: the data does not actually move.

If you are moving across filesystems, or more importantly in this case across devices, then different gui file managers handle this quite differently.  Some of them rmonitor progress as changes get synced, others appear to be much faster but can result in problems if the target device is removed before a sync is complete.

Yes there are more details which might be relevant.

The system disk is an SSD.  Unencrypted.  It gets about 500 MB/s throughput.  However the files themselves are stored on another spinning rust disk which is encrypted with LUKS and on a logical volume.  However the files are being moved on that same filesystem.  To a subdirectory in fact.  However that disk with the LUKS encryption only gets something like 170 MB/s throughput.

However the speed of the move operation is not really the issue I have.  It is more that plasmashell blocks (becomes unresponsive).  Specifically the task bar on the bottom as well as the notifications.  It is entirely unresponsive there until a notification pops up informing me that the move operation completed.  Curiously during this time I can use ALT+tab to switch applications and say operate a web browser as normal.  It is just plasmashell (the task bar portion specifically) which seems to block.

With a large operation it can end up blocking like this for ten minutes easily.

One thing I will note is that I am moving them within Dolphin and they are image or video files.  Previews are on so I am thinking perhaps it is re-generating the preview images?  Still this does not seem a good excuse for the plasmashell task bar to be unresponsive.

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-05 02:28:19)

Offline

#4 2018-03-05 08:57:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,440

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Did you check the CPU load (of the plasmashell process)?
The notification daemon will likely allocate a job for each file and the representation of the handling is oc. far more expensive than the copying itself ...

Offline

#5 2018-03-05 21:50:56

adomas
Member
From: Schwerin, Germany
Registered: 2011-01-05
Posts: 42
Website

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Well I had plasmashell to have short freezes on intense load on HDD. If you use SSD as root and HDD for home, it might be that when HDD is in high-load it slows down Plasma (plasmashell) for some reason (maybe plasmashell is accessing some cache files or something in home drive).

I solved this short freeze problem, by simply using SSD on both, root and home partitions, while HDD I mount separately just for data storage.

It also might be baloo problem, and you might want to try disable baloo by running "balooctl disable" (it will disable file and its content indexing).

And if it's some sort of bug with job tracking on Plasma, you can do this:
1) Go to Task Manager Settings and unmark "Show progress and status information in task buttons"
2) Go to Notification Settings and unmark "Track file transfers and other jobs"
Disabling these two, will make a small window appear on every file transfer, similar like old KDE versions had. This way file copying will not affect plasmashell, if there is a problem with that.

Offline

#6 2018-03-06 18:23:04

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Wow.  I did some further testing.  ACtually it almost definitely is either a Plasma or Dolphin bug possibly both.  What I found is that actually the taskbar at the bottom in Plasma is hanging until I close Dolphin.  I can easily duplicate this again and again.  Previously I just assumed it happened to finish exactly when I closed Dolphin but instead that actually seems to be the way to restore operation fo the taskbar.

1. Create test subfolder right below directory with the photo files.
2. Select 600 files with Dolphin and select 'cut'
3. Paste the files to the newly created 'test' folder
4. Dolphin will now cause the plasma taskbar to hang for either a very long time (?) or until you close Dolphin.

While looking at htop CPU usage on any one process does not go above 20%.  Load average is below 2.0 at all times (I have 6 cores, 12 threads).  The only strange thing I notice is that the Dolphin process has something like "287G" listed under "VIRT". 

I'd be curious to see if anyone can duplicate this?

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-06 18:53:01)

Offline

#7 2018-03-06 18:49:50

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

adomas wrote:

Well I had plasmashell to have short freezes on intense load on HDD. If you use SSD as root and HDD for home, it might be that when HDD is in high-load it slows down Plasma (plasmashell) for some reason (maybe plasmashell is accessing some cache files or something in home drive).

I solved this short freeze problem, by simply using SSD on both, root and home partitions, while HDD I mount separately just for data storage.

It also might be baloo problem, and you might want to try disable baloo by running "balooctl disable" (it will disable file and its content indexing).

And if it's some sort of bug with job tracking on Plasma, you can do this:
1) Go to Task Manager Settings and unmark "Show progress and status information in task buttons"
2) Go to Notification Settings and unmark "Track file transfers and other jobs"
Disabling these two, will make a small window appear on every file transfer, similar like old KDE versions had. This way file copying will not affect plasmashell, if there is a problem with that.

Hello I don't think it is a performance issue with the storage in my case.  It is very curious how plasmashell taskbar suddenly returns to normal operation upon closing Dolphin.  It has to be some sort of bug.

I just tried to disable the notifications as well as the baloo indexer.  No change unfortunately.

Offline

#8 2018-03-06 19:01:32

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Here is terminal output from a Dolphin session where this occurs:

$ dolphin
kf5.kio.core: Refilling KProtocolInfoFactory cache in the hope to find "stash"
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/today")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/yesterday")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/thismonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/lastmonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/documents")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/images")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/audio")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/videos")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/today")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/yesterday")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/thismonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/lastmonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/documents")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/images")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/audio")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/videos")
qt.accessibility.core: Cannot create accessible child interface for object:  PlacesView(0x5579ff1b1590)  index:  23
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff20cc80) Jumbo packet of 44026 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KSambaShare: Could not find smb.conf!
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45326 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45180 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45054 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45878 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 44612 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45910 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 44658 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46126 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46186 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 44772 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45644 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46086 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45690 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45914 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46036 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45492 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45706 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 44806 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45838 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45770 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 45964 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46144 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 46556 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 42136 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x5579ff256b80) Jumbo packet of 36724 bytes
org.kde.dolphin: slotUrlSelectionRequested:  QUrl("file:///home/david/Pictures/smplayer_screenshots/archived/test")
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
<Note last line repeats hundreds of times>

The only suspicious things seem to be the Jumbo packets and the "SelectionRequest too old"

As far as the journal goes:

Mar 06 13:58:04 t3600 plasmashell[714]:  New Notification:  "Moving: Finished" "/home/david/Pictures/smplayer_screenshots/archived/Wxxxxxxxxxx_0>
Mar 06 13:58:04 t3600 plasmashell[714]: Guessing partOf as: 0
Mar 06 13:58:04 t3600 plasmashell[714]: Currrent active notifications: QHash()
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 54248, resource id: 52428806, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code:>
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 54242, resource id: 117440517, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor cod>
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Mar 06 13:58:03 t3600 plasmashell[714]: QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
[Last line repeats hundreds of times]

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-06 19:06:12)

Offline

#9 2018-03-06 19:31:04

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Interestingly I have found a bit about this:

https://forum.manjaro.org/t/rstudio-cli … sues/20529

"QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner" is a hint.  I see past instances where this actually causes kwin or plasma to freeze.  Unfortunately removing clipboard from the notification area didn't do the trick for me.

It seems probably related to some bug with copying and pasting and timestamps?

The only workaround I have now is to close Dolphin after a copy and paste operation.  I'd be very interested if anyone else can duplicate this.

Offline

#10 2018-03-06 19:34:25

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Found another user reporting what seems to be the same bug:

https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=133178

Offline

#11 2018-03-06 20:00:19

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

Found more recent bugs filed at the KDE bug tracker:

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=351897
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=358231
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=342056

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-06 20:05:31)

Offline

#12 2018-03-06 22:59:42

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

I'm also noticing on other applications:

Mar 06 17:56:16 t3600 plasmashell[727]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 18981, resource id: 106954757, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3

Seems to always coincide with a mini-freeze or problem.  For example when playing a movie with smplayer the movie will stutter or freeze for half a second.   In Firefox this often coincides with a delay when clicking on something.  It really sucks getting good hardware and not being able to enjoy it due to bugs. sad

Unfortunately the problem is so bad I think I am going to switch DEs until it is fixed.  That's sad because I have used KDE for the last five years.  I just can't put up with this.  With a system 5 times faster than before it operates at half the speed of my old system due to the constant micro-freezes.  Hopefully it isn't an X problem where I cannot avoid this by switching DEs....

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-07 02:36:55)

Offline

#13 2018-03-07 08:15:57

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,440

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

142/3 sounds like GLX context creation, ie plasmashell trying to create a new window (notification or tooltip) or - in doubt - resizing one (and recreating the context?)
You should be able to run plasmashell/qtquick in software rasterization - i'd give that a try (afaiu plasma still uses a context per window and dealing with (not "inside") GL contexts is slow, in particular w/ the nvidia blob.

Offline

#14 2018-03-07 14:03:51

skeevy420
Member
Registered: 2017-03-13
Posts: 33

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

davidm wrote:

Wow.  I did some further testing.  ACtually it almost definitely is either a Plasma or Dolphin bug possibly both.  What I found is that actually the taskbar at the bottom in Plasma is hanging until I close Dolphin.  I can easily duplicate this again and again.  Previously I just assumed it happened to finish exactly when I closed Dolphin but instead that actually seems to be the way to restore operation fo the taskbar.

1. Create test subfolder right below directory with the photo files.
2. Select 600 files with Dolphin and select 'cut'
3. Paste the files to the newly created 'test' folder
4. Dolphin will now cause the plasma taskbar to hang for either a very long time (?) or until you close Dolphin.

While looking at htop CPU usage on any one process does not go above 20%.  Load average is below 2.0 at all times (I have 6 cores, 12 threads).  The only strange thing I notice is that the Dolphin process has something like "287G" listed under "VIRT". 

I'd be curious to see if anyone can duplicate this?

I moved 41.8 GB of files from 1 spinning rust to another last night running KDE Plasma, using Dolphin, and didn't have this issue (A complete LineageOS repo to be specific).  I have 8 cores, 16 threads, 48GB ram.

Out of curiosity, are you running kernel 4.15?  I have horrid performance with 4.15 regardless of what I do (even did a complete reinstall to make sure it wasn't a bad setting somewhere...nope, horrid on boot 1 and 2 with 4.15, great on boot 3 with 4.14 LTS).

Offline

#15 2018-03-07 17:56:19

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

skeevy420 wrote:

Out of curiosity, are you running kernel 4.15?  I have horrid performance with 4.15 regardless of what I do (even did a complete reinstall to make sure it wasn't a bad setting somewhere...nope, horrid on boot 1 and 2 with 4.15, great on boot 3 with 4.14 LTS).

Yes it was with the most recent Arch 4.15.x kernels.  I'm ashamed to say I had lts installed as an option but never thought to try it.  Using the lts kernel (plus nvidia-lts) does not solve the problem with cut and paste operations within Dolphin seemingly causing the plasmashell taskbar to freeze BUT I don't seem to be having the other perfomance problems as much as I was with the 4.15.x kernel.

Strangely the same suspect messages show up when using the lts kernel:

Mar 07 12:50:48 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27194, resource id: 50331664, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Mar 07 12:50:47 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27171, resource id: 56623110, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Mar 07 12:50:29 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27085, resource id: 50331664, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3

So I'm not even sure how to go about reporting this or to whom to report it as a bug.  Would it be considered a kernel bug if the lts version actually works better?  I guess I will keep using the lts version and see how things go.  Thank you very much for the suggestion.  This at least makes it so I can keep using KDE Plasma.

Last edited by davidm (2018-03-07 17:57:24)

Offline

#16 2018-03-07 17:59:12

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 366

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

seth wrote:

142/3 sounds like GLX context creation, ie plasmashell trying to create a new window (notification or tooltip) or - in doubt - resizing one (and recreating the context?)
You should be able to run plasmashell/qtquick in software rasterization - i'd give that a try (afaiu plasma still uses a context per window and dealing with (not "inside") GL contexts is slow, in particular w/ the nvidia blob.

Thanks I will give the software rasterization a shot.  Unfortunately I'm stuck on the nvidia blob as I have a GT 1030 and nouveau support is very shaky and new with it.  It doesn't seem that even the basic 2d acceleration is done on nouveau for this card.

Offline

#17 2018-03-07 18:50:51

skeevy420
Member
Registered: 2017-03-13
Posts: 33

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

davidm wrote:
skeevy420 wrote:

Out of curiosity, are you running kernel 4.15?  I have horrid performance with 4.15 regardless of what I do (even did a complete reinstall to make sure it wasn't a bad setting somewhere...nope, horrid on boot 1 and 2 with 4.15, great on boot 3 with 4.14 LTS).

Yes it was with the most recent Arch 4.15.x kernels.  I'm ashamed to say I had lts installed as an option but never thought to try it.  Using the lts kernel (plus nvidia-lts) does not solve the problem with cut and paste operations within Dolphin seemingly causing the plasmashell taskbar to freeze BUT I don't seem to be having the other perfomance problems as much as I was with the 4.15.x kernel.

Strangely the same suspect messages show up when using the lts kernel:

Mar 07 12:50:48 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27194, resource id: 50331664, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Mar 07 12:50:47 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27171, resource id: 56623110, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Mar 07 12:50:29 t3600 plasmashell[739]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 27085, resource id: 50331664, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3

So I'm not even sure how to go about reporting this or to whom to report it as a bug.  Would it be considered a kernel bug if the lts version actually works better?  I guess I will keep using the lts version and see how things go.  Thank you very much for the suggestion.  This at least makes it so I can keep using KDE Plasma.

Did two file transfers to see if any errors came up.  I used 535.1MB and ~23,000 files, no errors on my end. 

Have you tried changing the OpenGL settings within KWin's compositor options?  On 4.15 I was able to get slightly better performance using OpenGL 2.1 or Xrender over OpenGL 3.1.  Seems there are a few Nvidia issues lately so those settings are worth changing just to see if they'll help you.

copy/paste same drive

dolphin
kf5.kio.core: Refilling KProtocolInfoFactory cache in the hope to find "stash"
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/today")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/yesterday")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/thismonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/lastmonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/documents")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/images")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/audio")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/videos")
qt.accessibility.core: Cannot create accessible child interface for object:  PlacesView(0x557dba7bc9d0)  index:  17
kf5.kio.core: KSambaShare: Could not find smb.conf!
org.kde.dolphin: slotUrlSelectionRequested:  QUrl("file:///home/skeevy/cm")
org.kde.dolphin: slotUrlSelectionRequested:  QUrl("file:///home/skeevy/cm")
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x557dba6142f0) Jumbo packet of 34564 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x557dba6142f0) Jumbo packet of 36356 bytes

cut/paste same drive followed by two different drives

dolphin
kf5.kio.core: Refilling KProtocolInfoFactory cache in the hope to find "stash"
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/today")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/yesterday")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/thismonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("timeline:/lastmonth")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/documents")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/images")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/audio")
org.kde.dolphin: Ignore KIO url: QUrl("search:/videos")
qt.accessibility.core: Cannot create accessible child interface for object:  PlacesView(0x55e4341b7be0)  index:  17
kf5.kio.core: KSambaShare: Could not find smb.conf!
QXcbClipboard: SelectionRequest too old
org.kde.dolphin: slotUrlSelectionRequested:  QUrl("file:///home")
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x55e434b9a380) Jumbo packet of 34564 bytes
kf5.kio.core: KLocalSocket(0x55e434b9a380) Jumbo packet of 36356 bytes

There is also a chance that QT logging is slowing you down and this was a suggested method over at bugzilla to disable it.

[root@srv:~]$ cat /etc/xdg/QtProject/qtlogging.ini 
[Rules]
qt.qpa.xcb.xcberror=false

Or a suggested way to disable it over at Manjaro (in .zprofile, .bash_profile, etc)

    QT_LOGGING_RULES=’*=false’
    export QT_LOGGING_RULES

or

    QT_LOGGING_RULES=’*.debug=false’
    export QT_LOGGING_RULES

At the Manjaro forums, one user created a new user account and the new account didn't have the issue while the old account still did.  If that's the case with you, you can just delete your $HOME plasma settnigs and reconfigure your desktop...not an ideal solution...

Offline

#18 2018-03-09 15:22:27

imdn
Member
Registered: 2016-04-12
Posts: 38

Re: Plasma stops responding during large file moves.

I consistently notice high CPU usage by Dolphin (20%-30%) when file(s) in a folder opened are being updated e.g. open an NFS share in Dolphin and download a large file into it. When using an alternative file manager (Doublecommander-qt), I used to face the same problem as well.  This leads me to believe that at least for this case, the underlying Qt libraries are at fault. Unfortunately I don't have debug logs of any sort. It must be said that though Dolphin's CPU usage is high, plasmashell itself is more or less responsive.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB