You are not logged in.

#26 2019-01-18 04:27:29

Batou
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 232

Re: [Solved] No sound out of Sound Blaster Z-series/Recon3D/Core3D card...

Ever since I upgraded to 4.20, I've noticed that I can't switch to SB-Z (headphone) output. I have an HDMI and SB-Z on this PC and after a reboot, SB-Z output is silent. The only fix it is to physically unplug the headphones from the card and plug them back in. Even if you use an extension cord for headphones, it's not enough to just unplug headphones from the extension cord and plug them back in. The connection at the back of the sound card has to be broken. I did try alsamixer and tried changing "Output Sel" but that didn't do anything. The only fix is to physically connect and then reconnect the the device plugged into the headphone output. Before 4.20 I had zero issues.

Anyone else noticed this or is it just my setup?


Please vote for all the AUR packages you're using. You can mass-vote for all of them by doing: "pacman -Qqm | xargs aurvote -v" (make sure to run "aurvote --configure"  first)

Offline

#27 2019-01-18 20:16:18

Conmanx360
Member
Registered: 2018-08-01
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] No sound out of Sound Blaster Z-series/Recon3D/Core3D card...

I haven't experienced this issue personally, but, do you have 'HP/Speaker Auto-detect' un-muted in alsamixer? If it isn't muted, output select won't do anything, as it uses jack detection instead of the output select control. Sometimes just toggling that mute control can fix the issue you're describing.

For what it's worth, this is also an issue I've heard appearing in Windows, even on newer cards. It may just be a hardware quirk that sometimes requires the commands for output switching to be ran twice sometimes.

Anyways, try the HP/Speaker auto-detect thing and let me know if it does anything.

Offline

#28 2019-01-19 01:10:41

Batou
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 232

Re: [Solved] No sound out of Sound Blaster Z-series/Recon3D/Core3D card...

Conmanx360 wrote:

I haven't experienced this issue personally, but, do you have 'HP/Speaker Auto-detect' un-muted in alsamixer? If it isn't muted, output select won't do anything, as it uses jack detection instead of the output select control. Sometimes just toggling that mute control can fix the issue you're describing.

For what it's worth, this is also an issue I've heard appearing in Windows, even on newer cards. It may just be a hardware quirk that sometimes requires the commands for output switching to be ran twice sometimes.

Anyways, try the HP/Speaker auto-detect thing and let me know if it does anything.

Thanks so much Conmanx360 for reading and replying! I've tried few options in alsamixer so I'm not sure what it was set before I booted. I'm now certain that it's set to Autodetect (see pic below) and I'll report back when I reboot. I can't reboot right now because I'm downloading and it's going slowly.

I hop the rest of my options are properly set:

gsS5sHB.png


Please vote for all the AUR packages you're using. You can mass-vote for all of them by doing: "pacman -Qqm | xargs aurvote -v" (make sure to run "aurvote --configure"  first)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB