You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-24 00:53:54

jtgd
Member
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 47

[Solved] No sound after update.

A few days ago I ran my usual -Syu and updated kernel from 4.16.9 to 4.16.10. I always reboot after the kernel changes. Now I have no sound. I haven't had sound problems in the 5 eyars since I installed Arch so it's a bit surprising, though I have learned that I need to eradicate all traces of pulseaudio for things to work and I just stick with ALSA. Before this update I did have to downgrade my xorg driver, but the sound I use is built into the motherboard so I don't think that's related.

My dmesg does have this suspicious few lines:

[   15.532998] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC889: line_outs=4 (0x14/0x15/0x16/0x17/0x0) type:line
[   15.533000] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   15.533002] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   15.533003] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[   15.533004] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    dig-out=0x11/0x1e
[   15.533005] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[   15.533007] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Front Mic=0x19
[   15.533008] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[   15.533009] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Line=0x1a

The 'speaker_outs' line has a lot of zeros and that doesn't seem right.
What could the problem be?

Last edited by jtgd (2018-05-24 02:38:16)


Arch + awesome

Offline

#2 2018-05-24 01:39:31

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 17,069

Re: [Solved] No sound after update.

Can you post

aplay -lL
sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*

while attempting to play back something.

That version difference should be irrelevant, there were no ALSA changes between .9 and .10 . Is this install shared with Windows and did you boot into that beforehand? You might want to try and see if running

alsactl init

fixes this.

Last edited by V1del (2018-05-24 01:40:16)

Offline

#3 2018-05-24 02:37:44

jtgd
Member
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 47

Re: [Solved] No sound after update.

V1del wrote:

Can you post

aplay -lL
sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*

while attempting to play back something.

That version difference should be irrelevant, there were no ALSA changes between .9 and .10 . Is this install shared with Windows and did you boot into that beforehand? You might want to try and see if running

alsactl init

fixes this.

No Windows in this house. smile

518 19:26:24 ~ : aplay short.mp3
Playing raw data 'short.mp3' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
519 19:27:09 ~ : sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
                     USER        PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/controlC0:  jay        3583 F.... firefox
/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p:   jay        3583 F...m firefox
/dev/snd/timer:      jay        3583 f.... firefox
520 19:27:16 ~ : alsactl init
alsactl: sysfs_init:48: sysfs path '/sys' is invalid

Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC889" "HDA:10ec0889,104383c0,00100004" "0x1043" "0x8418"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
521 19:27:39 ~ :

I had tried aplay before with no luck. This time also, no sound.

I'd be interested in know how to interpret the output of the fuser command in this context. At the point you see the above output it was still not working.

The 'alsactl init' command fixed it. The sound came on immediately (a tab was playing in Firefox). Weird since I thought I had tried that before.

Well I have something to work with now. I'm not sure if I'll need to do that each time I reboot. I don't mind it but curious if there is a 'corret' fix for whatever went wrong.

Thank you very much!


Arch + awesome

Offline

#4 2018-05-24 02:41:42

jtgd
Member
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 47

Re: [Solved] No sound after update.

Oh I noticed the command you suggested that I didn't run:

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC889 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC889 Analog [ALC889 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC889 Digital [ALC889 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

however this is after I fixed it. I'll try it again next time it breaks.

What would we have learned from this output?


Arch + awesome

Offline

#5 2018-05-24 06:51:24

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 17,069

Re: [Solved] No sound after update.

If this happens on every reboot, then it's usually the firmware's fault because it doesn't initialize the audio device properly. A UEFI/BIOS update might help here.

There's also a alsa-restore.service you might want to enable that should automate this.

aplay -lL is simply for general info, it's not going to change and will likely not be of further use if that was the issue.

The fuser output was simply to check if you think you don't have sound anymore and the actual issue being that the device is occupied by some service (e.g. timidity and the like are often culprits, and will prevent your own user from accessing the device depending on how they were configured) the  output tells us that that isn't the case, the only client accessing the card is your own firefox instance so that is alright as well.

Which leaves the incorrect registers fixed by alsactl init as the likely culprit. That kind of error is usually associated with rebooting from Windows into linux, but it seems on your system even the reboot from linux leaves it in an inconsistent state.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB