You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-04 17:52:33

kailashkatheth
Member
From: nepal
Registered: 2017-06-14
Posts: 18
Website

disable at-spi-bus-launcher

i dont use any acessibility services , is it possible to remove or disable at-spi-bus-launcher, and at-spi2-registryd these two starts as soon as i startx are they really necessary ? they at-spi2-core and at-spi2-atk are needed by gtk3 so icant remove them as firefox still needs it

Offline

#2 2018-06-04 19:02:34

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,715

Re: disable at-spi-bus-launcher

They're dbus activated by pretty much every gtk3 process.
You could try to move away /usr/share/dbus-1/services/org.a11y.Bus.service, but idk. whether this has unforseen consequences for some or all gtk applications. You'll get errors like

Error retrieving accessibility bus address: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.a11y.Bus was not provided by any .service files

for sure.

Offline

#3 2018-06-04 20:21:26

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,607

Re: disable at-spi-bus-launcher

NO_AT_BRIDGE=1 environment variable still seems to work.

Note, that if you use gnome-shell, you need this patch or the variable will be unset at shell startup:

--- gnome-shell/src/main.c	2016-10-13 20:19:03.122571306 +0300
+++ gnome-shell/src/main.c	2016-10-13 20:20:48.181576021 +0300
@@ -433,9 +433,16 @@
   meta_set_gnome_wm_keybindings (GNOME_WM_KEYBINDINGS);
 
   /* Prevent meta_init() from causing gtk to load the atk-bridge*/
-  g_setenv ("NO_AT_BRIDGE", "1", TRUE);
-  meta_init ();
-  g_unsetenv ("NO_AT_BRIDGE");
+  if (g_getenv ("NO_AT_BRIDGE"))
+    {
+      meta_init ();
+    }
+  else
+    {
+      g_setenv ("NO_AT_BRIDGE", "1", TRUE);
+      meta_init ();
+      g_unsetenv ("NO_AT_BRIDGE");
+    }
 
   /* FIXME: Add gjs API to set this stuff and don't depend on the
    * environment.  These propagate to child processes.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB