You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-19 02:14:43

Anonymous20210212
Banned

[Solved] No internet connection during Arch installation

Hi, This is my first time posting here.

First things first:
I used to run Arch on many systems including my old laptop. Now i don't remember if i used to run it in this specific mobo (PC) but i am sure i did because i haven't upgraded in a while.

My Specs:
Mobo: GA-990FX-Gaming
CPU: FX-8550
RAM: 32GB
HDD: 298GB Western Digital WDC WD3200BEKT-60F3T1 (SATA )
OS: archlinux-2018.06.01-x86_64.iso and archlinux-2017.02.01-dual.iso
Tool for burning: Rufus (both in ISO and DD image mode)

My problem:
(Using latest ISO which is ARCH-201806)
As soon as i boot into Arch Linux, when i write "Ping google.com" it says:

'Temporary failure in name resolution'

(Using old ISO which is ARCH-201702)
As soon as i boot into Arch Linux, when i write "Ping google.com" it says:

'Name or service not known'

What i have tried:
I tried editing "/etc/resolv.conf" (which was empty) and add "nameserver 8.8.8.8" and "nameserver 8.8.4.4" to the file, but to no result. I also tried doing like "systemctl enable dhcpcd" and "systemctl start dhcpcd" and still nothing. I did the same with "enp4s0" which is apperently my LAN. So both 2018 and 2017 iso have this issue.

My assumption:
What i assume is that it has to do with my ethernet card? i mean the onboard network card in my motherboard. I am really not sure otherwise. My Ethernet is called "Killer E2200". I have googled and it seems that it was supported in kernal 3.10? but i am not sure.
If anyone knows how to fix this i would really really appreciate it. i have done everything i could by trying myself and googling but i really dont know what else to do. I am not that profesional in Arch (or linux in general).

This issue has been solved by doing the following:
I do not know how or why, i am not an expert. but after fiddling with things, this worked for me