You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-08 17:48:46

Maniaxx
Member
From: .de
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 260

[SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

When i open Thunar as root i always get a "factory default" version (symbol view, columns, windows size/placement..). All my personal settings are gone once i restart thunar as root. This doesn't happen with normal user version.
I've tried this commands:

sudo -H thunar
gksu thunar
gksudo thunar

It worked properly before for months with a simple xfce starter (sudo -H thunar). Now this error comes up on the terminal:

Thunar: Failed to initialize Xfconf: Server address of type unix was missing argument path or abstract
(thunar:12319): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 19:45:42.417: g_dbus_proxy_new_sync: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed
ThunarThumbnailer: failed to create proxy: Error spawning command line ?dbus-launch --autolaunch=a9b946078bcd4598b96e2606931089d4 --binary-syntax --close-stderr?: Child process exited with code 1

Any ideas what could be wrong here?

Last edited by Maniaxx (2018-09-09 12:13:41)


sys2064

Offline

#2 2018-09-08 18:22:10

sonoran
Member
From: sonoran desert
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 192

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

Do you mean that the thunar settings in /root are not saved?

Last edited by sonoran (2018-09-08 18:24:45)

Offline

#3 2018-09-08 22:02:06

Maniaxx
Member
From: .de
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 260

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

I'm not sure where it saves it settings. The file /root/.config/Thunar/accels.scm gets updated every time i start it though.
I've noticed that it doesn't seem to accept changes in 'Edit/Preferences' at all. Even in the same session if i re-open preferences all settings are back to default so its not only when i close the window. The drop-down menus options do work though (e.g. change to details view).


sys2064

Offline

#4 2018-09-09 10:21:35

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,063

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

Automatic X11 dbus spawning has been disabled, so your root thunar does not have a valid DBUS session available over which it stores it's settings. Use

gksu dbus-run-session thunar

to start an intermittent dbus session for your root user that gets closed again afterwards.

Offline

#5 2018-09-09 12:11:53

Maniaxx
Member
From: .de
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 260

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

That's it. Thank you for the detailed explanation.


sys2064

Offline

#6 2018-09-17 00:16:11

DemonSlayer452
Member
Registered: 2015-08-14
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

V1del wrote:

Automatic X11 dbus spawning has been disabled, so your root thunar does not have a valid DBUS session available over which it stores it's settings. Use

gksu dbus-run-session thunar

to start an intermittent dbus session for your root user that gets closed again afterwards.

So is there any way to automate this everytime the system boots but wihout actually launching thunar at startup?
I've been wrapping my head for hours searching for that particular solution and can't find anything that suits my needs..

Last edited by DemonSlayer452 (2018-09-17 00:25:18)

Offline

#7 2018-09-17 06:56:38

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,063

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar (as root) doesn't save settings (DBUS)

You really shouldn't, if you really must, alias whatever elevation command to include the dbus-run-session. What is your end goal, is it that much of a burden to add that? Or do you have a XY problem and you actually have a different session issue that really should be solved differently?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB