You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-30 07:21:12

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Hi, this is my first time installing Arch but I am a bit familiar with linux so I hope things will be clear.

I have just installed a absolutely fresh copy of Arch onto my Thinkpad T520. I imagined it would be pretty simple to set up wireless config since wifi-menu worked perfectly during the USB install. However, this was not the case.

I've tried a lot of things already, but I'm going to go through things step by step so you all can tell me where I am going wrong.

I am following the instructions here.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … figuration

PS: Please bear with me as I have to type all the configs out manually on a different PC.

Step1: Check Driver
So i assume this is what I'm looking for:

lspci -v

03:00.0 Network Controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] (rev 34)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 (802.11a/b/g/n)
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 27
Memory at f3800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Capabilities: [c8] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [d0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [e0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [140] Device Serial Number 10-0b-a9-ff-ff-6a-cb-a0
Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
Kernel modules: iwlwifi

Then to bring the interface up with ip link

ip link
1: lo:[Loopback, not typing it]
2: enp0s25 <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
             link/ether f0:de:f1:c0:ab:c6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlp3s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisk mq state DOWN mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
             link/ether 5e:70:f8:66:c6:bc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
ip link set wlp3s0 up
ip link
Config is exactly the same except for last line:
             link/ether 32:c2:c9:99:2b:7f brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Since i didn't receive any error message I skip

SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory

instructions, so I go to the next step.

dmesg | grep iwlwifi
[       7.339706] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
[       7.508260] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: loaded firmware version 18.168.6.1 op_mode iwldvm
[       7.800986] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEBUG enabled
[       7.800989] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEBUGFS enabled
[       7.800990] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEVICE_TRACING enabled
[       7.800993] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6205 AGN, REV=0xB0
[       8.127848] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0 wlp3s0: renamed from wlan0
[     11.453858] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[     11.752658] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[     11.169642] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[     12.073818] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   358.368469] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   358.083727] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   674.373362] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   674.096365] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   990.397763] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[   990.082689] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1306.384273] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1306.049500] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1622.350697] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1622.082601] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1938.383998] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 1938.082234] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2254.383505] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2254.048741] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2570.341638] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2570.075876] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2886.368096] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 2886.083771] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0
[ 3202.377883] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Radio type=0x1-0x2-0x0

Now I think there is some kind of error occurring due to the repeated Radio commands and the fact that Debug is enabled. Though it has loaded the firmware.
Not really sure where to go from here, do I need to fix the firmware? or is the issue somewhere else? Also just want to get this posted so I don't need to worry about typing all that out again.

Offline

#2 2018-10-30 12:01:28

AlienofOne
Member
Registered: 2018-10-22
Posts: 11

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

What is the status of your network service?
What network manager are you using?
Please post the output of "systemctl status //insert your network manager//.service"

Offline

#3 2018-10-30 12:11:05

Skunky
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 215

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Maybe you need to enable dhcpcd?

systemctl enable dhcpcd

Offline

#4 2018-10-30 13:42:35

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,915
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Running dhcpcd is the last step.  So far the OP hasn't taken even the first steps to establish a connection.  The wiki notes that `iw` can be used for open networks, or `wpa_supplicant` for WPA networks - however I suggest just using wpa_supplicant as it can connect to *any* network open or secure.

Then, once connected, use dhcpcd to get an IP address.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2018-10-30 14:31:01

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

The only Network Manager I have installed I believe is NetworkManager. Not sure if I need either 'iw' or 'wpa_supplicant' as Trilby suggests also. In any case I won't be able to download it until I get more Data on my mobile, until then, here is the output of

 systemctl status NetworkManager.service 
  NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
    Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; enabled; vendor preset; disbled)
    Drop-In: /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.d
                      |-NetworkManager-ovs.conf
    Active: active (running) since Tue 2018-10-30 21:04:14 +07; 6min ago
    Docs: man:NetworkManager(8)
    Main PID: 366 (NetworkManager)
    Tasks: 3 (limit:4579)
    Memory: 20.9M
    CGroup: /system.slice/NetworkManager.service
                   |-366 /usr/bin/NetworkManager --no-daemon

Oct 30 21:04:16 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908256.4883] ovsdb: Could not connect: No such file or directory
Oct 30 21:04:16 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908256.8492] supplicant: wpa_supplicant running
Oct 30 21:04:16 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908256.8493] device (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: init -> starting
Oct 30 21:04:17 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908257.0677] sup-iface[0x557848e6d0d0,wlp3s0]: supports 5 scan SSIDs
Oct 30 21:04:17 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908257.0697] device (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: starting -> ready
Oct 30 21:04:17 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908257.0699] device (wlp3s0): state change: unavailable -> disconnected (reason 'supplicant-available', sys-iface-state: 'manged')
Oct 30 21:04:23 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908263.5439] manager: startup complete
Oct 30 21:10:01 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908601.3898] device (wlp3s0): set-hw-addr: set MAC address to 76:98:9B:54:B8:64 (scanning)
Oct 30 21:10:01 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908601.7952] device (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: ready -> disabled
Oct 30 21:10:01 liquid NetworkManager[366]: <info> [1540908601.8456] device (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: disable -> inactive

Offline

#6 2018-10-30 14:44:54

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,001

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

First, a sanity check.  What are the output of find /etc/systemd/system/

Then, run  sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan
That command will run a site survey.  Look at the output and see if you can see your access point in the (possibly) long output.  If it is there, your WiFi hardware works.  If it is not, there are bigger fish to fry.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2018-10-30 21:14:34

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,915
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

If you have networkmanager installed, you also have wpa_supplicant as it is a dependency.  NetworkManager is basically just a wrapper for the basic tools like wpa_supplicant.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#8 2018-10-30 23:25:20

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Ahh yes, I notice supplicant in my last post. Good thing I installed Network Manager when I had the chance.
Here is the output from find /etc/systemd/system/:

/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants
/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/NetworkManager.service
/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/remote-fs.target
/etc/systemd/system/network-online.target.wants
/etc/systemd/system/network-online.target.wants/NetworkManager-wait-online.service
/etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service
/etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.freedesktop.nm-dispatcher.service
/etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants
/etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants/getty@tty1.service
/etc/systemd/system/

I'm assuming this has something to do with making sure NetworkManager service is working? I like to know why I'm doing the steps too so I can learn how everything works.

Ok, so there is an issue with the next command, when I run sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan I get:

sudo: iw: command not found

I made sure to download 'iw', but only after trying to get it working without it. I had to reboot into the USB and use wifi-menu. I will try and download it again, but It may take a while if I need more data like I explained before. I can get temporary access to my tethered phone using wifi-menu, but only using the USB. I can also connect to my apartment wifi, but I think I am having DNS issues so I can't actually get data this way - In any case, I can connect to the network but no internet.

Is 'iw' also one of Network Manager's dependencies?

Offline

#9 2018-10-30 23:29:05

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,749
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

┌─[Veles ~]
└─╼ pacman -Fo /usr/bin/iw
usr/bin/iw is owned by core/iw 4.14-1

How is iw not installed on your system? How did you install Arch?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#10 2018-10-30 23:52:02

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,643

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

jasonwryan wrote:

How is iw not installed on your system?

iw is not part of the base group.
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/core/x86_64/iw/
Edit: And not much depends on it. If you don't remember to install it or e.g. crda, you don't have iw.

Evuflow, since you have networkmanager installed, you can use "nmcli" or "nmtui" to create connections and scan for networks. Don't know how exactly they work, though.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … i_examples

Last edited by progandy (2018-10-31 00:09:14)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#11 2018-10-30 23:59:56

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Not sure how to answer you jasonwryan, I installed it like everyone else. It's pretty much a fresh install. I haven't even made any users yet.

During pacstrap /mnt base I made sure to include [base-devel] and [vim] as well.

This is what I found:

pacman -Qi iw
warning: database file for 'core' does not exist (use '-Sy' to download)
warning: database file for 'extra' does not exist (use '-Sy' to download)
warning: database file for 'community' does not exist (use '-Sy' to download)
Name                   : iw
Version                : 4.14-4
Description          : n180211 based CLI configuration utility for wireless devices
Architecture         : x86_64
URL                    : http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/iw
Licenses             : GPL
Groups                : None
Provides              : None
Depends On        : libnl
Optional Deps     : None
Required By        : crda
Optional For        : None
Conflicts With      : None
Replaces             : None
Installed Size       : 197.00KiB
Packager             : Christian Hesse <arch@eworm.de>
Build Date           : Thu 04 Jan 2018 06:26:54 PM UTC
Install Date          : Mon 01 Oct 2018 06:02:56 PM UTC
Install Reason      : Installed as a dependency for another package
Install Script         : No
Validated By        : Signature

So I'm assuming it is installed? Not sure what why else iw doesn't work.

Ok, I've made a mistake. I was installing iw onto the live USB and not properly chrooting into the system before installing. I believe I've fixed it now though and iw is installed.

Last edited by Evuflow (2018-10-31 00:19:13)

Offline

#12 2018-10-31 00:26:16

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Now when I do sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan I get all the access points in the area.

Going to try and play around with nmcli and nmtui now.

Offline

#13 2018-10-31 01:21:06

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,915
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Late to the party, but again, if you have wpa_supplicant you can scan with that (via wpa_cli).  I don't have `iw` installed on any of my machines.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#14 2018-10-31 01:24:51

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,749
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

progandy wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:

How is iw not installed on your system?

iw is not part of the base group.
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/core/x86_64/iw/
Edit: And not much depends on it. If you don't remember to install it or e.g. crda, you don't have iw.


Yes, ignore me. I'm still in the wrong timezone...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#15 2018-10-31 02:12:20

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Ok, I've tried both nmcli and WPA supplicant with varying levels of success. I can scan the AP fine. Sometimes I can connect, but no data, and I can't see the laptop using an external LAN scanner, so it doesn't look like it's actually connected at all. Can't ping the gateway for example. I managed to get it connected in this way only once using nmcli but I couldn't connect to it again after I disabled it and tried to reconnect. In retrospect, perhaps I needed to dhcpcd at that point to get assigned an IP.

Typing out all the configs is a chore which is why I haven't been more thorough. I think I will move onto WPA-Supplicant because I believe I read somewhere in the wiki nmcli does not support WPA2.

Now following instructions from here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WP … nced_usage

Starting fresh again, lets create /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

ctrl_interface=/run/wpa_supplicant
update_config=1

so far so good.

wpa_supplicant -B -i interface -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant

Initialized. Now to run wpa_cli.
(Bit messy due to scan constantly repeating, but I'll do my best to get as much info as possible.)

Selected interface 'wlp3s0'
 
Interactive mode

> scan
# Repeated Result Begin #
<3>WPS-AP-AVAILABLE
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>No network configuration found for the current AP
<3>CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 reason=3 locally_generated=1
<3>CTRL-EVENT-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
# Repeated Result End #
> add_network
0
> set_network 0 ssid "Viroj_3"
OK
> set_network 0 psk "88888888"
OK
> enable network 0
<3>SME: Trying to authenticate with 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 (SSID="Viroj_3" freq=2462 MHz)
<3> Trying to authenticate with 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 (SSID="Viroj_3" freq=2462 MHz)
<3> Associated with 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
<3>CTRL-EVENT-DISCONECTED bssid=2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 reason=3 locally_generated=1
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DSIABLED id=0 ssid="Viroj_3" auth_failures=6 duration=143 reason=COMN_FAILED

No idea what to do as the wiki does not provide any instructions if this part fails like this.

Offline

#16 2018-10-31 02:43:43

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,915
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Please post the scan results.  Once wpa_supplicant (and no other networking process) is running you can just run `wpa_cli scan` then wait a moment then `wpa_cli scan_results` and post the results - or at least the line with your chosen network - here.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#17 2018-10-31 02:57:56

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

No problem, here are the scan results for wlp3s0

wpa_cli scan_results
Selected interface 'wlp3s0'
bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid
2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28     2462    -54     [WPA2-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS]      Viroj_3
2c:fd:a1:cd:09:ac     2412    -67     [WPA2-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS]      Viroj_2
2c:fd:a1:cd:06:88     2462    -64     [WPA2-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS]      Viroj_4

Offline

#18 2018-10-31 03:09:20

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,915
Website

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Thanks.  I wanted to see the 'flags' column as some networks need settings other than just the psk, but those should be fine.  I'm stumped for the moment.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#19 2018-10-31 03:51:17

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Trying nmcli again:

nmcli device wifi list
IN-USE    SSID                 MODE     CHAN      RATE         SIGNAL    BARS    SECURITY
                 Viroj_3             Infra         11             130Mbit/s   77             ***         WPA2

nmcli device wifi connect Viroj_3 password 88888888
Error: Connection activation failed: (7) Secrets were required, but not provided.

Yeah, I'm stumped too.

Offline

#20 2018-10-31 04:29:15

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Trying wpa-supplicant again:

wpa_supplicant -B -i wpl3s0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Current CMD queue read_ptr 46 write_ptr 47
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Loaded firmware version: 18.168.6.1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | OK
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | uPc
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | branchlink1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | branchlink2
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | interruptlink1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | interruptlink2
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | data1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | data2
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | line
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | beacon time
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | tsf low
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | tsf hi
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | time gp1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | time gp2
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | time gp3
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | uCode version
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | hw version
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | board version
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | hcmd
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr0
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr1
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr2
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr3
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr4
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | isr_pref
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | wait_event
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | l2p_control
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | l2p_duration
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | l2p_mhvalid
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | l2p_addr_match
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | lmpm_pmg_sel
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | timestamp
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: 0x00000000 | flow_handler
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Start IWL Event Log Dump: nothing in log
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Adding station 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 failed.
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: Unable to add station 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 (-110)
[   Numbers:Numbers] iwlwifi 0000:03:00.0: iwl_trans_wait_tx_queues_empty bad state = 0
_

And it stops there, I can type at the underscore but my root@hostname prompt doesn't come up.

Offline

#21 2018-10-31 05:01:48

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,001

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Evuflow wrote:

I'm assuming this has something to do with making sure NetworkManager service is working? I like to know why I'm doing the steps too so I can learn how everything works.

Half right.  The other half is my ensuring there are no other services that are enabled that might be competing with the Networkmanger service.  Whese include the wpa_supplicant service or the dhcpcd service.  Note that those services start the associated daemons.  Network manager will also start those daemons WHEN in needs them.  That output looks fine.  i see above that your site survey worked, so you are in good shape.  At least you know the hardware works.

Last edited by ewaller (2018-10-31 05:02:35)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#22 2018-10-31 05:07:31

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

ewaller wrote:

is my ensuring there are no other services that are enabled that might be competing with the Networkmanger service.  Whese include the wpa_supplicant service or the dhcpcd service.  Note that those services start the associated daemons.

Does this mean that NetworkManager service, wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd services can only be run independently of each other? and if so, may this be why my following attempts at connecting using wpa_supplicant have thus far been unsuccessful?

Offline

#23 2018-10-31 05:27:05

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

So after rebooting and trying wpa_supplicant again, I think I managed to connect. Still no internet but getting warmer.

Here is a some code of what I'm seeing:

wpa_cli scan_results
Selected interface 'wlp3s0'
bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid
2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28     2462       -56      [WPA-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS]          Viroj_3

iw dev wlp3s0 link
Connected to 2c:fd:a1:cd:24:28 (on wlp3s0)
          SSID: Viroj_3
          freq: 2462
          RX: 12911073 bytes (75041 packets)
          TX: 34501 bytes (349 packets)
          signal: -57 dBm
          tx bitrate: 1.0 MBit/s

          bss flags:      short-preamble short-slot-time
          dtim period:      1
          beacon int:           100

So it looks like it's connected. I try to ping the gateway:

ping 192.168.1.1
connect: Network is unreachable

Now do I attempt to get an IP using dhcpcd?

Offline

#24 2018-10-31 05:46:45

Evuflow
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

So this is my dhcpcd results:

dhcpcd wlp3s0
dhcp6_listen: Address is already in use
DUID 00:04:f7:f3:79:81:52:6e:11:cb:88:e7:fb:99:80:81:cb:c6
wlp3s0: IAD a9:6a:cb:a0
wlp3s0: soliciting a DHCP lease
wlp3s0: soliciting and IPv6 router
wlp3s0: no IPv6 Routers available
timed out
dhcpcd exited

two things I've noticed. 1. Address already in use could be an issue, so reading from the man, I will use -x to reset dhcp on the interface first before trying again.
2. I don't think the router is an IPv6 router and I'm not sure why dhcpcd is defaulting to searching for it, so I'll force it to use ipv4 with -4

dhcpcd -x
dhcpcd not running
dhcpcd -4 wlp3s0
DUID 00:04:f7:f3:79:81:52:6e:11:cb:88:e7:fb:99:80:81:cb:c6
wlp3s0: IAID a9:6a:cb:a0
wlp3s0: soliciting a DHCP lease
timed out
dhcpcd exited

And stuck again - all it means the satisfaction of getting it working will be that much greater/

Last edited by Evuflow (2018-10-31 05:48:24)

Offline

#25 2018-10-31 14:13:48

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,001

Re: New Arch Install wireless issue - No Ethernet

Does this mean that NetworkManager service, wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd services can only be run independently of each other?

The SERVICES, yes.  The DEAMONS, no.

The wpa_supplicant SERVICE starts the wpa_supplicant DAEMON.  Some of us with simple networks who prefer to manage networks by hand use this. 
The dhcpcd SERVICE starts the dhcpcd DAEMON.  Some of us who only use wired networks, or who use simple wireless connections managed by the wpa_supplicant SERVICE use this.

Networkmanager is a service that starts the wpa_supplicant DAEMON is, and when it needs it.  It also may start the dhcpcd DAEMON if and when it needs it.

iw link wrote:

tx bitrate: 1.0 MBit/s

O_o

Maybe we should be looking into that a bit more too.  Note mine:

Display all 162 possibilities? (y or n)
ewaller@turing/home/ewaller[237] % iw dev wlo1 link
Connected to d0:17:c2:60:24:5c (on wlo1)
        SSID: Woodlyn-hi
        freq: 5220
        RX: 2371613252 bytes (8006796 packets)
        TX: 1764448023 bytes (4413663 packets)
        signal: -63 dBm
        tx bitrate: 195.0 MBit/s VHT-MCS 4 80MHz short GI VHT-NSS 1

        bss flags:      short-slot-time
        dtim period:    3
        beacon int:     100
ewaller@turing/home/ewaller % 

As to your post #23, yes, you are connected and the next step is to acquire an IP address.

Another sanity check, what are the output of ip addr    ?
Do you own the router?    Have you access to its logs?

I am surprised that dhcpcd seems to have not worked hmm
Are you sure the router is providing a DHCP server?  Are you sure it is on subnet 192.168.1.x/24?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB