You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-04 13:13:34

huzo11

Installing a specific version of python (3.6)

Hello all,

A newbie here. So, I wanted to install the Tensorflow package. However, Tensorflow is not compatible with python's latest version yet (3.7). Therefore, I need to downgrade my python version. What I intended to do was to remove python and install python 3.6's from AUR. But the problem is that, since it is an obsolete version, the AUR package name is python36 instead of python. And this would cause problems in pip installing python packages. So, is it possible to install python 3.6 and with the package name "python"? (python --version should output 3.6). 

Thanks.

Be nice and live for others.
https://prismatically.blog

#2 2018-11-04 13:22:11

Raynman

Re: Installing a specific version of python (3.6)

Why not use the (python-)tensorflow package from [community]? That seems to be patched to work with Python 3.7.

#3 2018-11-04 13:30:36

huzo11

Raynman wrote:

Why not use the (python-)tensorflow package from [community]? That seems to be patched to work with Python 3.7.

The thing is, when I do that, after importing tensorflow I get an error:
"Error importing tensorflow.  Unless you are using bazel,you should not try to import tensorflow from its source directory;please exit the tensorflow source tree, and relaunch your python interpreterfrom there."
After doing my research, I realized that the only solution is to downgrade python.
One thing I do not understand is, why is it so hard to downgrade it? It is as if we are forced to use the latest version only.

Thanks

#4 2018-11-04 13:39:06

Lone_Wolf

One thing I do not understand is, why is it so hard to downgrade it? It is as if we are forced to use the latest version only.

That's common practice for archlinux.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fr … itories.3F

Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.