You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-17 21:07:00

detto
Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 510

stupid opera icons

well, now this is getting really weird... and annoying i have to say becasue it looks SOO ugly! :?

what im talkin bout here is the opera icon in the tray where also my gaim-icon sits for example,.. the one from opera looks soo weird ugly and i want to change it.
i already got som icons called "another opera icon", looked at whole contetn from opera package and found only images in "/usr/share/opera/images". so i moved all of these into a created "old"-folder and copied my new icons in there, also linked to them with the exact same names like opera_22x22.png and so on. also this opera.xpm thingy which i guess is the most promising one i want to change.

anyway, all this icon copying and linking hasnt changed anything and i have no damn clue where i could configure/set my opera tray icon, i cant imagine noone else uses opera here, or those who use it are happy with those ugly icons, so plz anyone gimme a hint :oops:

Offline

#2 2006-08-17 23:01:12

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,436
Website

Re: stupid opera icons

Probably complied into the binary.

Offline

#3 2006-08-18 03:36:21

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: stupid opera icons

AFAIK changing /usr/share/opera/images/opera.xpm is the ticket.
Or you can just start Opera with the icon disabled.

$ opera -notrayicon


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#4 2006-08-18 12:15:54

detto
Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 510

Re: stupid opera icons

opera.xpm change gives no effect at all sad
so im with no tray icon atm.

i hope theyll change this one or the devs from arch could keep an eye on it, maybe they manage it big_smile

cheers,
detto

Offline

#5 2006-08-18 22:09:24

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: stupid opera icons

JUst a bit of an OT, But does anyone else have trouble with the transfers window appearing blank?

When i go to the transfers window theres nothing there but when i select a blanks space where my download should be it shows the download progress in the bottem bar.


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#6 2006-08-19 03:16:23

somairotevoli
Member
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 335

Re: stupid opera icons

I have had the same problem w/ the transfer windows blank before.  When I use Opera's installer instead of the pkgbuild, I do not have this problem.

Offline

#7 2006-08-19 06:57:41

Simastrick
Member
Registered: 2006-08-17
Posts: 49

Re: stupid opera icons

I suggest that you just use opera's installer if you will be using opera all the time anyway. that way you can always have the latest from opera as soon as it comes out.

Offline

#8 2006-08-19 11:01:47

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: stupid opera icons

Thanks, I'll try it in the morning.


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#9 2006-08-20 14:51:07

straydog
Member
From: middle of Ohio, USA
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 64

Re: stupid opera icons

I'm wanting to switch to Opera full time. I see on Opera's download page, Arch isn't listed. How do I use Opera's downloader?

Thanks,
Bill

Offline

#10 2006-08-20 15:12:16

kps
Member
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 30

Re: stupid opera icons

Add the following to opera6.ini:

[User Prefs]
Icon=/path/to/icon.ico
Application Icon=/path/to/icon.ico

I'm not sure if this works but it shouldn't hurt to try.

Offline

#11 2006-08-20 15:50:16

Simastrick
Member
Registered: 2006-08-17
Posts: 49

Re: stupid opera icons

ftp://ftp.opera.com/pub/opera/linux/

this is the place to get opera from. get the "6-shared-qt" one.

Offline

#12 2006-08-20 15:50:39

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: stupid opera icons

straydog wrote:

How do I use Opera's downloader?

Don't bother. Bookmark THIS page for your downloads.
Just grab the desired tar.gz file and use the provided installer.

The latest is here: Opera-9.01.SharedQT


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#13 2006-08-20 16:36:26

straydog
Member
From: middle of Ohio, USA
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 64

Re: stupid opera icons

Thanks, McQueen. I'm going in the right direction, but I know I'm going to feel stupid any minute now. I created a directory called opera in my home directory and put the tarball there. I un'tared it there (tar -xvvzf). I ran the install.sh script from the console and got:

[root@arch1 opera]# opera-9.01-20060728.6-shared-qt.i386-en-400/install.sh

Files will be installed as follows:
-----------------------------------------------------------
 Wrapper Script : /usr/bin
 Binaries       : /usr/lib/opera/9.01-20060728.6
 Plugins        : /usr/lib/opera/plugins
 Shared files   : /usr/share/opera
 Documentation  : /usr/share/doc/opera
 Manual page    : /usr/share/man
-----------------------------------------------------------
Is this correct [ y,n,c | yes,no,cancel ] ?
y
cp: cannot stat `bin/opera': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/usr/lib/opera/9.01-20060728.6/opera': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `man/opera.1': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `LICENSE': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `config/*': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `images/*': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `styles/*': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `styles/user/*': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `html40_entities.dtd': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `chartables*.bin': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `opera6.adr': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `java/opera.jar': No such file or directory
This package does not support Netscape Realplayer Plug-in.
This package does not contain support for Netscape Plug-ins.

System wide configuration files:
  /etc/opera6rc
  /etc/opera6rc.fixed
 would be ignored if installed with the prefix "/usr".
Do you want to install them in /etc [ y,n | yes,no ] ?
y
cp: cannot stat `config/opera6rc': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `config/opera6rc.fixed': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/opera/images/opera_32x32.png': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/opera/images/opera_22x22.png': No such file or directory
[root@arch1 opera]#                                                        

I tried it again not running as root and got:

[bill@arch1 opera-9.01-20060728.6-shared-qt.i386-en-400]$ ./install.sh

Files will be installed as follows:
-----------------------------------------------------------
 Wrapper Script : /home/bill/bin
 Binaries       : /home/bill/lib/opera/9.01-20060728.6
 Plugins        : /home/bill/lib/opera/plugins
 Shared files   : /home/bill/share/opera
 Documentation  : /home/bill/share/doc/opera
 Manual page    : /home/bill/share/man
-----------------------------------------------------------
Is this correct [ y,n,c | yes,no,cancel ] ?
y

User "bill" does not have write access to /etc
 System wide configuration files:
  /etc/opera6rc
  /etc/opera6rc.fixed
 were not installed.
Directory "/usr/share/icons/hicolor" not writable by user "bill", icons not installed.
No directories in update-desktop-database search path could be processed and updated.
[bill@arch1 opera-9.01-20060728.6-shared-qt.i386-en-400]$                  

I know it's probably something I've missed.

Thanks again,

Bill

Offline

#14 2006-08-20 22:39:48

sh__
Member
Registered: 2005-07-19
Posts: 271

Re: stupid opera icons

In the latter case the installation was successful. Some files were omitted but they are probably not needed to run opera from your home dir. You can test if it's working by running /home/bill/bin/opera.

Offline

#15 2006-08-20 23:19:02

straydog
Member
From: middle of Ohio, USA
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 64

Re: stupid opera icons

indeed it did work. Thanks, sh_. After the first (root) install attempt, it tried to run, so there was probably a partial install. There shouldn't be any harm in removing opera components from root or system areas, should there?

Thanks, again.

Bill

EDIT update - moved tarball to /usr and un'tared it there and ran the install as root from there. installed clean.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB