You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-20 17:51:23

zerophase
Member
Registered: 2015-09-03
Posts: 194

Launching nemo as root breaks overtime.

If I want to open a folder as root, from within nemo, nemo does not open a new window with root access. This seems to be something that breaks overtime, since doing a total system reinstall and copying config files back over seems to fix the issue. Has anyone else had this issue, and how did you fix it?

Offline

#2 2018-11-20 18:02:52

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,455

Re: Launching nemo as root breaks overtime.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=240394

Though the "over time" effect reads weird. can you define that? does it involve updates?

Offline

#3 2018-11-20 18:15:42

zerophase
Member
Registered: 2015-09-03
Posts: 194

Re: Launching nemo as root breaks overtime.

I mean it has happened to me in the past, and just wiping the system and reinstalling everything fixed the issue before.

I cannot say whether it was updates or not, as I rarely run nemo as root, and might not catch the issue for a couple months from when it starts.

This time it looks like this is mostly a gtk issue. I can start an arch vm, and see if nemo works out of the box.

UPDATE: Ok, even with a fresh install the issue still persists. I did notice an issue where the start menu search bar accepts text input by default. While, upgrading to 4.0.1 requires the search bar to be clicked on first. That might have been fixed with 4.0.2; but, I cannot run 4.0.2, until some applets are updated to 4.0.2 by the Linux Mint team.

Last edited by zerophase (2018-11-20 20:05:46)

Offline

#4 2020-09-14 07:40:28

kowheng
Member
Registered: 2019-11-01
Posts: 1

Re: Launching nemo as root breaks overtime.

Install gksu from AUR
Add file $HOME/.local/share/nemo/actions/open_as_root.nemo_action as following

[Nemo Action]

Name=_Open as root (Admin)
Comment=Open %F as root.
Exec=gksu nemo %F
Icon-Name=folder-symbolic
Selection=s
Extensions=dir
Dependencies=gksu;nemo;
EscapeSpaces=true
Terminal=false

Open nemo, right click to folder you want to open as root and click at Open as root (Admin), type your password if required by program.
It works for me. Sheer!!!!!!

Last edited by kowheng (2020-09-14 07:49:38)

Offline

#5 2020-09-14 07:53:41

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,455

Re: Launching nemo as root breaks overtime.

Thanks for sharing, however there was a known issue with this at the time this was posted, the question wasn't how to set it up but there was something that has been actively broken.

Please pay attention to the dates and don't necrobump: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping%22

Closing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB