You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-25 19:18:04

kenanoney

Arch Linux with absolutely NOTHING in it ?

First, let's address what's actually important here..

Is it pronounced ARK, or ARTSH ???

Now...
As an arch linux noob, I thought it at first I would have something similar to "tiny core" but much better, I never really expected to be installing so much with "pacstrap" in the installation process, I was deeply disappointed, but then again, how the **** am I going to run anything if I don't even have things like "ncurses" and the binutils, but...

What would happen if i DIDN'T pacstrap, what programs would I have? I mean, nothing right? can I arbitrarily install individual packages with pacman -S in the root directory like bash to get me started, and wpa_supplicant because I'm that much a noob I don't want to bother with ethernet, plus the cable's too short..

so basically, the noob question is as follows:
If i were to install every package individually using pacman, what are the.... *clears throat*.. ~BARE NECESSITIES, the simple bare necessities, forget about your worr- ok~ that I need to get things rolling.

I'm doing this to understand what every package does, I mean packages were made by different people, so i'm still downloading things like I would if I had any system, I just want to know what every package is without installing it mindlessly just to get the system running

I know ncurses is extremely important, what else?

#2 2018-11-25 19:34:44

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
Website

Re: Arch Linux with absolutely NOTHING in it ?

I recommend you read some wiki pages on the setup.  Most of the programs in the 'base' group could be considered bare necessities.  The minimal set depends on your use cases.

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

#3 2018-11-25 19:35:58

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website