You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-04 23:13:28

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

[SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

Hey guys,

I recently got a new laptop and I'm having some issues in ArchLinux on this one for some reason. I've spent quite a bit of time trying to figure this one out but I haven't found anything online or in the forums that's resolved this for me. I'm hoping I've just missed something in config but I cannot get this to work right for some reason.

If I install xf86-video-intel, remove Bumblebee and Intel everything works fine. I run into problems when either trying to just run on Intel (xf86-video-intel) with no Nvidia or on Bumblebee.

I am using i3-gaps and starting X from TTY1 using startx.

This issue I see is the following:
- In Chrome I see weird visual issues in the menu ( screenshot)
- My computer hangs completely when I open Steam. I can't change tty, absolutely no response. I have to hard shutdown. This happens whether I just open it or if I run it with primusrun. It works just fine if I remove Bumblebee and Intel.

Some logs I thought might be relevant:
- uname
- 20-intel.conf - You can see here some of the different options I've tried to set on Intel to fix this
- systemctl status
- systemctl status bumblebeed.service
- dmesg
- Xorg.0.log
- Xorg.1.log
- Xorg.2.log
- Xorg.8.log

Any thoughts on what could be causing this issue? Anything I could try to get around it?

EDIT: The Chrome issue is an artifact of how I had my 20-intel.conf options set at time of writing. I just need to know why the Steam with the laptop completely crashing issue is happening now, which happens regardless of my Intel options that I've tried so far.

EDIT2: CPU: Intel Coffee Lake i7-8750H GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060

EDIT3:

lspci

also locks up the device which leads me to think I'm experiencing https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NV … pci_hangs). I've tried all of the recommended solutions there, however, and none of them seem to work for me.
EDIT4: The solution was to remove bbswitch (others also had to remove nvidia-xrun but I didn't have that) and add

acpi_osi="!Windows 2015"

as a kernel parameter. All of my guaranteed ways of breaking it before are now working as expected! Thanks guys!

Last edited by jswenson (2018-12-05 23:22:13)

Offline

#2 2018-12-04 23:28:30

InvisibleRasta
Member
Registered: 2017-04-12
Posts: 38

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

i have the same problem on my laptop. i ended up ditching completely nvidia drivers. only solution i found
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=241965

Offline

#3 2018-12-04 23:31:06

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

InvisibleRasta wrote:

i have the same problem on my laptop. i ended up ditching completely nvidia drivers. only solution i found
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=241965

So, interestingly Nvidia works great for me. I have the issue if I'm using Intel, I've also tried Nouveau to no avail.

Offline

#4 2018-12-04 23:33:56

InvisibleRasta
Member
Registered: 2017-04-12
Posts: 38

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

did you try in the kernel parameter "nouveau.modeset=0" ?

Offline

#5 2018-12-04 23:35:54

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

InvisibleRasta wrote:

did you try in the kernel parameter "nouveau.modeset=0" ?

I'm not using Nouveau. Would it still make a difference?

Offline

#6 2018-12-04 23:42:23

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

InvisibleRasta wrote:

did you try in the kernel parameter "nouveau.modeset=0" ?

I just tried this and it didn't work.

Offline

#7 2018-12-05 13:57:43

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,912

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

You xorg.0.log references "/etc/X11/xorg.conf" and loads the nvidia device, this does not fit a bumblebee setup. Please provide the logs for the disfunctional bumblebee setup, or fix the setup ;-)
Try optirun instead of primusrun, the latter seems dead - see also https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p1787640

Online

#8 2018-12-05 14:56:41

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

seth wrote:

You xorg.0.log references "/etc/X11/xorg.conf" and loads the nvidia device, this does not fit a bumblebee setup. Please provide the logs for the disfunctional bumblebee setup, or fix the setup ;-)
Try optirun instead of primusrun, the latter seems dead - see also https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p1787640

From my readings and comparing with other example configs I don't see any issues with my config. https://pastebin.com/H6AnYDgf

In talking to others I think that I'm running into this issue. I've left a comment there as the reported workarounds there don't seem to work for me.

Offline

#9 2018-12-05 15:09:59

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,912

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

The nvidia chip should not be invoked by the main display server, what does the /etc/X11/xorg.conf look like?
Notice that the BB bug is 2½ years old and at that time the last primus update was only ~½ year ago. There're now reports of malfunction.

Edit: your readings included https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bumblebee ?

Last edited by seth (2018-12-05 15:11:13)

Online

#10 2018-12-05 15:15:21

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

seth wrote:

The nvidia chip should not be invoked by the main display server, what does the /etc/X11/xorg.conf look like?
Notice that the BB bug is 2½ years old and at that time the last primus update was only ~½ year ago. There're now reports of malfunction.

Edit: your readings included https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bumblebee ?

Yes, I've read through that page, I could be missing something.

I do not have an xorg.conf at /etc/X11/xorg.conf or /etc/xorg.conf

Offline

#11 2018-12-05 15:20:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,912

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

The log you posted as https://pastebin.com/hn6jW84m disagrees.
If that's from some bumblebee-free setup, please replace it w/ the relevant logs.
And again: try w/o primus.

Online

#12 2018-12-05 15:32:43

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

seth wrote:

The log you posted as https://pastebin.com/hn6jW84m disagrees.
If that's from some bumblebee-free setup, please replace it w/ the relevant logs.
And again: try w/o primus.

I've removed primus. I'm thinking that was an old Xorg log. Here's my current log: https://pastebin.com/gve0nAEU

Offline

#13 2018-12-05 15:50:34

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

For some additional info, `lspci` will consistently lockup my laptop when bumblebee is running. Like I said earlier, my best hunch right now is that Bumblebee issue which I found through https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NV … pci_hangs)

Last edited by jswenson (2018-12-05 15:54:40)

Offline

#14 2018-12-05 23:19:26

jswenson
Member
Registered: 2016-05-29
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Nvidia Optimus Laptop Locks Up When Using Bumblebee or Intel

Okay, thanks to that github issue I have resolved this problem!

The solution was to remove bbswitch (others also had to remove nvidia-xrun but I didn't have that) and add

acpi_osi="!Windows 2015"

as a kernel parameter. All of my guaranteed ways of breaking it before are now working as expected! Thanks guys!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB