You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-28 10:43:42

spira_mirabilis
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 24

Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

I'd like to install Arch on a MacBook Pro 2017. I plug the USB stick, power on the Mac, select the USB, grub appears, enter and I get stuck on a black screen. Same behaviour with Antergos and Fedora. I just tried with Debian and it works. Do you have any clue on what might be going on here?

Offline

#2 2018-12-28 10:56:13

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,631
Website

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#3 2018-12-28 11:00:05

spira_mirabilis
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 24

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

I get the same behaviour with nomodeset.

Offline

#4 2018-12-28 16:34:17

handella
Member
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 6

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

Have a look at this: Arch on Macbook Pro. I'm not shure, if it is a good idea to run Arch on a Macbook Pro 2017...

Last edited by handella (2018-12-28 16:46:51)

Offline

#5 2018-12-29 15:20:13

spira_mirabilis
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 24

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

I found out that I can't edit the boot menu (ctrl - x just writes the x, F10 does nothing and by pressing enter it boots, but with the original configuration). How can I edit the ISO in order to edit the boot menu configuration accordingly?

Offline

#6 2018-12-29 16:36:48

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,631
Website

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

You seem to be fixated on grub commands. As my earlier link tells you, the Arch installation ISO doesn't use it. Depending on what mode you are booting in, it will be either syslinux or systemd-boot.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#7 2018-12-29 18:16:00

spira_mirabilis
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 24

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

Oops, my bad. Still, booting with nomodeset doesn't fix my problem.

Offline

#8 2018-12-29 19:39:24

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 398
Website

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

Since booting debian works, it might be worth comparing the boot parameters.

Offline

#9 2018-12-30 07:45:13

spira_mirabilis
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 24

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

arch:

initrd=/arch/boot/intel_ucode.img initrd=/arch/boot/amd_ucode.img initrd=/arch/boot/x86_64/archiso.img archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCH_201812

debian:

linux /linux vga=788 --- quiet
initrd /initrd.gz

Offline

#10 2018-12-30 18:21:48

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 398
Website

Re: Arch on MacBook Pro 2017

I do not know whether the vga option is likely to make a difference, the quiet one (which is passed to init) probably does not.
I'd anyways try adding both, i.e.

initrd=/arch/boot/intel_ucode.img initrd=/arch/boot/amd_ucode.img initrd=/arch/boot/x86_64/archiso.img archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCH_201812 vga=788 --- quiet

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB