You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-25 11:23:49

dtw
Forum Fellow
Website

Loopback device for building Archie

It's been a thought at the back of my mind for sometime but after Mr. Green mentioned it I want to look at using a loopback device to build Archie ISOs without the need for a separate partition.

Now, I'm no expert on these things, but, as I understand it, I can use commands similar to this to make a 1 gig loopback device:

mkdir /root/initrd
dd if=/dev/zero of=initrd.img bs=1k count=1024
mke2fs -i 1024 -b 1024 -m 5 -F -v initrd.img
mount initrd.img /root/initrd -t ext2 -o loop

This loopback device could be used to create the basic Arch install that the ISO require.  You would then use that img file as the target partition in the mkliveiso command and mkliveiso could still do it's fancy unionfs mounting with it.  You could even be gzip the image and save it for a later build, to save repeating the process.

So, it's basically indentical to using a separate hard-disk partition but can all be done from your home system.

Does that sound correct in theory?

#2 2006-08-26 08:10:01

gradgrind

Re: Loopback device for building Archie

I'm afraid I haven't been following Archie development, but I do wonder why you need a separate partition at all. You say something to do with unionfs, but doesn't this just work with directories?

#3 2006-08-26 08:11:13

phrakture
Arch Overlord
Website

You know, if you used a ramfs there's no need for a loopback device ever

#4 2006-08-26 08:31:24

dtw
Forum Fellow
Website

Problem is though, phrak, we need 2Gb ramfs...is that doable?

gradgrind; you may have a point there.  Ziggy knows the theory better than me, I'll ask him.

#5 2006-08-26 08:46:28

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
Website

/me is interested

I assume many are put off building Archie because of the need for a spare partition

ramfs will have to read up on that

Archie needs a device name ie /dev/hda3 so could udev help out here ?

thinking aloud again