You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-26 22:42:15

borge

How to install RealPlayer

I'm new to Arc Linux but find it a nice distro so far, especially the Arch x86_64 flavour made me happy.

I need to have realplayer to be able to listen to some streamed radio.

Here http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=9388 I found a
way to use pacman to install realplayer wiich I tried to follow.

After installing I can't get realplayer to work, not even to start:

$ realplay
/usr/bin/realplay: line 70: /opt/realplayer/realplay.bin: No such file or directory

My first guess was this might have something to do with the package not
beeing 64 bit:

$ file /opt/realplayer/realplay.bin
/opt/realplayer/realplay.bin: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.2.5, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.2.5, stripped

I guess you could not run 32-bit ELFs on a 64-bit Arch-system?

Any suggestions how to get realplayer to work on my system?

#2 2006-08-26 22:48:54

dolby

Re: How to install RealPlayer

i think that the codecs package includes a realmedia codec so theres no need to install it. i might be wrong but my xfmedia does play rm files

There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

#3 2006-08-26 23:14:42

borge

It turned out I allready had the cocecs package installed, but not the xfmedia app. Can't find the package for xfmedia...

But, good news. I found a way to tell my radio web page to feed my Windows Media files instead of RealPlayer files and now it just works. Konqueror uses the mplayer plug-in and... yes, so does Firefox.

#4 2006-08-27 00:23:03

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow