You are not logged in.

#1 2019-03-08 02:27:34

neilsimp1
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 12

[SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

I've been experiencing this issue on and off since I first set up Arch.

Sometimes when I reboot the system, the system freezes up at

:: running early hook [udev]
Starting version 241.7-2-arch
:: running hook [udev]
:: Triggering uevents...
Waiting 10 seconds for device /dev/disk/by-uuid/5e1c985c-6820-44d4-ac1c-8bd058d9f5d1 ...
:: performing fsck on '/dev/disk/by-uuid/5e1c985c-6820-44d4-ac1c-8bd058d9f5d1'
/dev/sd3: clean, 437947/22937600 files, 8735906/91750400 blocks
:: mounting '/dev/disk/by-uuid/5e1c985c-6820-44d4-ac1c-8bd058d9f5d1' on real root
:: running cleanop hook [udev]
[   34.3335741 ahci 0000:06:00.0: AHCI controller unavailable!

I can't quite find any pattern for when this happens. I suspend my PC a lot, maybe that has something to do with it?
I've checked my BIOS and my only SATA drive is set to use AHCI. I know not what else to look at for this. Can anyone provide any suggestions?


Edit: This has happened across many kernel versions, but I'm currently

Linux mars 5.0.0-arch1-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Mar 4 14:11:43 UTC 2019 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Last edited by neilsimp1 (2019-03-25 02:23:26)

Offline

#2 2019-03-08 02:37:07

Teslo
Member
Registered: 2018-11-15
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

Which MB do you have? Can you try Ports from another Controller, if existing? Did you try resetting the Bios by taking the Mb-battery out for >5 seconds?

Last edited by Teslo (2019-03-08 02:39:36)

Offline

#3 2019-03-08 02:53:35

neilsimp1
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0

Do you think it could be a hardware problem?
I previously had Windows 10 installed, and it would occasionally not boot up past the spinning blue circle. I always blamed that on the OS.

I have only this one HDD so I have plenty of other SATA ports. Does another controller mean another port or another set of ports? (Two are white, one's blue. I don't know the difference). I can certainly try connecting the hard drive somewhere else.

Offline

#4 2019-03-08 03:08:47

Teslo
Member
Registered: 2018-11-15
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

Are you using the most up to date bios, in this case 2501?
Following your MB's manual, you have a AMD-Controller => gray ports, and a ASMedia-Controller => navy blue ports.
Take at look at 1.2.9 here: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/S … V3_WEB.pdf.
If not using, you should stick with the AMD one. Otherwise, I would try the Asmedia ports and see if the problem persists.

Perhaps its a hardware problem, but just lets hope the best. It also can be a firmware problem I guess tongue

Regards

Offline

#5 2019-03-08 04:05:31

neilsimp1
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

I'm running 2501.

I'll try switching to the other controller and see how things go.

Offline

#6 2019-03-08 06:41:46

anatolik
Developer
Registered: 2012-09-27
Posts: 453

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

There is a high chance that it is a hardware problem with the motherboard.

Offline

#7 2019-03-08 19:05:32

Teslo
Member
Registered: 2018-11-15
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

anatolik wrote:

There is a high chance that it is a hardware problem with the motherboard.

There is a similar Post on reddit, descring the same problem with this mb. The problem seemed to be solved by changing from Asmedia-Controller to AMD.

I think this thread can be marked as solved.

Last edited by Teslo (2019-03-08 19:05:51)

Offline

#8 2019-03-08 23:07:30

neilsimp1
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED] Arch randomly not booting - AHCI controller unavailable!

Teslo wrote:
anatolik wrote:

There is a high chance that it is a hardware problem with the motherboard.

There is a similar Post on reddit, descring the same problem with this mb. The problem seemed to be solved by changing from Asmedia-Controller to AMD.

I think this thread can be marked as solved.

Thanks. I searched on Reddit for that too, guess I missed it. Marked this as [SOLVED].

Edit:

Last edited by neilsimp1 (2019-03-25 02:23:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB