You are not logged in.

#1 2019-03-21 20:21:43

C-Ren

Trying to understand drivers for Broadcom BCM4360 WLAN adapter

Hi, I've been trying to install Arch on a MacBook Air (2015).

lspci -vnn -d 14e4:

shows that I'm using the Broadcom BCM4360 802.11ac wireless network adapter. The Arch Wiki page about Broadcom wireless adapters contains links to websites to check whether the

brcm80211

or

b43

driver works with the adapter. From these sites I believe I've learnt that neither of them works. Now I believe I'm left with the only option being to install the proprietary `broadcom-wl` driver.

This is my first time troubleshooting hardware problems on Linux, and as such I'd appreciate help explaining some of the concepts I don't understand fully:
1. When I run

lspci -vnn -d 14e4:

(see above), I get the following output at the very bottom of the entry for the Broadcom WLAN adapter:

Kernel driver in use: bcma-pci-bridge
Kernel modules: bcma, wl

Is this

wl

the same as the

broadcom-wl

driver? I ask because at the end of the wiki page's section on manual installation of

broadcom-wl

, it refers to "the wl module".
2. What is the difference between "Kernel driver in use" and "Kernel modules" as listed above? The first field is clear enough, but the second is slightly more cryptic.
3. How do I change what driver is used for a piece of hardware? Or is this designed to be impossible because it is managed by the kernel automagically? I ask this because I thought of doing so to test if the wl module that I see is in fact compatible with the adapter but for some reason is not in use.
4. I have no way to access the Internet from the MacBook except with the WLAN adapter. So I can't install Arch - which is a prerequisite for installing the

broadcom-wl

driver, according to the wiki page (the same one I linked above). Is there a workaround, or do I need to use a USB adapter or something similar?

Thank you!

Last edited by C-Ren (2019-03-21 20:21:57)

#2 2019-03-21 21:25:40