You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-30 00:33:43

roland
Member
Registered: 2006-08-11
Posts: 8

Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

Hello,
I use ipw2100 to enable my wireless and have also a ethernet card on my laptop. However, even I configured the rc.conf as follows

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
#eth0="dhcp"
eth1="dhcp"
#INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1)
INTERFACES=(lo eth1)

Well, it seems that sometimes eth1 corresponds to the wireless and sometimes to the ethernet card. I notice this by the time lag when the computer boots up. So, I started using the network profiles but no luck. I am not able to bind eth1 to the wireless card and was wondering wether it was possible to enter in the network-profiles a line that would bind eth1 to the wireless mac address.

Thanks,

Roland

Offline

#2 2006-08-30 03:38:14

kill
Member
Registered: 2004-09-30
Posts: 126

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

You have two options. The first is to create a udev rule to assign the correct device the correct number. The second is to add an alias to /etc/modprobe.conf
for example:

alias wlan0 ndiswrapper

Offline

#3 2006-08-30 06:19:38

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

More on the udev option here.

Offline

#4 2006-09-02 06:41:20

roland
Member
Registered: 2006-08-11
Posts: 8

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

Sorry to reply so late but I've been really busy.

Thanks so much for your help. Works like a charm now.

Roland

Offline

#5 2006-09-04 20:54:38

roland
Member
Registered: 2006-08-11
Posts: 8

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

Sorry guys... it seems that the udev thing doesn't quite work.
Sometimes it picks the right card and sometimes it doesn't. Any suggestions?

Offline

#6 2006-09-05 14:16:51

sebcactus
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 277

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

Have you changed the name of the interfaces (e.g. lan0 and wlan0 instead of eth0 and eth1)?

An other solution is to disable module auto-loading /etc/rc.conf at in MODULES(): prefix your modules with a !
Then you can load them in the order you want.
For example:
MODULES(!ipw2100 !tg3  tg3 ipw2100). tg3 will be mapped to eth0 and ipw2100 to eth1.

Offline

#7 2006-09-05 17:41:17

hugin
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 93

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

solution++

use the iftab file... it's like your fstab except for network devices.  I had the same problem, and this is how i fixed it.

the sytax is like this:

 device   mac 00:00:00:00:00:00 

where device is something like eth0 and obviously make the mac addy yours.

man iftab for more info.


/jhs


Open Toes; Open Mind; Open Source.

Offline

#8 2006-09-09 20:56:45

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

hugin wrote:

solution++

use the iftab file... it's like your fstab except for network devices.  I had the same problem, and this is how i fixed it.

the sytax is like this:

 device   mac 00:00:00:00:00:00 

where device is something like eth0 and obviously make the mac addy yours.

man iftab for more info.


/jhs

SWEET!  Thanks for the tip - I'd been using udev and modules.conf - this is much simpler.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#9 2006-09-09 22:28:33

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: Network profile bind to mac address, possible?

Cool.

Now I like my /etc/*tab even more smile


1000

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB