You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-09 14:15:38

Gaspi
Member
Registered: 2018-05-10
Posts: 8

[SOLVED] HDMI audio output device not shown

Hello everyone.

There is this issue with my laptop running Arch whenever I plug a moitor via HDMI.
There is no way to select the HDMI  audio output as default device. I did some research
on this issue but I haven't found anybody with the exact same problem.

I run the following command with the following output.

 $ lspci | grep Audio 
 00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio (rev 21) 

As you can see, no HDMI device output is shown.
I also tried running this, but no HDMI here as well.

 cat /proc/asound/cards 
0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xef128000 irq 129

However, doing some tests with aplay I've been able to play sound on the HDMI output.
First I listed all aplay devices, which shows various HDMI sound devices.

 aplay -l 
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: Generic Analog [Generic Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I tried a sound test with all of them, and card 0 device 7 is the one working,
so that means that sending audio is posible (in this way at least).

 aplay -D plughw:0,7 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav 

Any help or adivce is very much apreciated. Thank you very much.

Edit: I clicked post unnintentionally when it wasn't finished, sorry for that.

Last edited by Gaspi (2019-06-09 22:53:35)

Offline

#2 2019-06-09 21:02:04

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,926

Re: [SOLVED] HDMI audio output device not shown

Are you using plain ALSA or pulseaudio? If plain ALSA read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad … ts%22_node

Note that plain ALSA would mandate you restart sound producing applications in order to switch audio, if you expect this to be able to happen on the fly you will want to use pulseaudio. If you are using pulseaudio, same card outputs like these are provided as an additional profile, to be switched on the "Configuration" tab in pavucontrol for example.

Offline

#3 2019-06-09 22:53:06

Gaspi
Member
Registered: 2018-05-10
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] HDMI audio output device not shown

Thank you very much for the help. I use pulseaudio and I jsut found the correcto profile for the HDMI output. I was wondering if there is a way to quickly change betwen internal speaker and HDMI quickly and I found this script in the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu … io_to_HDMI. Unfortunately, the script does'n work for me as it changes the profile to an unvalid one and doesn't even toggle back to internal speaker. I'm not even sure if the script should work as it is or if modifications are needed depending on the system cards.

I'll mark this as solved as the main porpose of the post was that, but do you know a way to handle profiles in an easy way such as devices? I'm looking for a way to toggle between outputs with something like Kmix or similar. The script would be nice if it worked. Thank you very much.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB