You are not logged in.

#1 2019-07-20 17:43:29

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

I can't recall when this issue appeared, because I falsely associated with sway. But, I first noticed it the past 3-4 days.

The issue:
I suspend my pc either with `systemctl suspend` or the sleep button.
The keyboard and mouse have a 50% chance to get disconnected and the only way to wake-up the computer is using the power button.
When it wakes up the all the lights turn back on, music continuous playing (if it was playing before), but the monitor doesn't open again. Also the numlock/scroll lock/caps lock keys, don't seem to work.  Trying to switch to a different tty doesn't work. The issue is also present when I suspend my pc without even logging in to my user.

What I've tried so far:
I tried rolling back to the previous Bios version which I had recently upgraded from.
I re-installed arch again.
I tried linux-lts.
I tried with and without a swapfile.
I tried turning the monitor on and off again.
I restored UEFI BIOS defaults.
Disabled Fast Start-up again.
Disconnected all other drives and devices except mouse, keyboard and monitor.
EDIT:
Disconnected all external devices and drives except keyboard and monitor.
Downgraded to linux-5.1
Downgraded systemd
Tried booting the system to rescue.target then systemctl suspend
Tried to use the NVIDIA proprietary driver. (22/07)

I have not idea how to troubleshoot this. Any input is appreciated.
Also this is my first post here, so if I should have mentioned anything else tell me so next time I know.

- Mobo:              X370 Prime Pro (latest bios)
- CPU:                 R5 1600
- GPU:                GTX 1050TI ( driver: nouveau)
- Bootloader:  sytemd-boot
- wm:                  Sway

New Edit (21/07 00:00 UTC+2):
$ journalctl -b -1: https://pastebin.com/jCLbQWEN

$ journalctl -p 3 -xb
-- Logs begin at Sat 2019-07-20 17:28:15 EEST, end at Sun 2019-07-21 23:42:43 EEST. --
Jul 21 23:35:19 killua kernel: sp5100-tco sp5100-tco: Watchdog hardware is disabled

Last edited by ispanos (2019-07-22 09:16:03)

Offline

#2 2019-07-20 17:47:33

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,276

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Welcome to the arch linux forums ispanos.  When you reinstalled the system did you preserve the log files so that you could identify what changed 3-4 days ago?

Offline

#3 2019-07-20 17:54:21

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

@loqs No. It didn't even occur to me at the time. I only noticed it after I installed swaywm and I assumed that something was broken with sway/swayidle/swaylock. I uninstalled them and since the issue persisted, I started fresh again, but the issue then appeared on i3wm too. Then I started panicking.

Offline

#4 2019-07-20 18:00:56

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,276

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Please post the full journal from one boot through until suspend.
Edit:
Also please try downgrading the linux kernel to a 5.1 release as the 5.2 release roughly fits with your time frame and was a big change.

Last edited by loqs (2019-07-20 18:05:01)

Offline

#5 2019-07-20 18:10:38

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

loqs wrote:

Please post the full journal from one boot through until suspend.

I'm sorry for asking this question, but to save both of us time, can you give me the command to do that?
`journalctl` Prints thousands of lines for the past 2 minutes and they seem to be repeating on a loop.

Offline

#6 2019-07-20 18:13:00

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,866

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Try journalctl -b


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2019-07-20 18:17:51

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

https://pastebin.com/SSCeQJa9
EDIT: This is the output of  `journal -b`.

Last edited by ispanos (2019-07-20 18:19:37)

Offline

#8 2019-07-20 19:07:37

cynicfm
Member
From: Home
Registered: 2019-05-31
Posts: 68

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

I had that before with some old pc i bought with ubuntu preinstalled that i paid 20 dollars for... I installed windows XP on it later on and few weeks later i decided to use suspend and then for second suspend i heard BEEP in the PC and nothing showed on display so i did reset but then again another suspend killed the PC cuz it stopped showing on display completely...
Perhaps it's something wrong with the computer, sorry for cruel solution but perhaps you should throw geforce to the bin or sell it to some naive windows user and get some AMD based PC instead :-).

Although i hope that somebody will find the solution though as i am curious what's causing this.

Be careful though you see with suspends you don't want to brick your pc sad

Well i have checked journalctl log for first tiem in my life and well i am not sure if this part isn't weird

Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd[1]: Starting File System Check on /dev/disk/by-uuid/2261-B313...
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua kernel: audit: type=1130 audit(1563645949.457:6): pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=lvm2-monitor comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: fsck.fat 4.1 (2017-01-24)
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: 0x41: Dirty bit is set. Fs was not properly unmounted and some data may be corrupt.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]:  Automatically removing dirty bit.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: Performing changes.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: /dev/nvme0n1p1: 15 files, 91681/524256 clusters

Fs was not properly unmounted but it's suspend not reset computer sad. Hopefully somebody smarter will post here smile

Last edited by cynicfm (2019-07-20 19:20:25)


I am new to linux 24 years and vegetarian.

If i typed something wrong please correct me as i am learning.
Thank you.

Offline

#9 2019-07-20 19:31:10

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

cynicfm wrote:

I had that before with some old pc i bought with ubuntu preinstalled that i paid 20 dollars for... I installed windows XP on it later on and few weeks later i decided to use suspend and then for second suspend i heard BEEP in the PC and nothing showed on display so i did reset but then again another suspend killed the PC cuz it stopped showing on display completely...
Perhaps it's something wrong with the computer, sorry for cruel solution but perhaps you should throw geforce to the bin or sell it to some naive windows user and get some AMD based PC instead :-).

Although i hope that somebody will find the solution though as i am curious what's causing this.

Be careful though you see with suspends you don't want to brick your pc sad

Well i have checked journalctl log for first tiem in my life and well i am not sure if this part isn't weird

Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd[1]: Starting File System Check on /dev/disk/by-uuid/2261-B313...
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua kernel: audit: type=1130 audit(1563645949.457:6): pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=lvm2-monitor comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: fsck.fat 4.1 (2017-01-24)
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: 0x41: Dirty bit is set. Fs was not properly unmounted and some data may be corrupt.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]:  Automatically removing dirty bit.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: Performing changes.
Jul 20 21:05:49 killua systemd-fsck[554]: /dev/nvme0n1p1: 15 files, 91681/524256 clusters

Fs was not properly unmounted but it's suspend not reset computer sad. Hopefully somebody smarter will post here smile

To address all 3 things you mentioned.
1) It's not a hardware issue. Windows suspend and wake up just fine.
3) The error you pointed out is probably cause by the previous reset I had to do when the computer didn't wake up. I'm not worried about it.

2) The  thing about buying amd is irrelevant right now, but I have to reply.
Throwing a perfectly fine GPU to the bin is a waste of money and creates unnecessary e-waste. AMD prices at the low end are high for me right now. I bought the gtx card before I even knew what is linux, but I'm not going to waste any money on graphics cards right now.

Offline

#10 2019-07-20 19:36:18

cynicfm
Member
From: Home
Registered: 2019-05-31
Posts: 68

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Yeah i am having the same situation using some generic acer laptop and i bought it before well i knew what linux was but didn't know what's pacman big_smile.
Well sorry for a bit offtopic there if you are sure its not hardware issue then it has to be something else then... Sorry that i wrote about throwing nvidia to the bin but i am not fan of them...
I am not sure if it's somehow related to arch too, cuz your issue is quite myserious...

edit: well i have gone on bugzilla.kernel.org and there is somebody whos cant resume from suspend on amdgpu so it seems like they both cause issues well sad

Last edited by cynicfm (2019-07-20 20:47:08)


I am new to linux 24 years and vegetarian.

If i typed something wrong please correct me as i am learning.
Thank you.

Offline

#11 2019-07-21 02:55:58

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

loqs wrote:

Please post the full journal from one boot through until suspend.
Edit:
Also please try downgrading the linux kernel to a 5.1 release as the 5.2 release roughly fits with your time frame and was a big change.

I tried downgrading both systemd and linux. Sorry it took me so long to confirm, but I had tried linux-lts and I didn't think the kernel was the problem. But I had to try, because I spent the past 3 days and more specifically the past 6 hours googling, I got no new replies here, so I had to try it.

Offline

#12 2019-07-21 08:14:06

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 13,112

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

From the symptoms, done device is causing havoc on the USB (my dvb does pretty much exactly this… therefore:) I'm gonna blame the webcam, but I'd also try removing the mouse before suspending (basically unplug everything on the usb, ideally replace the keyboard w/ a basic one) and see whether the behavior stops. If so, keep them addded one by one until things break again. Again, I'd first just try removing the webcam *before* suspending - I think it's related to the webcams input device.

Offline

#13 2019-07-21 12:20:18

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

seth wrote:

From the symptoms, done device is causing havoc on the USB (my dvb does pretty much exactly this… therefore:) I'm gonna blame the webcam, but I'd also try removing the mouse before suspending (basically unplug everything on the usb, ideally replace the keyboard w/ a basic one) and see whether the behavior stops. If so, keep them addded one by one until things break again. Again, I'd first just try removing the webcam *before* suspending - I think it's related to the webcams input device.

ispanos wrote:

Disconnected all other drives and devices except mouse, keyboard and monitor.

I've already tried it and that wasn't the issue. Hardware is one of the last things that I try to rule out, but it's been 4+  days now. It could be a buggy package, but I don't know how to test it.
Edit: I tried without the mouse too.

Last edited by ispanos (2019-07-21 12:47:12)

Offline

#14 2019-07-21 20:32:03

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 412
Website

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

I cannot find anything about a suspension in the log file.  Note that `journalctl -b' shows the log of the current boot.  Probably `journalctl -b -1' (for the last boot - that should involve a suspend operation) would be more interesting.  Alternatively, issue the command blindly (having it prepared before suspension).

Offline

#15 2019-07-21 20:41:44

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

respiranto wrote:

I cannot find anything about a suspension in the log file.  Note that `journalctl -b' shows the log of the current boot.  Probably `journalctl -b -1' (for the last boot - that should involve a suspend operation) would be more interesting.  Alternatively, issue the command blindly (having it prepared before suspension).

Here is the output of `journalctl -b -1': https://pastebin.com/jCLbQWEN
I'm adding that to the original post.
I started the pc with just the keyboard connected, logged in, started sway, suspended and then  tried to wake the system up. After that I had to reset using the reset button.

Offline

#16 2019-07-21 20:49:16

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,276

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Does booting the system to rescue.target then systemctl suspend work?

Offline

#17 2019-07-21 20:55:55

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

loqs wrote:

Does booting the system to rescue.target then systemctl suspend work?

I just tried it. I didn't have any time to check what it is, but the system didn't wake up that way  either .

Offline

#18 2019-07-21 21:59:36

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 412
Website

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Here is the output of `journalctl -b -1': https://pastebin.com/jCLbQWEN
I'm adding that to the original post.
I started the pc with just the keyboard connected, logged in, started sway, suspended and then  tried to wake the system up. After that I had to reset using the reset button.

The log stops right after the computer goes into the suspend state.  Do I assume correctly, that you reset it without trying to resume before?  You wrote it is possible to make the machine wakeup using the power key.  It would be probably useful to know what happens at that point (i.e. see the corresponding log's part).

Offline

#19 2019-07-21 22:12:18

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

respiranto wrote:

The log stops right after the computer goes into the suspend state.  Do I assume correctly, that you reset it without trying to resume before?  You wrote it is possible to make the machine wakeup using the power key.  It would be probably useful to know what happens at that point (i.e. see the corresponding log's part).

I tried waking up the computer using the keyboard. Since it wasn't waking up, I pressed the power button and it started spinning again, but the screen remained off. I waited 10-20 seconds and I pressed the reset button.

Offline

#20 2019-07-22 07:33:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 13,112

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

Did you ever try replacing nouveau w/ the nvidia blob?

Offline

#21 2019-07-22 09:14:53

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

seth wrote:

Did you ever try replacing nouveau w/ the nvidia blob?

I just  did.  Nothing changed. I wish I had extra hardware to test (i.e. an amd gpu)

Offline

#22 2019-07-22 14:34:44

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 412
Website

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

ispanos wrote:

I tried waking up the computer using the keyboard. Since it wasn't waking up, I pressed the power button and it started spinning again, but the screen remained off. I waited 10-20 seconds and I pressed the reset button.

So apparently pretty much nothing is working after resume (unless the new log's part remained in some volatile buffer).  Can you somehow try to ping or even ssh into your machine after resume?  Can you issue commands with the keyboard, e.g. play some music, or only a beep?

Also, to test other hardware, you could try the onboard graphics.

Offline

#23 2019-07-22 15:41:46

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

respiranto wrote:
ispanos wrote:

I tried waking up the computer using the keyboard. Since it wasn't waking up, I pressed the power button and it started spinning again, but the screen remained off. I waited 10-20 seconds and I pressed the reset button.

So apparently pretty much nothing is working after resume (unless the new log's part remained in some volatile buffer).  Can you somehow try to ping or even ssh into your machine after resume?  Can you issue commands with the keyboard, e.g. play some music, or only a beep?

Also, to test other hardware, you could try the onboard graphics.

I as I said, when the computer wakes up, the keyboard is completely non-responsive. Even the numlock key doesn't turn on the numlock light.  If there was music playing  before sleep, then it keeps playing.

I don't have a second  pc at the moment, but I could  have a  raspberry ready by tomorrow. What's your plan with  that?

My cpu doesn't have and IGP.

Offline

#24 2019-07-22 16:45:42

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 412
Website

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

ispanos wrote:

I don't have a second  pc at the moment, but I could  have a  raspberry ready by tomorrow. What's your plan with  that?

SSH access would allow to diagnose on the running system.

My cpu doesn't have and IGP.

I just noted the board has an hdmi port and worngly concluded.

Another idea (not sure if this might help): Suspend via

echo mem > /sys/power/state

as root.  See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … l_(swsusp)

Offline

#25 2019-07-22 18:16:46

ispanos
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 18

Re: system doesn't wake properly from suspention (to RAM).

respiranto wrote:

Another idea (not sure if this might help): Suspend via

echo mem > /sys/power/state

as root.  See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … l_(swsusp)

The same thing happened.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB