You are not logged in.

#1 2019-07-22 20:00:17

Exobit

Can't mount /boot/efi after installation

Hi,

Im brand new to arch but would classify myself experienced with linux, so i would try to dance with arch a little which i love by far.

I just installed arch and partitioned with GPT. Made a:
sdb1: /mnt/boot/efi
sdb2: /mnt
sdb3: swap

But everytime i boot up after the installment, its failing to mount /boot/efi.
The output is

boot-efi.mount - /boot/efi
  Loaded: loaded (/etc/fstab; generated)
  Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since......not going to paste that
    Where: /boot/efi
      What: /dev/disk/by-uuid/5F6A-2ED7
      Docs: man:fstab(5)
                man:systemd-fstab-generator(8)

Mounting /boot/efi...
mount: /boot/efi: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.
boot.efi.mount: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Failed to mount /boot/efi

Its a EFI partition with type FAT32

Anyone got an idea?

Thanks in advance

#2 2019-07-22 20:28:20

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
Website

Re: Can't mount /boot/efi after installation

Your booted kernel doesn't have the matching kernel modules installed. Downgrade your Linux package to match the version reported by 'uname -a', then you'll be able to mount your ESP again.

Mod note: not an installation issue, moving to NC.

Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

#3 2019-07-22 20:53:39

Exobit

WorMzy wrote:

Your booted kernel doesn't have the matching kernel modules installed. Downgrade your Linux package to match the version reported by 'uname -a', then you'll be able to mount your ESP again.

Mod note: not an installation issue, moving to NC.

Is there a way to install compatible modules, or havent they been made compatible yet?