You are not logged in.

#1 2019-07-31 17:53:16

Jooshhy

Visiual Studio Terminal getting 'permission denied' [SOLVED]

Hello I'm quite new to Arch linux and Linux itself. I am in the progress of making sure that all my applications or alternative ones work but I'm getting issues with visual studio.

I have created a directory in my documents for my c++ files and I am able to compile and run them through a terminal emulator with no issues.  In visual studio I'm getting Permission denied.  It seems to be compiling with visual studio fine but not running the program after.

Visual Studio

"[test@testarch Learning C]$ /home/test/Documents/Learning\ C/myfirst.cpp
bash: /home/test/Documents/Learning C/myfirst.cpp: Permission denied"

Any suggestions would be great smile

Last edited by Jooshhy (2019-07-31 22:50:36)

#2 2019-07-31 19:12:41

summerer

Re: Visiual Studio Terminal getting 'permission denied' [SOLVED]

I don't know why you are getting a permission denied. You could try navigating in the terminal to /home/test/Documents/Learning\ C/ using cd and showing us the output using ls -l for example.

Also, wouldn't you usually compile the .cpp file which creates an executable which you would then execute?

Cheers Tim

#3 2019-07-31 19:30:17

Jooshhy

Here is the results of the ls -l to see the permissions of the directory. If i understand it correctly the user does have permission to execute the program 

total 28
-rwxr-xr-x 1 test users 17184 Jul 31 17:09 myfirst
-rw-r--r-- 1 test users   196 Jul 30 21:18 myfirst.cpp

Yes I could do that as I tried it in the directory to check the accounts permissions and to make sure they had permission to compile and run the program. Visual Studio has a inbuilt terminal to test certain parts of the code. I just find it weird how it access to compile the program but not run it and works fine if I run it in terminator (outside of visual studio)

Last edited by Jooshhy (2019-07-31 19:36:09)

#4 2019-07-31 19:46:32

summerer