You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-12 05:33:28

oldmanpip
Member
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 3

Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

Hey guys

I've already tried to look at the Locale wiki part, as well as other subjects posted in here about this particular issue, but i can't make heads or tails about it and thought you gentlemen might be able to help me?

When i try to open gnome-terminal this is the error i get:

# _g_io_module_get_default: Found default implementation gvfs (GDaemonVfs) for â
# Error constructing proxy for org.gnome.Terminal:/org/gnome/Terminal/Factory0: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.gnome.Terminal: Timeout was reached 

This is the output of my locale -a:

C
en_GB.utf8
POSIX

localectl:

   System Locale: LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: uk
      X11 Layout: gb,se,us
     X11 Variant: ,,

locale:

LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_TIME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NAME="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_GB.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

It did previously say "# Locale not supported by C library. # Using the fallback 'C' locale.", but after fixing the language in Language and Langauge settings of Gnome, this disappeared and the above error remains.

Anything else i can try here?

Offline

#2 2019-08-12 07:28:08

dockland
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-06-06
Posts: 837

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

Remove the "

LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_TIME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NAME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_ALL=

I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
I use it to look at funny pictures of cats and to argue with strangers.

Offline

#3 2019-08-12 11:21:50

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,020

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

Those are auto-generated values, he explicitly set the ones that don't have quotes in the "locale" output.
Makes me wonder whether they're set in some bashrc and pot. shadow others, @oldmanpip please post your /etc/locale.conf

Wild guess: generate en_US.UTF-8 as well and maybe use it instead of en_GB.UTF-8 - maybe be latter in incomplete, resorts to C and gnome-terminal wets itself over that…

Offline

#4 2019-08-12 21:02:53

oldmanpip
Member
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 3

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

seth wrote:

Those are auto-generated values, he explicitly set the ones that don't have quotes in the "locale" output.
Makes me wonder whether they're set in some bashrc and pot. shadow others, @oldmanpip please post your /etc/locale.conf

Wild guess: generate en_US.UTF-8 as well and maybe use it instead of en_GB.UTF-8 - maybe be latter in incomplete, resorts to C and gnome-terminal wets itself over that…

That's the thing, it only has the following below, don't think i've edited it beyond that.

LANG=en_GB.UTF-8

If i try to generate the US one, i get the same issue back "# Locale not supported by C library. #Using the fallback 'C' locale."

@dockland don't even know where to manually remove the " as i don't have that listed anywhere in the files i've looked at...
Both my "locale.conf" and "locale.gen" both have the above line only in them. Should there be anything else beyond that?

Last edited by oldmanpip (2019-08-12 21:05:31)

Offline

#5 2019-08-12 21:42:39

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,020

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

If i try to generate the US one, i get the same issue back "# Locale not supported by C library. #Using the fallback 'C' locale."

Huh, what??

What *exactly* do you do that causes this output?

Offline

#6 2019-08-13 04:12:12

oldmanpip
Member
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 3

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

seth wrote:

If i try to generate the US one, i get the same issue back "# Locale not supported by C library. #Using the fallback 'C' locale."

Huh, what??

What *exactly* do you do that causes this output?

Edit the locale.gen to say en.US_UTF-8 instead of the previously mentioned GB one and then locale-gen?
It was an empty file previously. Should i not have done that?

I did also, just to be on the safe side, run localectl set-locale LANG=en_US.UTF-8 but now that i have, if i run locale again, this is the output:

locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_TIME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

So clearly i'm doing something wrong here but i'm honestly not sure what.

Offline

#7 2019-08-13 05:54:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,020

Re: Gnome terminal, possible locale issues?

Edit the locale.gen to say en.US_UTF-8 instead of the previously mentioned GB one and then locale-gen?

So you deleted the GB locales while the locale was still set to GB - I can see why that would fail.
You can have several entries there.
Also something on your system still configures several LC_* vars - how *exactly* did you install archlinux?

It was an empty file previously. Should i not have done that?

Your locale.gen was initially empty???

pacman -Qikk glibc

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB