You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-22 19:09:17

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

[SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Hi all! 

I'm new to Arch, and I really like it!  Unfortunately, if I can't get my printer to work, and I probably won't be able to stay with the distro very long unless I can get back to printing.  I've been trying everything that I can think of for several days, without any success.  So, I was hoping that one of you here on the forum would be able to help me.

My printer is an HP OfficeJet 5255, and it's wireless.  As a side note, I happen to know that I can make it run on a certain other arch-based distro, using cups and hplip, so the printer should be fine, and the problem is most likely something on my new arch install.

So, where shall we begin?  First, I installed cups version 2.2.12-1, and hplip version 1:3.19.6-1.  Then I enabled and started cups using systemctl.  I checked the status, and it's active and running. 

Next, I attempted to install my printer via the cups web interface.  Thankfully, cups does discover my printer, and I can select it, edit the location/description/etc...  Next it takes me to a screen where I select the model from a list, and when I finally click on "add printer", I am presented with the following text, which I scraped from the page:

Add Printer
Add Printer HP_OfficeJet_5200_series Error
Unable to add printer:

Unable to copy PPD file.
 

On a recent attempt, I grabbed the errors output to /var/log/cups/error-log when the web interface displays the error, and I have included them below:

E [22/Aug/2019:13:54:30 -0400] [cups-deviced] PID 14137 (cups-brf) stopped with status 13!
E [22/Aug/2019:13:54:49 -0400] [Client 91] Returning IPP server-error-internal-error for CUPS-Add-Modify-Printer (ipp://localhost/printers/HP_OfficeJet_5200_series) from localhost.

Next, I tried hp-setup, which was very quick to identify my printer and quickly take me through a few setup questions.  Unfortunately, at the end of the dialog, hp-setup failed.

root@aj-lt aj# hp-setup                                                                      
                                                                                               
HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.19.6)                                            
Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0                                                            
                                                                                              
Copyright (c) 2001-18 HP Development Company, LP                                              
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.                                               
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it                                   
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.                                   
                                                                                               
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-root'                     
Found device: hp:/net/OfficeJet_5200_series?ip=192.168.77.5                                    
error:  Printer queue setup failed.   Error : successful-ok-ignored-or-substituted-attributes  
                                                                                              
Done.              

I checked /var/log/cups/error-log after this attempt and only found:

 
E [22/Aug/2019:13:59:14 -0400] [Client 97] Returning IPP server-error-internal-error for CUPS-Add-Modify-Printer (ipp://localhost/printers/OfficeJet_5200) from localhost.

So, next I tried to use the lpadmin command to set up the printer.  First I found the drivers using lpinfo...

$ lpinfo -m | grep Office | grep 5200
drv:///hp/hpcups.drv/hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd HP Officejet 5200 Series, hpcups 3.19.6
lsb/usr/HP/hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd.gz HP Officejet 5200 Series, hpcups 3.19.6

Next, I issued the following command in a few variations, and each attempt failed.

$ sudo lpadmin -p HP_OfficeJet_5255 -v socket://192.168.77.5:9100  -P drv:///hp/hpcups.drv/hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd
lpadmin: Unable to open PPD "drv:///hp/hpcups.drv/hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd": Unable to open PPD file on line 0.

After trying to use lpadmin, I checked the error log again, but I found nothing new.

As far as config files are concerned, I did make an attempt to configure cupsd.conf and cups-files.conf.  However, after my many failed attempts to add a printer, I removed all of my configurations and reverted to defaults, just in case.  In order to do this, I used pacman -Rsn  (I believe that's was it was...) to completely remove the packages, and all of the configs, and then I reinstalled and restarted from scratch, but still without luck.

So, if any of you have some good troubleshooting ideas, I'm all ears!  Thanks in advance for your help!

-Andrew

Last edited by TerminalTapper (2019-08-24 20:24:55)


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#2 2019-08-23 14:19:56

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

UPDATE:

I finally grew tired of trying, and I'm using another OS for the time being...

If you have any ideas or solutions, please feel free to post them, but it's no longer urgent for me.  I might come back and try again, though, if anyone knows what I was doing wrong.  Who knows, perhaps someone else has this problem and would appreciate the help too.

-Andrew


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#3 2019-08-23 14:55:50

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,256

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

I'd say compare software versions and maybe cups configurations/active services between the systems. CUPS tends to have strange default configuration, which Arch by definition does not alter in the default package, and other distributions might.

Offline

#4 2019-08-23 17:58:46

merlock
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Are you a member of the lp and cups groups?


perl -e 'print$i=pack(c5,(41*2),sqrt(7056),(unpack(c,H)-2),oct(115),10); '

Offline

#5 2019-08-23 18:03:29

judd1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 219

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

There will be your file manager(nautilus, PCManFm, etc ..) and browse to /usr/share/ppd/HP

Find an approriate PPD zip package, in my case I took hp-officejet_g85.ppd.gz, and double-click to open the zip

Extract the PPD to your home directory (by lack of a better location, please advise!)

Connect printer via USB and turn it on

Open a terminal window and enter

sudo hp-setup -i

to start the HP Setup Utility

You’ll be asked
Enter number 0…2 for connection type (q=quit, enter=usb*) ?

Hit enter

Response will be depending your printer:
Using connection type: usb

Setting up device: hp:/usb/…?serial=…

Now wait a (in my case) long time for

Please enter a name for this print queue (m=use model name:’…’*, q=quit) ?

and enter the suggested name or any other you like and hit Enter again.

Now comes the error:
error: No PPD found for model … using old algorithm.
error: Unable to find an appropriate PPD file.

Would you like to specify the path to the correct PPD file to use (y=yes, n=no*, q=quit) ?

Type y to confirm and hit Enter.

Now type the full path and filename of the previously extracted PPD file after
Please enter the full filesystem path to the PPD file to use (q=quit) :

So in my case it looked like /home/myusername/hp-officejet_g85.ppd

Answer all remaining questions with a simple Enter and wait (again it might take a while) for the process to terminate.
By now you should have your HP printer listed under Configuration > Printers and a correctly printed test page in the printer tray .

Last edited by judd1 (2019-08-23 18:16:57)

Offline

#6 2019-08-23 20:48:46

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

merlock wrote:

Are you a member of the lp and cups groups?

I'm not sure, but you can bet I'll triple check on my next attempt.  Thanks for the idea.


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#7 2019-08-23 20:52:36

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

V1del wrote:

I'd say compare software versions and maybe cups configurations/active services between the systems. CUPS tends to have strange default configuration, which Arch by definition does not alter in the default package, and other distributions might.

I wondered about this.  I saw many differences between the configs pushed with other distros, and then with arch.  I might just copy over a conf file or two from my other pc on my next attempt.


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#8 2019-08-23 20:59:08

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

judd1 wrote:

There will be your file manager(nautilus, PCManFm, etc ..) and browse to /usr/share/ppd/HP

Find an approriate PPD zip package, in my case I took hp-officejet_g85.ppd.gz, and double-click to open the zip

Extract the PPD to your home directory (by lack of a better location, please advise!)

Connect printer via USB and turn it on

Open a terminal window and enter

sudo hp-setup -i

to start the HP Setup Utility

You’ll be asked
Enter number 0…2 for connection type (q=quit, enter=usb*) ?

Hit enter

Response will be depending your printer:
Using connection type: usb

Setting up device: hp:/usb/…?serial=…

Now wait a (in my case) long time for

Please enter a name for this print queue (m=use model name:’…’*, q=quit) ?

and enter the suggested name or any other you like and hit Enter again.

Now comes the error:
error: No PPD found for model … using old algorithm.
error: Unable to find an appropriate PPD file.

Would you like to specify the path to the correct PPD file to use (y=yes, n=no*, q=quit) ?

Type y to confirm and hit Enter.

Now type the full path and filename of the previously extracted PPD file after
Please enter the full filesystem path to the PPD file to use (q=quit) :

So in my case it looked like /home/myusername/hp-officejet_g85.ppd

Answer all remaining questions with a simple Enter and wait (again it might take a while) for the process to terminate.
By now you should have your HP printer listed under Configuration > Printers and a correctly printed test page in the printer tray .


Wow, thank you for taking the time to type out all of the detail for me.  This sounds like you're pretty confident! 

Ironically, I had already copied the ppd file to a sub-directory in my home and attempted to install it with lpadmin before I gave up, if only I had tried HP-Setup!  I will definitely try this next time I'm setting up my printer in arch.

Thanks again!


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#9 2019-08-24 05:17:30

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

UPDATE 2:

You all encouraged me, so I reinstalled Arch tonight in order to keep troubleshooting this problem some more, and I think we're making progress, too, but it's still not working, sadly. 

My system-config-printer app was telling me that the ppd is broken.  CUPS says that I have two printers, but displays zero.  And, HP device manager is showing the status of my printer, but causes it to go nuts and start spitting out pages everywhere if I try to print 1 test page. 

This is after I confirmed that I'm in the cups and lp groups,  unzipped the PPD myself using engrampa, chmod'ed it until anyone can do anything they like with it, and then pointed HP-Setup to it manually by typing out the complete path...

Ironically, despite my printing nonsense, XSANE is able to scan perfectly from the device, and wirelessly too!

Here's a link to the content of the ppd file in question:
https://pastebin.com/rJT9GE4C

I wonder if we can't just delete a few parts of the file and eliminate whatever is causing the problem. 

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

As a side note, while I was able to successfully install arch on a new partition again, os prober failed to find my other distro with the working printer....    So, now I really need to make this happen with the printer, or else I'm going to be troubleshooting my bootloader too.  smile

Thanks for the help everyone.  If anyone else has any ideas, please keep them coming!


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#10 2019-08-24 05:37:02

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Update 3:

I tried installing via the CUPS web interface again, but this time I told it that it was a local printer.  Then, I gave it the appropriate socket information, description, etc...

When it asked for the PPD, I gave it the one that I had extracted from the .gz file with engrapa, and I finally got a new error message!

Set Printer Options
Set Printer Options HP_OfficeJet_5255 Error
Unable to open PPD file:

Illegal option keyword string

Perhaps this is a hint about some keyword in the PPD becoming illegal with this version of cups or something... who knows?

Here's a link again to that PPD for anyone who knows anything about PPD files:  https://pastebin.com/rJT9GE4C

Thanks again all...   I'm not sure, but it feels like we might be getting closer.


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#11 2019-08-24 07:02:48

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Last update for tonight:

I'm booting all of my partitions again, so that's a relief!

Next I'm going to get some sleep, so if you reply, I may take a few hours to respond.

Tomorrow I'm going to compare the ppds and configs from my working cups/hplip distro, and the one that comes with Arch.  I know that this other distro that I have installed is on cups 2.2.11-2, and arch is using 2.2.12-1.  And, of course, the configs are a bit different.  But, wouldn't it be crazy if it was using a completely different ppd file?


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#12 2019-08-24 19:21:51

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Update:
As an experiment, I copied my /etc/cups folder from my manjaro installation to arch.
I made a backup, of course.
This seems to have configured the printer for me, but it still can't print.  So, I don't think the problem is in settings or configurations at all.  At least not in that folder...

I tried to print a test page, and cups showed an error about "filter failed".
/var/log/cups/error-log shows:

			[24/Aug/2019:14:21:51 -0400] Illegal option keyword string on line 198 of /etc/cups/ppd/HP_OfficeJet_5200_series.ppd.

I looked at those lines with Emacs, and it appears that they configure some custom settings... here are line 198 & 199:

line 198:  *PageSize Custom/Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
line 199:  *PageSize Custom.FB/Borderless Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"

So, unless I am mistaken, there appear to be changes in this version of cups that break my printer by considering these lines of the PPD file to be "illegal".

I tried to remove the lines, but alas, then cups said that my PPD file had been damaged.  Problems continued, even after restart.

Just to be sure, I ran a diff on most of the setting files in /etc/cups using diffuse, which is a nice program, by the way, if you haven't tried it...   To make a long story short, there really aren't any important changes to the configs, as far as I can tell, between my arch install and my other distro (Manjaro).  Manjaro seems to have added comments in the config file to make it easier to edit, but the settings were similar.

The main difference seems to be that arch is running a newer version of cups (v 2.2.12-2), when compared to Manjaro (v2.2.11-2).  So, perhaps there will be more people having these problems all over the world when they update cups.  Who knows?

I'm going to try to learn about PPD files and the CUPS API, but honestly, I'm not sure if I have enough time to turn myself into a printing specialist.  If you are reading this because you are a printing specialist and/or CUPS programmer, please help a brother out!

Thanks again everyone for all of your help and recommendations so far!

-Andrew


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#13 2019-08-24 19:30:48

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 8,436

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

If you substitute 'Custom' for something else e.g. 'Other' on those two lines does that work?

Offline

#14 2019-08-24 20:03:17

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

loqs wrote:

If you substitute 'Custom' for something else e.g. 'Other' on those two lines does that work?

As a matter of fact, things seem to go much differently without the word "Custom"  I had about 6 places where I had to replace it on the left side of the lines, which appear to be assignment statements of some sort...   ( I used the word "Other" in place of "Custom", as you reccommended).

Unfortunately, now I have a new error in the /var/log/cups/error-log:

[24/Aug/2019:15:55:11 -0400] [Job 5] Unable to open raster stream - : Broken pipe
E [24/Aug/2019:15:57:34 -0400] [Job 6] Failed to open PPD: /etc/cups/ppd/HP_OfficeJet_5200_series.ppd
E [24/Aug/2019:15:57:34 -0400] [Job 6] Unable to open raster stream - : Broken pipe

... and test page didn't print.

I wonder, though, if this isn't because I changed the PPD in the /etc/cups/ppd folder without modifying the object code file...   Might this work if I reinstall from scratch using the modified PPD?

I might give it a try and post results.  If you have any other ideas for me based on the error messages, please feel free to share in the meantime. 

THANKS!


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#15 2019-08-24 20:12:39

judd1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 219

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

In case you have all these packages installed ?

cups cups-filters cups-pdf ghostscript gsfonts foomatic-db-engine foomatic-db foomatic-db-ppds foomatic-db-nonfree foomatic-db-nonfree-ppds gutenprint foomatic-db-gutenprint-ppds system-config-printer

I have cups enabled like this:

sudo systemctl start org.cups.cupsd.socket
sudo systemctl enable org.cups.cupsd.socket

Offline

#16 2019-08-24 20:21:39

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

IT WORKS!

Thank you LOQS, and judd1, and merlock, and V1del !!!

The solution was to replace the word "Custom" from the left side of those assignment statements or declarations, or whatever they are, and then reinstall the printer using the modified PPD.  Also, I did restart the service too, but I'm not sure if that was necessary or not.

I can't believe it, though!  I really thought I wasn't going to get to use arch as my OS because of this, but you all helped me out!  And, we also learned something that we can share if we see this become widespread.  I suppose we might want to tell whoever makes the PPD files for hplip.   

As a side note, I'm so new around here that I don't know how to mark this as solved yet...  I'm looking around.

Thanks again, everyone!  I've never been so happy to print!

-Andrew


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#17 2019-08-24 20:24:19

judd1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 219

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Edit the title of your first post and put [SOLVED] → .....

Last edited by judd1 (2019-08-24 20:24:59)

Offline

#18 2019-08-24 20:27:12

TerminalTapper
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2019-08-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

judd1 wrote:

Edit the title of your first post and put [SOLVED] → .....

Thanks!  It took me too long to figure that out, lol!  I think I'm tired smile


-TerminalTapper

Pseudo-anonymous indoors enthusiast, programmer, and arch linux newbie .

Offline

#19 2019-09-03 18:54:02

AntiComposite
Member
Registered: 2019-09-03
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Same printer, same issue, same fix. For those who will inevitably come behind us, here's the patch for the ppd file:

--- hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd.old	2019-09-03 14:43:33.779801711 -0400
+++ hp-officejet_5200_series.ppd	2019-09-03 14:35:37.133917171 -0400
@@ -195,8 +195,8 @@
 *PageSize B5/B5: "<</cupsInteger0 65/PageSize [498.72 708.48]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageSize JB5/JB5: "<</cupsInteger0 45/PageSize [515.76 728.4]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageSize JB5.FB/Borderless JB5: "<</cupsInteger0 45/PageSize [515.76 728.4]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
-*PageSize Custom/Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
-*PageSize Custom.FB/Borderless Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
+*PageSize Other/Other: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
+*PageSize Other.FB/Borderless Other: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize [612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageSize Envelope#10/Envelope #10: "<</cupsInteger0 81/PageSize [296.88 684]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageSize EnvelopeA2/Envelope A2: "<</cupsInteger0 109/PageSize [314.88 414]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageSize EnvelopeC5/Envelope C5: "<</cupsInteger0 91/PageSize [459.12 648.96]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
@@ -255,8 +255,8 @@
 *PageRegion B5/B5: "<</cupsInteger0 65/PageSize[498.72 708.48]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageRegion JB5/JB5: "<</cupsInteger0 45/PageSize[515.76 728.4]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageRegion JB5.FB/Borderless JB5: "<</cupsInteger0 45/PageSize[515.76 728.4]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
-*PageRegion Custom/Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
-*PageRegion Custom.FB/Borderless Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
+*PageRegion Other/Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
+*PageRegion Other.FB/Borderless Custom: "<</cupsInteger0 101/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageRegion Envelope#10/Envelope #10: "<</cupsInteger0 81/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageRegion EnvelopeA2/Envelope A2: "<</cupsInteger0 109/PageSize[612 1008]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
 *PageRegion EnvelopeC5/Envelope C5: "<</cupsInteger0 91/PageSize[459.12 648.96]/ImagingBBox null>>setpagedevice"
@@ -313,8 +313,8 @@
 *ImageableArea B5/B5: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 490.320007324219 700.079956054688"
 *ImageableArea JB5/JB5: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 507.360015869141 720"
 *ImageableArea JB5.FB/Borderless JB5: "0 0 515.760009765625 728.400024414062"
-*ImageableArea Custom/Custom: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 603.599975585938 999.599975585938"
-*ImageableArea Custom.FB/Borderless Custom: "0 0 612 1008"
+*ImageableArea Other/Custom: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 603.599975585938 999.599975585938"
+*ImageableArea Other.FB/Borderless Custom: "0 0 612 1008"
 *ImageableArea Envelope#10/Envelope #10: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 288.480010986328 675.599975585938"
 *ImageableArea EnvelopeA2/Envelope A2: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 306.480010986328 405.600006103516"
 *ImageableArea EnvelopeC5/Envelope C5: "8.39999961853 8.39999961853 450.720001220703 640.559997558594"
@@ -370,8 +370,8 @@
 *PaperDimension B5/B5: "498.720001220703 708.47998046875"
 *PaperDimension JB5/JB5: "515.760009765625 728.400024414062"
 *PaperDimension JB5.FB/Borderless JB5: "515.760009765625 728.400024414062"
-*PaperDimension Custom/Custom: "612 1008"
-*PaperDimension Custom.FB/Borderless Custom: "612 1008"
+*PaperDimension Other/Custom: "612 1008"
+*PaperDimension Other.FB/Borderless Custom: "612 1008"
 *PaperDimension Envelope#10/Envelope #10: "296.880004882812 684"
 *PaperDimension EnvelopeA2/Envelope A2: "314.880004882812 414"
 *PaperDimension EnvelopeC5/Envelope C5: "459.119995117188 648.960021972656"

Offline

#20 2019-09-08 12:12:59

vassilis
Member
Registered: 2019-09-08
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

Guys you are awesome!
This has worked for me as well, commenting out all "Custom" entries from the .ppd, for a HP-officejet_pro_7740 printer.

Thanx a lot for working this out.

Last edited by vassilis (2019-09-08 12:16:06)

Offline

#21 2019-09-11 17:52:51

JackSchnippes
Member
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]new arch install, can't add printer to cups

THANKS! :-)

Worked for my old Brother DCP-330c! Replaced the "Custom" with "Other". Only had to fix one line. Works like a charm.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB