You are not logged in.

#1 2006-09-07 08:33:47

qylvaran
Member
Registered: 2006-07-27
Posts: 46

Incorrect Resolution OUTSIDE of X

My laptop is an eMachines m2350 (hardware specs).  X defaults to using my monitor's 1280x800 native resolution, but the normal console uses something else (probably 1024x768 or 800x600) which looks stretched and blocky.

It has been this way since I got the thing, but I would really like to fix it, so I can try giving up X for a while.

I've attempted altering /boot/grub/menu.lst to add video=radeonfb and video=radeonfb:1280x800-16@60...(stuff I forgot and can't find the website for).  I've also tried adding vga=0x31E, which someone on the Ubuntu forums said worked for them.  I'm pretty sure I'm going about this the wrong way somehow, but I'm stuck on what else to try.  I'd love suggestions.

Offline

#2 2006-09-07 08:47:48

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: Incorrect Resolution OUTSIDE of X

3 things you could try:

1. Try video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1280x800-16@60
2. Try video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-16@60
3. Try kernel26beyond with the above or with radeonfb


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#3 2006-09-07 11:23:09

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: Incorrect Resolution OUTSIDE of X

Sigi wrote:

3 things you could try:

1. Try video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1280x800-16@60
2. Try video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-16@60
3. Try kernel26beyond with the above or with radeonfb

1 and 2 are interesting only in kernel26beyond, since those parameters are acceoted by vesafb only in the tng flavour, shich is present only in the beyond kernel. With traditional vesafb you have to use the vga parameter.

In general I am not sure if your resolution can be used with vesafb (but your result should be quite good with 1024*768, so you could try with a parameter as vga=791).

I am not using radeonfb now (in order to use it you need to compile your own kernel), but, when I was using it, it simply took the settings from the bios, ignoring the boot parameters. However, if your bios is not buggish, then this could be the best solution.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#4 2006-09-09 21:27:17

qylvaran
Member
Registered: 2006-07-27
Posts: 46

Re: Incorrect Resolution OUTSIDE of X

Okay, thanks for the tips.  I'm going to have to wait on the beyond kernel until the issues with madwifi get worked out, but once they do, I know I'll have a nice, un-cramped display to work with.

Meanwhile, does anyone know where I can get some nice console fonts?  Cybercafe is a little weird for me, and Terminus gives me errors when I try to switch to it with setfont.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB