You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-08 13:39:22

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

[SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

So I recently moved out from one place to another and took my PC with me. The first day I connected the ethernet to my PC the internet was very slow, but worked, next time I booted the internet was gone. I also have an arch Linux on my laptop and it works without any problem through both wifi and ethernet cable.

ethtool enp3s0
Link detected: No 
dmesg | grep r8169
Link is Down
Link is Up - 1Gbps/Full - flow control rx/tx
Link is Up - 1Gbps/Full - flow control off
Link is Down
ip link
enp3s0: <NO CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000

Last edited by svalee (2019-09-20 11:12:04)

Offline

#2 2019-09-08 13:45:25

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 22,270
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

What have you done to connect?  What networking service(s) are you using?  What errors do they produce?  Why is that alleged dmesg output not actually dmesg output?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2019-09-08 13:57:39

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Possibly related: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=248915 - please post the complete journal.

Offline

#4 2019-09-08 14:52:44

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

What have you done to connect?  What networking service(s) are you using?  What errors do they produce?  Why is that alleged dmesg output not actually dmesg output?

I'm connecting via NetworkManager. I also tried to connect like this:

sudo ip link set dev enp3s0 up
dhcpcd enp3s0

But this just gives me a timeout.

Here's the pic of the NetworkManager status
https://ibb.co/QNc4q8x

Actual dmesg output:
https://ibb.co/m54vpF4

Offline

#5 2019-09-08 14:59:35

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,056

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Please do not post images of text instead post the actual text.  Please also do not grep outputs but post the full output.

Offline

#6 2019-09-08 15:00:10

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

please post the complete journal

Not sure how to do that without an internet connection, maybe there is something specific to search in the journal so that I can find it and send only that?

Last edited by svalee (2019-09-08 15:02:29)

Offline

#7 2019-09-08 15:01:21

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Please do not post images of text instead post the actual text.  Please also do not grep outputs but post the full output.

I don't get it, you want me to retype everything?
I don't have the internet.

Offline

#8 2019-09-08 15:23:35

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,056

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

svalee wrote:

I also have an arch Linux on my laptop and it works without any problem through both wifi and ethernet cable.

Redirect the command's output to a file.  Copy the file to the laptop.  Post the contents of the file to a pastebin.

Offline

#9 2019-09-08 22:58:16

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Wait yeah, I'm really dumb, sorry.

Here's the output of journalctl -b
http://dpaste.com/2GMFGE0

dmesg
http://dpaste.com/0N3KJCH

NetworkManager
http://dpaste.com/26XMPHN

ip link
http://dpaste.com/3N88BJV

Offline

#10 2019-09-09 07:17:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

The link goes down everytime the dhcp request is made.

1. try to use this driver for the chip (install the package)
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/comm … _64/r8168/

2. try a different dhcp client
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … HCP_client

Offline

#11 2019-09-09 09:00:09

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Thanks, I'll try it today. Also, I think it might be related. I installed windows 10 recently. I installed it on a separate hard drive, but I noticed that my Postgres server and sometimes docker isn't working.

Last edited by svalee (2019-09-09 09:04:50)

Offline

#12 2019-09-09 15:19:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Offline

#13 2019-09-09 20:08:45

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Yeah, I've looked into this already when you posted it for the first time, I don't have such an option in the windows menu, but I run this command in windows terminal:

powercfg /h off

As mentioned here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NT … d_to_mount

I also installed the driver that you suggested and dhclient without any success.

New logs:

dmesg:
http://dpaste.com/0RA3VVF

journal:
http://dpaste.com/1JSEB85

NetworkManager:

● NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
  Drop-In: /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.d
           └─NetworkManager-ovs.conf
   Active: active (running) since Tue 2019-09-10 01:56:57 EEST; 5min ago
     Docs: man:NetworkManager(8)
 Main PID: 424 (NetworkManager)
    Tasks: 3 (limit: 4915)
   Memory: 19.2M
   CGroup: /system.slice/NetworkManager.service
           └─424 /usr/bin/NetworkManager --no-daemon

Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2003] device (br-cbd0550f4497): state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'external')
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2011] device (br-cbd0550f4497): Activation: successful, device activated.
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2785] manager: (veth44d0a23): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/8)
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2792] manager: (veth01e25ae): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/9)
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2888] manager: (veth9c7b590): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/10)
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.2900] manager: (veth472c9e8): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/11)
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.3743] device (veth472c9e8): released from master device br-2cfbe0bb1ad9
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.7931] device (veth01e25ae): carrier: link connected
Sep 10 01:56:59 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069819.7936] device (br-ad0c2feb46a6): carrier: link connected
Sep 10 01:57:10 halee NetworkManager[424]: <info>  [1568069830.1457] agent-manager: req[0x5604108d51c0, :1.37/org.kde.plasma.networkmanagement/1000]: agent registered

ip link

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: br-d1132a5bc3ee: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:af:7e:20:ed brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: br-1d8f585e6228: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:4b:ac:d2:9e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: br-2cfbe0bb1ad9: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:41:25:e7:9f brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
5: docker0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:d5:ae:bd:5e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
6: br-ad0c2feb46a6: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:96:39:a4:a6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
7: br-cbd0550f4497: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:59:7f:f1:84 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
9: veth01e25ae@if8: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue master br-ad0c2feb46a6 state UP mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 36:1c:11:79:b4:cc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff link-netnsid 0

Offline

#14 2019-09-10 06:57:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

The ethernet device is now completely gone and there's barely messages from r8168 (the virtual interface is some tethered phone?)
What's the output of "lspci -nn"? (Ie. what exactly is that chip)

Edit: in case you only tried to replace the dhcp client on the r8168 module, please try again after removing the module and regaining an ethernet interface.

Last edited by seth (2019-09-10 06:58:22)

Offline

#15 2019-09-10 22:39:09

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

I've removed the r8168 module without any success.

At this point, I'm pretty sure it's windows fault, but I don't know why. Will formatting the windows partition solve the problem? If you don't have any more ideas I'll try it tomorrow.

Here's the output of lspci -nn

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller [8086:0100] (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 [8086:1c3a] (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1c2d] (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1c10] (rev b4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:1c12] (rev b4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:1c14] (rev b4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge [8086:244e] (rev b4)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 [8086:1c18] (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1c26] (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation H67 Express Chipset LPC Controller [8086:1c4a] (rev 04)
00:1f.2 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family Desktop SATA Controller (IDE mode, ports 0-3) [8086:1c00] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1c22] (rev 04)
00:1f.5 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family Desktop SATA Controller (IDE mode, ports 4-5) [8086:1c08] (rev 04)
02:00.0 USB controller [0c03]: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller [1033:0194] (rev 03)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
04:00.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Integrated Technology Express, Inc. IT8892E PCIe to PCI Bridge [1283:8892] (rev 10)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GM206 [GeForce GTX 950] [10de:1402] (rev a1)
06:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GM206 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0fba] (rev a1)

I think dmsg is now the same:
http://dpaste.com/36JWG9C

journal
http://dpaste.com/1HNN4A3

NetworkManager:

● NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
  Drop-In: /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.d
           └─NetworkManager-ovs.conf
   Active: active (running) since Wed 2019-09-11 04:28:07 EEST; 1min 44s ago
     Docs: man:NetworkManager(8)
 Main PID: 415 (NetworkManager)
    Tasks: 3 (limit: 4915)
   Memory: 23.0M
   CGroup: /system.slice/NetworkManager.service
           └─415 /usr/bin/NetworkManager --no-daemon

Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.5158] device (br-d1132a5bc3ee): state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'external')
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.5169] device (br-d1132a5bc3ee): Activation: successful, device activated.
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.6219] manager: (veth268e2f4): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/9)
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.6226] manager: (vethc42a00a): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/10)
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.6350] manager: (veth220befa): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/11)
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.6357] manager: (veth0812ab0): new Veth device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/12)
Sep 11 04:28:18 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165298.7282] device (veth0812ab0): released from master device br-2cfbe0bb1ad9
Sep 11 04:28:19 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165299.1629] device (vethc42a00a): carrier: link connected
Sep 11 04:28:19 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165299.1635] device (br-ad0c2feb46a6): carrier: link connected
Sep 11 04:28:25 halee NetworkManager[415]: <info>  [1568165305.3188] agent-manager: req[0x558de0be74d0, :1.38/org.kde.plasma.networkmanagement/1000]: agent registered

ip link

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp3s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 1c:6f:65:88:2e:fb brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: br-1d8f585e6228: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:2c:fc:8f:4e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: br-2cfbe0bb1ad9: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:b5:4b:1b:e2 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
5: docker0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:fb:57:8e:95 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
6: br-ad0c2feb46a6: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:f7:e4:0d:10 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
7: br-cbd0550f4497: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:4a:9a:f1:54 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
8: br-d1132a5bc3ee: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether 02:42:4e:dc:16:af brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
10: vethc42a00a@if9: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue master br-ad0c2feb46a6 state UP mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/ether ce:dd:e0:f4:7b:ee brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff link-netnsid 0

Offline

#16 2019-09-11 08:12:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Same procedure, the dhcp request gets you disconnected.
a) restart the router (pull/wait/plug power if there's no reboot option)
b) is there perhaps a mac filter on the router?

DO NOT blindly purge windows - if it somehow left the NIC in an undefined state (hibernating) the hibernated system is your single best chance to fix that.

Offline

#17 2019-09-11 08:39:42

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

I've restarted the router but it didn't help. The router doesn't have mac filters too.

Offline

#18 2019-09-11 13:34:31

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Disable NM, reboot.

Run "ip a" and post the output.

Bring the interface up

sudo ip link set enp3s0 up

Run "ip a" again and post the output.

Try dhclient directly (and in foreground through "-d", don't cancel it)

sudo dhclient -d enp3s0

Run "ip a" again and post the output as well as whatever dhclient produced.

Feel free to "ping 8.8.8.8" afterwards.

Offline

#19 2019-09-11 20:00:39

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

That's weird. When I disabled network manager and did whatever you said everything is working. Do you have any ideas why?

Here's the first ip a
http://dpaste.com/1QC0Z9E

Second
http://dpaste.com/2V4HP4G

Third:
http://dpaste.com/1ZPMQAR

dhclient:

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.4.1
Copyright 2004-2018 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/enp3s0/1c:6f:65:88:2e:fb
Sending on   LPF/enp3s0/1c:6f:65:88:2e:fb
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on enp3s0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
DHCPOFFER of 192.168.1.148 from 192.168.1.1
DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.1.148 on enp3s0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK of 192.168.1.148 from 192.168.1.1
bound to 192.168.1.148 -- renewal in 32741 seconds.

Last edited by svalee (2019-09-11 20:01:21)

Offline

#20 2019-09-11 20:07:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

NM stumbling over docker (and I assume docker is also what creates the bridge devices)?

Try to
a) keep NM disabled but start the service later on
b) disable docker and re-enable docker

Offline

#21 2019-09-11 20:41:47

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Before I left my previous post I disabled postgresql.service and installed enabled ntp and now I can't boot. I also updated my system.

Docker just won't start and it has no limits until it's failed. Another service fails to start is Load/Save Random Seed, but it has a timeout.

Offline

#22 2019-09-11 23:48:42

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Okay, so I randomly managed to boot. Network Manager was disabled, I started it after boot and it doesn't work. I temporarily disabled docker at all, because it's very annoying.

Edit:
Network Manager status:

● NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
  Drop-In: /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.d
           └─NetworkManager-ovs.conf
   Active: active (running) since Thu 2019-09-12 05:46:31 EEST; 1min 57s ago
     Docs: man:NetworkManager(8)
 Main PID: 808 (NetworkManager)
    Tasks: 3
   Memory: 12.8M
   CGroup: /system.slice/NetworkManager.service
           └─808 /usr/bin/NetworkManager --no-daemon

Sep 12 05:46:50 halee dhclient[822]: DHCPDISCOVER on enp3s0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
Sep 12 05:46:52 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256412.3645] device (enp3s0): carrier: link connected
Sep 12 05:46:53 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256413.9372] device (enp3s0): carrier: link connected
Sep 12 05:47:00 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256420.2285] device (enp3s0): carrier: link connected
Sep 12 05:47:02 halee dhclient[822]: DHCPDISCOVER on enp3s0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
Sep 12 05:47:07 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256427.2440] device (enp3s0): state change: ip-config -> unavailable (reason 'carrier-changed', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
Sep 12 05:47:07 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256427.2765] dhcp4 (enp3s0): canceled DHCP transaction, DHCP client pid 822
Sep 12 05:47:07 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256427.2765] dhcp4 (enp3s0): state changed unknown -> done
Sep 12 05:47:07 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256427.2789] manager: NetworkManager state is now DISCONNECTED
Sep 12 05:47:07 halee NetworkManager[808]: <info>  [1568256427.2795] manager: startup complete

Last edited by svalee (2019-09-11 23:51:29)

Offline

#23 2019-09-12 06:35:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Try whether the approach from comment #18 works reliably and/or substitute NM w/ dhcpcd (which however has slightly different behavior than dhclient, but that's configurable and might provide more insight)
If it wasn't a fluke, consider swapping out NM for dhcpcd entirely (notably since you don't seem to have a WiFi device)

Offline

#24 2019-09-12 08:39:31

svalee
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

That would work probably, but that's would be half measure. I mean it's impossible to work with services not coming up or taking 10 minutes to start/fail not to mention docker which can start after 10 minutes of booting or never start at all.
NetworkManager is a service too, so it could be related, right?

Offline

#25 2019-09-12 14:14:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 12,894

Re: [SOLVED] Internet on new router doesn't work

Your journal doesn't inidcate any of this but there're active threads about a systemd 243 SNAFU regarding systemd-random-seed.service, see https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=249036 and check your current  journal.
This would be unrelated to the previous/present networking issues since they're are not about NM not starting, the connection gets simply cut as soon as NM attempts a dhcp request.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB