You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-23 21:14:29

Catlover8695
Member
Registered: 2019-09-04
Posts: 4

Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

I had simlinked my initial pacman cache being dumb.
I upgraded pacman to 5.2.0 it deleted my simlink and now it's broken. I have no pacman or makepkg command.
I went in with the arch ISO and mounted my partitions to try to repair pacman. When I ran
pacman --sysroot /mnt -Syu it syncs the databases but doesn't upgrade anything.
find /mnt/usr/lib -size 0
returns a bunch of files. I run
pacman --sysroot /mnt -Syu pacman
It offers to reinstall pacman.
However when I say yes, it says could not open file /etc/mtab not a file or dir
Couldn't determine filesystem mount points
And doesn't install anything.
Help would be much appreciated.

Offline

#2 2019-10-23 21:22:22

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,314

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

change the pacman config on the ISO, remove CheckSpace, then it should let you reinstall it from there.

Offline

#3 2019-10-23 21:28:05

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,903
Website

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

and look into pacman.conf to change paths in the future.

Offline

#4 2019-10-23 22:06:28

Catlover8695
Member
Registered: 2019-09-04
Posts: 4

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

I removed checkspace in pacman.conf.  It downloaded the files, but it gives me a bunch of lines of the same error.
error: GPME error: invalid crypto engine
It then says package is missing required signature and then asked if I want to delete it for each package. How do I get gpg working again?

Last edited by Catlover8695 (2019-10-23 22:18:04)

Offline

#5 2019-10-23 23:23:01

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,074

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

Please post the full command and its output.  Also is the command being run from the installed system,  the live media before chroot,  live media chrooted to the installation e.t.c.?

Last edited by loqs (2019-10-23 23:23:24)

Offline

#6 2019-10-23 23:50:06

Catlover8695
Member
Registered: 2019-09-04
Posts: 4

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

This is not in a chroot environment in the default arch iso env.
Command:
pacman --sysroot /mnt -Syu pacman
Output:
error: GPGME error: Invalid crypto engine
error: <package>: missing required signature
File package.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
And an option to delete it. I have tried a different https mirror. Horrible security hygene but is it possible to force it to use it anyway?

Offline

#7 2019-10-23 23:59:28

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,074

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

pacman --debug --sysroot /mnt -Syu pacman &> debug.log

Please post the generated debug.log. See the tip box from pastebin to upload the file from the live media.

Offline

#8 2019-10-24 02:03:59

Catlover8695
Member
Registered: 2019-09-04
Posts: 4

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

Here is the output of

pacman --debug --noconfirm --sysroot /mnt -Syu pacman &> debug.log

https://pastebin.com/TipPwjHp

Offline

#9 2019-10-29 12:42:47

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,074

Re: Broken pacman 5.2.0 install after pacman cache simlink

What if you use

pacman --debug --noconfirm --root /mnt -Syu pacman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB