You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-03 15:59:26

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

[SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

I need help. I've already go through all the tips and tricks from the following sources:
1. Installation guide
2. Xorg
3. KDE
4. NVIDIA
5. NVIDIA Optimus
6. NVIDIA/Tips and tricks
7. NVIDIA/Troubleshooting
8. This forum topic

and I've run out of ideas :-(

I have a laptop - MSI GT75 Titan 8RG with the following, relevant to this topic, specs:
1.  CPU - Intel Core i7-8750H, which according to Intel's website should have

Intel's UHD Graphics 630. The funny thing is, that this integrated GPU, if it's truly present, could not be detected under Windows 10 (using HWiNFO64), nor under Linux with the command lspci | grep VGA - see below.
2. GPU - nVidia GeForce GTX 1080

https://i.ibb.co/gJ6xwzS/20191103-154619.jpg

I have installed basic Arch according to wiki topics above, and then Xorg (packages: xorg, xorg-server,  xorg-apps), nVidia proprietary driver (nvidia, nvidia-utils), KDE Plasma DE (plasma-meta) and some additional packages.
After I've installed X server, I used the command Xorg :0 -configure to generate basic xorg.conf.

When trying to start X server, I got this

$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

so I did some tricks described in wiki articles mentioned above, including
1. generating new xorg.cong with nvidia-xconfig command
2. adding some options to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
Option "RegistryDwords" "EnableBrightnessControl=1"

*tried different setting in "ConnectedMonitor" setting - DFP, DFP-1, an even TV-1 according to this info:

https://i.ibb.co/2cCKt8L/SSS.jpg

and to /etc/modprobe.d/nvidia.conf

options nvidia-drm modeset=1
options nvidia NVreg_UsePageAttributeTable=1
options nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="OverrideMaxPerf=0x1"

3. blacklisting Intel's GPU (just in case) in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

install i915 /usr/bin/false
install intel_agp /usr/bin/false

4. adding BusID variable in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia.conf

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Nothing of the above helped with the error. Am I missing something?

P.S. The forum won't let mi publish Xorg.0.log.

/etc/X11/xorg.conf

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 435.21


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "TV-1"
    VendorName     "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName      "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Card0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Mod Edit - Replaced oversized images with links.
CoC - Pasting pictures and code

Last edited by Zibi1981 (2019-11-04 22:16:19)


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#2 2019-11-03 16:36:21

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,798

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Why is this a mixture of screenshots of text and actual text? Please post everything as text. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code

You are trying to do too much. How exactly do you try to start the xorg server? Remove all of these config files, they aren't needed for attempting basic functionality. If your xorg log is too big, post it to some external pastebin and link that here.

Offline

#3 2019-11-03 16:44:37

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,446

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Is the integrated GPU enabled in your firmware?


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#4 2019-11-03 17:04:29

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

V1del wrote:

You are trying to do too much. How exactly do you try to start the xorg server? Remove all of these config files, they aren't needed for attempting basic functionality. If your xorg log is too big, post it to some external pastebin and link that here.

Well, at first I tried to just start X server without configuring anything, with just xorg and nvidia drivers installed, but it was all the same or almost the same. I use command

startplasma -X11

as startx was not found (deprecated?).

My Xorg.0.log - > https://pastebin.com/8VRHW1fr

Slithery wrote:

Is the integrated GPU enabled in your firmware?

There is no option to enable/disable integrated GPU in my laptop's UEFI settings.

Last edited by Zibi1981 (2019-11-03 17:06:58)


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#5 2019-11-03 17:29:48

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 556
Website

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

startplasma-x11 is meant to act on an X server, it does not start one for you. That's why you get the error you get.

My advise (actually, V1del's advise): remove all those config files you probably (hopefully) won't need, and read The Starting Plasma Section. startx and xinit are definitely not deprecated, see the Xinit article linked in the previous section.

Last edited by Steef435 (2019-11-03 17:30:32)

Offline

#6 2019-11-03 17:37:26

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,446

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Zibi1981 wrote:

as startx was not found (deprecated?).

It's not depreciated, did you actually install it?


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#7 2019-11-03 17:48:20

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Steef435 wrote:

startplasma-x11 is meant to act on an X server, it does not start one for you. That's why you get the error you get.

My advise (actually, V1del's advise): remove all those config files you probably (hopefully) won't need, and read The Starting Plasma Section. startx and xinit are definitely not deprecated, see the Xinit article linked in the previous section.

Well here's what I read under the links you provided

From the console
To start Plasma with xinit/startx, append exec startplasma-x11 to your .xinitrc file. If you want to start Xorg at login, please see Start X at login.

Tried that too - no success.

Slithery wrote:
Zibi1981 wrote:

as startx was not found (deprecated?).

It's not depreciated, did you actually install it?

What do you mean? Which package?


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#8 2019-11-03 17:55:14

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,119
Website

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Zibi1981 wrote:
Slithery wrote:
Zibi1981 wrote:

as startx was not found (deprecated?).

It's not depreciated, did you actually install it?

What do you mean? Which package?

If only this were documented somwhere so that people didn't have to expect to have their hand held for basic tasks like this...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinit#Installation


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#9 2019-11-03 17:56:22

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,446

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#10 2019-11-03 18:19:28

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

jasonwryan wrote:

If only this were documented somwhere so that people didn't have to expect to have their hand held for basic tasks like this...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinit#Installation

Well, it is quite poorly documented - one end up with a cascade of links, and for fairly simple tasks you need to do a couple of days reading and eventually end up with lots of mess in your notes...

No I did not install xorg-xinit package, but did install it's replacement - sx, and the result is still the same as without it

[   196.021] (WW) Failed to open protocol names file lib/xorg/protocol.txt
[   196.022] 
X.Org X Server 1.20.5
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
[   196.024] Build Operating System: Linux Arch Linux
[   196.024] Current Operating System: Linux Arch 5.3.8-arch1-1 #1 SMP PREEMPT @1572357769 x86_64
[   196.024] Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=db1fd987-b691-d501-c005-d987b691d501 rw loglevel=3 quiet splash
[   196.026] Build Date: 25 October 2019  08:43:50AM
[   196.026]  
[   196.027] Current version of pixman: 0.38.4
[   196.028] 	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
[   196.028] Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[   196.031] (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.1.log", Time: Sun Nov  3 19:53:20 2019
[   196.032] (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
[   196.033] (==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
[   196.033] (==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
[   196.034] Parse error on line 1 of section Device in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf
	"Option" is not a valid keyword in this section.
[   196.035] (EE) Problem parsing the config file
[   196.035] (EE) Error parsing the config file
[   196.035] (EE) 
Fatal server error:
[   196.036] (EE) no screens found(EE) 
[   196.037] (EE) 
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support 
	 at http://wiki.x.org
 for help. 
[   196.039] (EE) Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.1.log" for additional information.
[   196.040] (EE) 
[   196.041] (EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.

"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#11 2019-11-03 18:26:23

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,798

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

sx is not "it's replacement" and especially not for someone that is not as experienced yet. Remove your xorg configurations (the provided xorg log directly shows that you have an additional, not yet disclosed /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf which has wrong syntax, but again none of this is needed), install xorg-xinit, follow the xinitrc instructions (don't forget copying the template file) adjust it to start plasma.

Last edited by V1del (2019-11-03 18:36:52)

Offline

#12 2019-11-03 18:37:04

10PinkPanther
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 350

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

It's off topic but I have to say it:there are some good people here that will help.You'll know them by the number of their posts and I stand behind my words.

Offline

#13 2019-11-03 18:38:13

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

V1del wrote:

sx is not "it's replacement" and especially not for someone that is not as experienced yet. Remove your xorg configurations (the provided xorg log directly shows that you have an additional, not yet disclosed /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf which has wrong syntax, but again none of this is needed), install xorg-xinit, follow the xinitrc instructions (don't forget copying the template file) adjust it to start plasma.

OK, I do that and report back later, but as I said, it was the same without those additional config files.


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#14 2019-11-03 18:44:10

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,798

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

The error you initially posted about, likely, because as already established startplasma-x11 does not start a xorg server. The error we see now is direct proof of an issue with a configuration file. (FWIW the intermediary xorg log you posted showed a successful and proper xorg start, just that it didn't get anything to do and immediately stopped)

Also to preempt this, should it "not work" once you've done the relevant adjustment post your resulting ~/.xinitrc

Last edited by V1del (2019-11-03 18:52:23)

Offline

#15 2019-11-03 21:15:49

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

OK, so I did as advised

1. First deleted all the additional config files, that is

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia.conf 
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
/etc/modprobe.d/nvidia.conf

2. Deleted also /etc/X11/xorg.conf

3. Configured xinitrc by

cp /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc ~/.xinitrc

and added to the bottom

exec startplasma-x11

So my ~/.xinitrc file looks like this (BTW I wonder if I should comment out the part with "# start some nice programs"?)

#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then







    xrdb -merge $sysresources

fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then







    xrdb -merge "$userresources"

fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

twm &
xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login

exec startplasma-x11

4. Afterwards I finally did this - the wiki states this is for X login at startup

cp /etc/skel/.bash_profile ~/.bash_profile

and added

if systemctl -q is-active graphical.target && [[ ! $DISPLAY && $XDG_VTNR -eq 1 ]]; then
  exec startx
fi

After rebooting the system I ended in console. When logged in as root I was able to run KDE with startplasma-X11 command, but when logged as a regular user I ended up with

xauth: timeout in locking authority file /home/zbyszek/.Xauthority

After 3 repeats of the same phrase, the screen turned black and I had to change console to be able to do anything.

Last edited by Zibi1981 (2019-11-03 21:16:23)


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#16 2019-11-03 21:36:54

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,119
Website

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Wiki wrote:

Then edit the file and replace the default programs with desired commands. Remember that lines following a command using exec would be ignored.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#17 2019-11-03 21:47:50

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

jasonwryan wrote:
Wiki wrote:

Then edit the file and replace the default programs with desired commands. Remember that lines following a command using exec would be ignored.

Not sure to which part of my previous post are you referring to. Could you be more specific?


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#18 2019-11-03 21:50:33

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,077

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

The quote is from Xinit#xinitrc.

Offline

#19 2019-11-03 21:53:00

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

I noticed that already, but which part of my  ~/.xinitrc file should I edit and how to avoid the error?

Is there someone that really want to help, not throwing up some mysterious riddles in bold?

Last edited by Zibi1981 (2019-11-03 21:53:18)


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#20 2019-11-03 21:53:59

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,798

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Check the permissions on that .xauthority file, it should be owned by your user.

You have two exec lines, you can comment the entire twm and xclock block in your .xinitrc (the sourcing and the if block should remain). This doesn't have anything to do with riddles, we point out things to help you understand what kind of things constitute which effect.

Last edited by V1del (2019-11-03 21:56:38)

Offline

#21 2019-11-03 21:57:25

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,077

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Zibi1981 wrote:

3. Configured xinitrc by

cp /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc ~/.xinitrc

and added to the bottom

exec startplasma-x11

Remember that lines following a command using exec would be ignored.

Did this not suggest to you to look at the file for exec lines?

Zibi1981 wrote:
#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then







    xrdb -merge $sysresources

fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then







    xrdb -merge "$userresources"

fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

twm &
xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login

exec startplasma-x11

So which exec line will be used?

Offline

#22 2019-11-03 21:58:03

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

V1del wrote:

Check the permissions on that .xauthority file, it should be owned by your user.

You have two exec lines, you can comment the entire twm and xclock block in your .xinitrc.

Thank you, I commented out this entire entry

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

twm &
xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login

but with no avail.

The problem with ~/.Xauthority file is...I don't seem to have any.


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#23 2019-11-03 21:59:26

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,077

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Zibi1981 wrote:

The problem with ~/.Xauthority file is...I don't seem to have any.

As which user?

Offline

#24 2019-11-03 22:05:03

Zibi1981
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-01-31
Posts: 425

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

loqs wrote:
Zibi1981 wrote:

The problem with ~/.Xauthority file is...I don't seem to have any.

As which user?

Regular.


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed."

MSI GT75 Titan 8RG

Offline

#25 2019-11-03 22:09:22

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,077

Re: [SOLVED] $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to X server

Does running startx as zbyszek still produce:

xauth: timeout in locking authority file /home/zbyszek/.Xauthority

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB