You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-01 14:51:57

CRT_2160p
Member
Registered: 2019-11-30
Posts: 4

Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

I've been having a problem using xfce on my hp laptop. There are these graphical glitches appearing and dissapearing everywhere (pictures here). This happens with any distribution. Other desktop environments work fine. It happens with both the vesa driver and the amd driver. Also sometimes when I upgrade the packages, I get warnings related to the gpu like: "possible missing firmware", but I'm not sure what that means exactly.

Does anyone know how to fix this? I really don't know what to do.

Offline

#2 2019-12-01 14:54:06

judd1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 238

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

dmesg | grep microcode

?

Last edited by judd1 (2019-12-01 14:54:48)

Offline

#3 2019-12-01 15:36:50

CRT_2160p
Member
Registered: 2019-11-30
Posts: 4

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

judd1 wrote:
dmesg | grep microcode

?

It outputs this:
[    1.235704] microcode: CPU0: patch_level=0x0810100b
[    1.235725] microcode: CPU1: patch_level=0x0810100b
[    1.235728] microcode: CPU2: patch_level=0x0810100b
[    1.235736] microcode: CPU3: patch_level=0x0810100b
[    1.235776] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.2.

Offline

#4 2019-12-01 16:10:10

Zod
Member
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 157

Offline

#5 2019-12-01 16:43:28

CRT_2160p
Member
Registered: 2019-11-30
Posts: 4

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

Offline

#6 2019-12-01 16:55:50

Zod
Member
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 157

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

I believe it describes this...

CRT_2160p wrote:

Also sometimes when I upgrade the packages, I get warnings related to the gpu like: "possible missing firmware", but I'm not sure what that means exactly.

Offline

#7 2019-12-01 20:14:57

toz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-28
Posts: 420

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

If using the amd driver, try setting the compositor to use xpresent:

xfwm4 --vblank=xpresent --replace

If that one doesn't work, also try with "--vblank=off".

Offline

#8 Yesterday 11:19:52

CRT_2160p
Member
Registered: 2019-11-30
Posts: 4

Re: Graphical Artifacts on XFCE

toz wrote:

If using the amd driver, try setting the compositor to use xpresent:

xfwm4 --vblank=xpresent --replace

If that one doesn't work, also try with "--vblank=off".

This one solved it, thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB