You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-22 23:15:11

AnonMathematician

Pulse Audio won't push High-res PCM (24-bit/96 kHz) to external DAC

I have several 24-bit 96 kHz music files I am trying to play using an external DAC (Topping DX7s, for reference). Whenever I play these files, regardless of the music software I use, playback is limited to 24-bit 48 kHz, and I would like it to playback at 96 kHz. I have not had problems with this in Windows or MacOS, so I suppose it has something to do with the configuration of Pulse Audio. I have tried modifying files in .config/pulse, but to no avail. I have also tried changing ALSA config files without any luck. If anyone could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I am aware sample rates higher than 44.1 kHz do not typically result in increased sonic performance (I'm an electrical engineer and I know of the Shannon-Nyquist theorem). I am just a crazy audiophile and perfectionist.

#2 2019-12-22 23:47:46

d_fajardo

Re: Pulse Audio won't push High-res PCM (24-bit/96 kHz) to external DAC

https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Softwa … udiophile/
I personally use mpd to play my higher resolution files.
You can also have a look at having a JACK setup if you want to consistently play files in higher sample outputs.

#3 2019-12-23 02:31:36

ewaller
Administrator

AnonMathematician wrote:

I'm an electrical engineer and I know of the Shannon-Nyquist theorem). I am just a crazy audiophile and perfectionist.

O_o   Um, okay.   So you know what the science says, but you are still going to believe in superstition?  All you are going to do with the higher sample frequency is to suppress the unwanted harmonics above 14 kHz-ish.

Two thoughts;  Have you instrumented the output of your amp to see if there is anything above 10-12  kHz in the first place?  Most audio systems that are not extreme high end will roll off pretty hard around that point.  Only the really good, or the really bad ones don't