You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-28 12:49:06

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

[SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

On an up-to-date Arch system, using the Mate DE, Krita recently stopped working. It worked perfectly last week. Now when I try to launch Krita I get the message Segmentation fault (core dumped)

The core dump in Journactl doesn't tell me much:

Process 965 (krita) of user 1000 dumped core.
                                             
                                             Stack trace of thread 965:
                                             #0  0x000055862ce7d064 main (krita + 0x8fa064)
                                             #1  0x00007f991cfef153 __libc_start_main (libc.so.6 + 0x27153)
                                             #2  0x000055862ce7de1e _start (krita + 0x8fae1e)

I don't know where else to look for more informative error messages. I asked on the Krita forums first, but they suggested it was probably an Arch problem.

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Solved thanks to the helpful people here, especially arojas. My locale was misconfigured, reconfiguring it solved the issue.

Last edited by ThomasN (2019-12-29 18:16:00)

Offline

#2 2019-12-28 14:07:18

Zod
Member
From: Hoosiertucky
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 565

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

When was the last time/date you were able to use krita successfully?

Since that time/date, what packages have been updated/installed?

Edit: Your system is unique in the universe, but if your willing to do the minimum amount of work, I am willing to do some leg work.

Mostly, it's just an opportunity for me to learn something.

Last edited by Zod (2019-12-28 14:43:46)

Offline

#3 2019-12-28 21:41:20

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Thank you for your reply!


I last used Krita succesfully on monday (five days ago)
According to pacman.log, the following packages have since been upgraded:

bluez-libs (5.52-1 -> 5.52-2)
expat (2.2.9-2 -> 2.2.9-3)
libtirpc (1.1.4-2 -> 1.2.5-1)
libedit (20191025_3.1-1 -> 20191211_3.1-1)
libevdev (1.8.0-1 -> 1.8.0-2)
libwacom (1.1-1 -> 1.2-1)
qt5-base (5.13.2-3 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-svg (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
python (3.8.0-1 -> 3.8.1-1)
calibre-common (4.6.0-1 -> 4.7.0-1)
python2-beautifulsoup4 (4.8.1-1 -> 4.8.2-1)
python2-mechanize (1:0.4.4-2 -> 1:0.4.5-1)
python2-pyqt5 (5.13.2-8 -> 5.14.0-3)
qt5-declarative (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-2)
qt5-webchannel (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-location (5.13.2-2 -> 5.14.0-1)
libevent (2.1.11-3 -> 2.1.11-4)
v4l-utils (1.16.7-1 -> 1.18.0-1)
vulkan-icd-loader (1.1.129-1 -> 1.1.130-1)
qt5-webengine (5.13.2-4 -> 5.14.0-1)
python2-pyqtwebengine (5.13.2-4 -> 5.14.0-3)
python2-regex (2019.08.19-3 -> 2019.12.20-1)
python2-pyparsing (2.4.5-1 -> 2.4.6-1)
calibre (4.6.0-1 -> 4.7.0-1)
dhcpcd (8.1.2-1 -> 8.1.4-1)
git (2.24.1-2 -> 2.24.1-3)
groff (1.22.4-2 -> 1.22.4-3)
imagemagick (7.0.9.9-1 -> 7.0.9.10-1)
libmagick6 (6.9.10.77-1 -> 6.9.10.80-1)
ibnm (1.22.0-1 -> 1.22.2-1)
libnm-glib (1.18.2-1 -> 1.18.5dev+12+ga8746f48ca-1)
linux (5.4.6.arch1-1 -> 5.4.6.arch3-1)
linux-firmware (20191215.eefb5f7-1 -> 20191220.6871bff-1)
mlt (6.18.0-2 -> 6.18.0-3)
nano (4.6-1 -> 4.7-1)
nvidia (440.44-5 -> 440.44-7)
perl-xml-parser (2.44-9 -> 2.45-1)
python-mlt (6.18.0-2 -> 6.18.0-3)
python-numpy (1.17.4-1 -> 1.18.0-1)
python-pyparsing (2.4.5-1 -> 2.4.6-1)
python-pyqt5 (5.13.2-8 -> 5.14.0-3)
python-xlib (0.26-1 -> 0.26-2)
python2-pathlib2 (2.3.4-1 -> 2.3.5-1)
qt5-multimedia (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-script (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-sensors (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-speech (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-webkit (5.212.0alpha3-6 -> 5.212.0alpha3-8)
qt5-x11extras (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
qt5-xmlpatterns (5.13.2-1 -> 5.14.0-1)
talloc (2.3.0-1 -> 2.3.1-1)
thunderbird (68.3.0-1 -> 68.3.1-1)
wine (5.0rc1-1 -> 5.0rc2-1)
winetricks (20190912-1 -> 20191224-1)

Offline

#4 2019-12-28 22:33:17

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,245

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Krita uses qt5 and qt5 was upgraded from 5.13.2 to 5.14.0 .
Often such an upgrade of Qt requires a rebuild.

Please try starting krita from a terminal and post the full output.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#5 2019-12-28 23:05:55

Zod
Member
From: Hoosiertucky
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 565

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Lone_Wolf is probably right.

out of Krita dependancies

QT5-multimedia
QT5-svg

are dependancies and were updated


QT5-base

was updated but is not listed as a dependancy

libwacom

was updated and there is an old bug when using tablets with krita.

And since krita upstream complained specifically about boost, boost-libs is flagged out of date.

Offline

#6 2019-12-29 07:58:02

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,857

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

The segfault appears to happen in the constructor of some static global variable - output of "pacman -Qm"?

Offline

#7 2019-12-29 13:57:06

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

As Lone_Wolf and Zod suggested the updated qt5 is the issue. I downgraded qt5 back to version 13.2. This does solve the issue for now (Krita works normally again after downgrading qt5). Of course, I have to upgrade qt5 at some point. Should I wait for a rebuild of Krita by the package maintainer? Or is there something else I could do?

I started posting answers to your questions before I tried downgrading. It may no longer be relevant, but just to be complete, I've still included them below.


Lone_Wolf wrote:

Please try starting krita from a terminal and post the full output.

When I try to start Krita from a terminal, I only get the output Segmentation fault (core dumped). The core dump in Journalctl is as in my first post. Is there a way to get a more comprehensive error message?

seth wrote:

The segfault appears to happen in the constructor of some static global variable - output of "pacman -Qm"?

dcadec 0.2.0-1
foxitreader 2.4.4.0911-2
gegl02 0.2.0-8
gstreamer0.10 0.10.36-17
gstreamer0.10-base 0.10.36-11
gstreamer0.10-base-plugins 0.10.36-11
js 24.2.0-4
js17 17.0.0-4
lcms 1.19-7
lib32-libtxc_dxtn 1.0.1-5
libtxc_dxtn 1.0.1-6
libunique3 3.0.2-3
mate-menu 19.10.2-1
nopaste 0.1-4
numix-circle-icon-theme-git 0.r12.bcd1317-1
numix-icon-theme-git 0.r1888.e03eb71-1
pcmciautils 018-8
python-sip-pyqt5 4.19.19-3
python2-cssutils 1.0.2-2
python2-dukpy 0.3-4
python2-setproctitle 1.1.10-5
python2-sip 4.19.19-3
python2-xlib 0.26-1
qt4 4.8.7-28

Offline

#8 2019-12-29 14:05:43

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,939

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

A rebuild of krita is not going to fix anything. You need to get a backtrace with debug symbols so we can know where the problem is.

off-topic: you should really clean up your system more often. You have some old crap installed that was dropped years ago

Offline

#9 2019-12-29 15:17:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,857

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Which of the optional packages do you have installed?
----------
ffmpeg (optional) - to save animations
krita-plugin-gmic (optional) - G'MIC plugin
libheif (optional) - HEIF filter
opencolorio (optional) - for the LUT docker
poppler-qt5 (optional) - PDF filter
python-pyqt5 (optional) - for the Python plugins
----------

Offline

#10 2019-12-29 16:55:38

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

arojas wrote:

A rebuild of krita is not going to fix anything. You need to get a backtrace with debug symbols so we can know where the problem is.

I tried to follow the instructions in the wiki page on debugging segmentation faults, recompiling Krita first with debugging flags enabled (and re-updating qt5 after downgrading previously), followed by:

$ gdb krita
r
(wait for segfault)
bt full

The output is:

$ gdb krita
GNU gdb (GDB) 8.3.1
Copyright (C) 2019 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.
Type "show copying" and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-pc-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
    <http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.

For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from krita...
(gdb) r
Starting program: /usr/bin/krita 
/usr/lib/../share/gcc-9.2.0/python/libstdcxx/v6/xmethods.py:731: SyntaxWarning: list indices must be integers or slices, not str; perhaps you missed a comma?
  refcounts = ['_M_refcount']['_M_pi']
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30470)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30470) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30471)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30471) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30472)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda79700 (LWP 30472) exited]

Thread 1 "krita" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
QString::size (this=0x7fffe800c980) at /usr/include/qt/QtCore/qstring.h:266
266	    inline int size() const { return d->size; }
(gdb) bt full
#0  QString::size (this=0x7fffe800c980) at /usr/include/qt/QtCore/qstring.h:266
No locals.
#1  0x0000555555e53ced in QString::toLocal8Bit() const & (this=0x7fffe800c980) at /usr/include/qt/QtCore/qstring.h:649
No locals.
#2  0x0000555555e51d42 in main (argc=1, argv=0x7fffffffe9d8) at /home/thomas/kritadebug/src/krita-4.2.8.2/krita/main.cc:323
        uiLanguages = {<QList<QString>> = {<QListSpecialMethods<QString>> = {<No data fields>}, {p = {static shared_null = {ref = {atomic = {_q_value = {<std::__atomic_base<int>> = {static _S_alignment = 4, 
                          _M_i = -1}, <No data fields>}}}, alloc = 0, begin = 0, end = 0, array = {0x0}}, d = 0x7fffe800c970}, d = 0x7fffe800c970}}, <No data fields>}
        locale = {static staticMetaObject = {d = {superdata = {direct = 0x0}, stringdata = 0x7ffff46af4c0, data = 0x7ffff46adac0, static_metacall = 0x0, relatedMetaObjects = 0x0, extradata = 0x0}}, d = {d = 0x5555570701c0}}
        runningInKDE = false
        key = {d = 0x555557030920}
        configPath = {d = 0x5555570309d0}
        kritarc = <incomplete type>
        singleApplication = true
        enableOpenGLDebug = false
        openGLDebugSynchronous = false
        logUsage = true
        root = {d = 0x55555736f5b0}
        language = {d = 0x5555574fba90}
        rightToLeft = false
        app = {<QtSingleApplication> = {<QApplication> = {<No data fields>}, static staticMetaObject = {d = {superdata = {direct = 0x7ffff556df60 <QApplication::staticMetaObject>}, 
                stringdata = 0x7ffff6febcc0 <qt_meta_stringdata_QtSingleApplication>, data = 0x7ffff6febe40 <qt_meta_data_QtSingleApplication>, 
                static_metacall = 0x7ffff6a2b67e <QtSingleApplication::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**)>, relatedMetaObjects = 0x0, extradata = 0x0}}, firstPeer = 140737488349672, instances = 0x555555e578f3
     <__static_initialization_and_destruction_0(int, int)+68>, pidPeer = 0x7ffff7a8cb92, actWin = 0x10000ffff, appId = {d = 0x7fffffffe8b0}, block = 9}, static staticMetaObject = {d = {superdata = {
                direct = 0x7ffff7c3e440 <QtSingleApplication::staticMetaObject>}, stringdata = 0x7ffff6fd0ba0 <qt_meta_stringdata_KisApplication>, data = 0x7ffff6fd0ca0 <qt_meta_data_KisApplication>, 
              static_metacall = 0x7ffff6a0a1d4 <KisApplication::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**)>, relatedMetaObjects = 0x0, extradata = 0x0}}, d = {d = 0x14}}
        args = {d = {d = 0x5555570701c0}}
        state = 0
arojas wrote:

off-topic: you should really clean up your system more often. You have some old crap installed that was dropped years ago

I see. I'll clean up in the near future.

seth wrote:

Which of the optional packages do you have installed?
----------
ffmpeg (optional) - to save animations
krita-plugin-gmic (optional) - G'MIC plugin
libheif (optional) - HEIF filter
opencolorio (optional) - for the LUT docker
poppler-qt5 (optional) - PDF filter
python-pyqt5 (optional) - for the Python plugins
----------

All except for krita-plugin-gmic

Offline

#11 2019-12-29 17:50:41

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,939

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

What is the output of

locale

?

Offline

#12 2019-12-29 17:53:17

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

arojas wrote:

What is the output of

locale

?

LANG=C
LC_CTYPE="C"
LC_NUMERIC="C"
LC_TIME="C"
LC_COLLATE="C"
LC_MONETARY="C"
LC_MESSAGES="C"
LC_PAPER="C"
LC_NAME="C"
LC_ADDRESS="C"
LC_TELEPHONE="C"
LC_MEASUREMENT="C"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="C"
LC_ALL=

Offline

#13 2019-12-29 17:59:16

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,939

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Your locale is misconfigured. Set it correctly as described in the installation guide

Offline

#14 2019-12-29 18:09:44

ThomasN
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Thank you! I don't know how this misconfiguration happened (it must have been something I did during the last five days). My locale is set correctly now and Krita works perfectly again!

Will mark as solved.

Offline

#15 2019-12-29 20:10:06

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,857

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

arojas wrote:

Your locale is misconfigured. Set it correctly as described in the installation guide

Does Qt now officially require UTF-8 to not insta-crash?

Offline

#16 2019-12-29 21:45:42

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,939

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Not Qt, Krita. But I'm sure its developer will find a way to blame it on the distro

Offline

#17 2019-12-29 22:17:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,857

Re: [SOLVED] Segmentation fault when trying to launch Krita

Thanks.

No spinning allowed, there's an unconditional

qputenv("LANG", uiLanguages.first().toLocal8Bit());

If the list is empty, things crash.

I was just asking because several gnome applications seem to take the same position, but C is a legitimate locale - though usually undesired (and in no case an excuse to segfault).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB