You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-08 20:40:05

cenderme
Member
Registered: 2020-01-08
Posts: 2

Steam Games Run, There is Audio but No Display

I use a tiling window manager. All games I've tested so far runs and I can hear the audio of the game, however there is no visual and the screen glitches a little bit. I can move between workspaces and quit from the game.

Here is the difference between screens before and after I run the game: https://imgur.com/a/1WwsrdC.

I have Nvidia GTX 1050.

Thank you.

Last edited by cenderme (2020-01-08 20:46:11)

Offline

#2 2020-01-08 21:54:56

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,395

Re: Steam Games Run, There is Audio but No Display

Which tiling window manager? You will almost always have to tell them to treat gaming windows as floating.

Online

#3 2020-01-09 04:31:56

cenderme
Member
Registered: 2020-01-08
Posts: 2

Re: Steam Games Run, There is Audio but No Display

It's suckless' dwm. Thanks for the reply. smile

I set my layout to

{ "><>",	NULL },    /* no layout function means floating behavior */

which makes a floating window, however the problem is still occurring. I will try other tiling window managers for the moment to see if they work.

I tested a couple of scenarios and it seems that fullscreen feature seems to be causing the problem. Do you happen to know any workarounds?

Last edited by cenderme (2020-01-09 06:21:54)

Offline

#4 2020-01-19 14:53:55

abelgraham
Member
Registered: 2019-08-14
Posts: 1

Re: Steam Games Run, There is Audio but No Display

I was having no problem running Steam games under dwm until I updated to Nvidia 440.44-12 today. Try downgrading to 440.44-9, it works for me.

Last edited by abelgraham (2020-01-19 15:05:25)

Offline

#5 2020-01-19 18:56:36

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,395

Re: Steam Games Run, There is Audio but No Display

That only makes sense in a partial updating universe, which you either should not do or know why you do it. If that "works" then that means you aren't updating your kernel or it isn't loaded from the proper spot which you should investigate.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB