You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-09 16:51:58

J4CK_VVH173
Member
Registered: 2020-01-09
Posts: 5

Core temp

Hello, I have a problem to get my core temp in the sensors tool. I did everything as written on the arch wiki.
I installed lm_sensors then I run sensors-detect  and now I have this output:

BAT0-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
in0:           7.49 V  
curr1:         1.61 A  [/i]

[i]acpitz-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
temp1:        +45.0°C  (crit = +99.0°C)
temp2:        +39.0°C  (crit = +92.0°C)[/i]

[i]nouveau-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:            N/A  (high = +95.0°C, hyst =  +3.0°C)
                       (crit = +105.0°C, hyst =  +5.0°C)
                       (emerg = +135.0°C, hyst =  +5.0°C)[/i]

[i]iwlwifi-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +55.0°C  

I couldn't find solution to my problem.

Last edited by J4CK_VVH173 (2020-01-09 17:44:05)

Offline

#2 2020-01-09 17:27:37

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 9,601

Re: Core temp

Please use code tags for command outputs.  What is the CPU?  What is the output produced from sensors-detect?

Offline

#3 2020-01-09 17:52:51

J4CK_VVH173
Member
Registered: 2020-01-09
Posts: 5

Re: Core temp

loqs wrote:

Please use code tags for command outputs.  What is the CPU?  What is the output produced from sensors-detect?

Yeah, I edited)

My CPU is Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8250U CPU @ 1.60GHz

Sensors-detect output:

# sensors-detect version 3.6.0
# System: Timi TM1703 [XMAKB3M0P160F] (laptop)
# Kernel: 5.4.8-arch1-1 x86_64
# Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8250U CPU @ 1.60GHz (6/142/10)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): 
Module cpuid loaded successfully.
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   No
AMD Family 15h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 16h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 17h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 15h power sensors...                             No
AMD Family 16h power sensors...                             No
Hygon Family 18h thermal sensors...                         No
Intel digital thermal sensor...                             Success!
    (driver `coretemp')
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
Intel 5500/5520/X58 thermal sensor...                       No
VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): 
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               Yes
Found unknown chip with ID 0xfc11

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): 
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): 
Using driver `i2c-i801' for device 0000:00:1f.4: Sunrise Point-LP (PCH)
Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.

Next adapter: Synopsys DesignWare I2C adapter (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): 
Adapter doesn't support all probing functions.
Some addresses won't be probed.


Next adapter: Synopsys DesignWare I2C adapter (i2c-1)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): Adapter doesn't support all probing functions.
Some addresses won't be probed.

Next adapter: SMBus I801 adapter at 4040 (i2c-2)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): 

Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpc (i2c-3)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpb (i2c-4)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpd (i2c-5)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: DPDDC-A (i2c-6)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: DPDDC-B (i2c-7)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-bus-0001 (i2c-8)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-bus-0002 (i2c-9)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-bus-0004 (i2c-10)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-aux-0004 (i2c-11)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-bus-0005 (i2c-12)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 

Next adapter: nvkm-0000:01:00.0-aux-0005 (i2c-13)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): 


Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue: 

Driver `coretemp':
  * Chip `Intel digital thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)

Do you want to overwrite /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors? (YES/no): 
Unloading i2c-dev... OK
Unloading cpuid... OK

Offline

#4 2020-01-09 17:57:20

Zod
Member
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 245

Re: Core temp

Offline

#5 2020-01-09 19:36:14

J4CK_VVH173
Member
Registered: 2020-01-09
Posts: 5

Re: Core temp

Yeap, I did it. You can see sensors output in my first massage. I don't know why $ sensors doesn't show coretemp-isa-***

Offline

#6 2020-01-09 20:48:54

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,305
Website

Re: Core temp

Did the service start correctly?

systemctl status lm_sensors.service

Is the coretemp module loaded?

lsmod | grep coretemp

Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#7 2020-01-10 06:23:18

J4CK_VVH173
Member
Registered: 2020-01-09
Posts: 5

Re: Core temp

WorMzy wrote:

Did the service start correctly?

systemctl status lm_sensors.service

Is the coretemp module loaded?

lsmod | grep coretemp

lm_sensors status:

lm_sensors.service - Initialize hardware monitoring sensors
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/lm_sensors.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
     Active: active (exited) since Fri 2020-01-10 09:22:49 MSK; 19s ago
    Process: 2179 ExecStart=/sbin/modprobe -qab $BUS_MODULES $HWMON_MODULES (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 2180 ExecStart=/usr/bin/sensors -s (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
   Main PID: 2180 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Jan 10 09:22:49 home-pc systemd[1]: Starting Initialize hardware monitoring sensors...
Jan 10 09:22:49 home-pc systemd[1]: Started Initialize hardware monitoring sensors.

(I didn't see any errors)

coretemp loaded. lsmod | grep coretemp output:

coretemp               20480  0

Offline

#8 2020-01-10 20:10:03

paulkerry
Member
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2014-10-02
Posts: 407

Re: Core temp

Does...

i7z

work OK?

Offline

#9 2020-01-10 20:42:15

J4CK_VVH173
Member
Registered: 2020-01-09
Posts: 5

Re: Core temp

paulkerry wrote:

Does...

i7z

work OK?

Yeah, it does. It outputs information about all cores. There are temp, VCore, halt e.t.

Offline

#10 2020-01-10 23:16:50

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 654

Re: Core temp

Can you see the coretemp module's directory in the location "/sys/devices/platform/"? On my Intel CPU, that's where it shows up as "coretemp.0". The hwmon device that gets used by the "sensors" command is then showing up in a sub-folder "/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon*/" (with the * being a random number). Are all those locations existing for you and showing interesting entries?

The interesting entries in the hwmon* sub-folder are the "temp*_label" and "temp*_input" files. That's where the sensors command gets the names and values that it prints.

I'm asking because I'm wondering if the problem is in the "sensors" command or is in the "coretemp" kernel module. Maybe everything about the coretemp module is working fine, and instead it's sensors ignoring it for some reason.

Offline

#11 2020-01-11 02:15:00

merlock
Member
Registered: 2018-10-30
Posts: 50

Re: Core temp

Just covering bases...you did tell it to overwrite /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors, right?


It's a big club...and you ain't in it -- George Carlin
Eenie meenie, chili beanie, the spirits are about to speak -- Bullwinkle J. Moose
Registered Linux user #149839
perl -e 'print$i=pack(c5,(41*2),sqrt(7056),(unpack(c,H)-2),oct(115),10); '

Offline

#12 2020-01-11 14:48:22

paulkerry
Member
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2014-10-02
Posts: 407

Re: Core temp

I agree with @Ropid: as i7z is working, then it's either a kernel issue or the command. You've not mentioned which kernel you are using: try linux-lts ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB