You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-11 08:29:09

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

[SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

I'm getting a Failed to mount /home error on startup.

The partition /dev/sda3 I'm trying to mount is created using cgdisk and I give it the code 8302 (/home linux partition) (I wonder if it should be 8300 which is normal linux partition)

In my /etc/fstab I put this line:

 UUID=xxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx /home ext4 default 0 0

On startup I get the error:

[FAILED] Failed to mount /home
See 'systemctl status home.mount' for details.

I do so and I find:

Mounting /home...
mount: /home: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda3, missing codepage or helper programs, or other error.
home.mount: Mount process exited, code=exited, status=32/n/a
home.mount: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Failed to mount /home.

Last edited by light9876 (2020-01-11 15:00:51)

Offline

#2 2020-01-11 10:05:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,111

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Please use code tags instead of bold text, https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

There's no point in obfuscating the UUID (it's just a random number to prevent collisions and tells nothing about the actual system), so please post the actual line, or rather the entire fstab (order of entries may matter) and the complete output of "lsblk -f"

bad superblock on /dev/sda3

You did create a filesystem on that partition, did you? That's not the same as creating the partition.

Offline

#3 2020-01-11 10:55:39

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

I know the UUID is random, but I'm just making things easier to read and comprehend.

After I created the partition, I formatted it using

mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3

I will post my fstab & lsblk once I solve the booting problem (I created another post for it).

Thanks so much!

Last edited by light9876 (2020-01-11 10:56:15)

Offline

#4 2020-01-11 11:59:18

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

lsblk -l

NAME FSTYPE LABEL UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT
sda                                                                   
|-sda1
|    vfat         BB6F-15EA                             974.5M     0% /boot/efi
|-sda2
|    ext4         2c370a83-7833-4bd4-bba1-41ea43a510e3   84.8G     4% /
`-sda3
     ext4         80e61b3e-3b7f-468b-83cc-bffb2f427466

cat /etc/fstab

# Static information about the filesystems.
# See fstab(5) for details.

# <file system> <dir> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
# /dev/sda2
UUID=2c370a83-7833-4bd4-bba1-41ea43a510e3	/         	ext4      	rw,relatime	0 1

# /dev/sda1
UUID=BB6F-15EA      	/boot/efi 	vfat      	rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro	0 2

# Home partition
#UUID=80e61b3e-3b7f-468b-83cc-bffb2f427466 /home ext4 default 0 0

Last edited by light9876 (2020-01-11 13:48:10)

Offline

#5 2020-01-11 13:35:47

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,844
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Have you checked the filesystem integrity?

fsck.ext4 /dev/sda3
light9876 wrote:
# Home partition (elias)
#UUID=80e61b3e-3b7f-468b-83cc-bffb2f427466 /home ext4 default 0 0

The entry is commented-out so it won't be read but /home should still be mounted automatically because of the partition code[1] — so what happens if you try to mount it manually?

# mount /dev/sda3 /home

Might be worth un-commenting the fstab line and changing the partition code to 8300 to stop systemd trying to automount it.

Offline

#6 2020-01-11 14:15:14

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

I commented it out because otherwise it will show the error.

sudo fsck.ext4 /dev/sda3

e2fsck 1.45.5 (07-Jan-2020)
/dev/sda3: clean, 11/54738944 files, 3718169/218940081 blocks

When I did

mount /dev/sda3 /home

I was not able to launch any programs; creating a new folder on desktop produces error (directory not found). All I could do is close visible windows.

I changed the partition code to 0fc63daf-8483-4772-8e79-3d69d8477de4 (8300), but it had no effect..

Last edited by light9876 (2020-01-11 14:15:43)

Offline

#7 2020-01-11 14:19:20

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

lsblk -O

NAME KNAME PATH MAJ:MIN FSAVAIL FSSIZE FSTYPE FSUSED FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT LABEL UUID                                 PTUUID                               PTTYPE PARTTYPE                             PARTLABEL PARTUUID                             PARTFLAGS  RA RO RM HOTPLUG MODEL SERIAL   SIZE STATE OWNER GROUP MODE       ALIGNMENT MIN-IO OPT-IO PHY-SEC LOG-SEC ROTA SCHED RQ-SIZE TYPE DISC-ALN DISC-GRAN DISC-MAX DISC-ZERO WSAME WWN                RAND PKNAME HCTL       TRAN   SUBSYSTEMS  REV VENDOR ZONED
sda  sda   /dev/sda
                  8:0                                                                                             914ff959-4ba0-4682-b004-cab4bd1ff1a4 gpt                                                                                                  128  0  0       0 Samsu S4CZNF 931.5G runni root  disk  brw-rw----         0    512      0     512     512    0 mq-deadline
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       64 disk        0      512B       2G         0    0B 0x5002538e49a8c056    0        1:0:0:0    sata   block:scsi:pci
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       1B6Q ATA    none
sda1 sda1  /dev/sda1
                  8:1    974.4M 974.7M vfat     280K     0% /boot/efi        BB6F-15EA                            914ff959-4ba0-4682-b004-cab4bd1ff1a4 gpt    c12a7328-f81f-11d2-ba4b-00a0c93ec93b efi       0d48d6fd-8e34-4b55-94ee-ac129c778c3e           128  0  0       0              976.6M       root  disk  brw-rw----         0    512      0     512     512    0 mq-deadline
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       64 part        0      512B       2G         0    0B 0x5002538e49a8c056    0 sda                      block:scsi:pci
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   none
sda2 sda2  /dev/sda2
                  8:2     84.8G  93.4G ext4     3.9G     4% /                2c370a83-7833-4bd4-bba1-41ea43a510e3 914ff959-4ba0-4682-b004-cab4bd1ff1a4 gpt    0fc63daf-8483-4772-8e79-3d69d8477de4 root      bd4027f0-c082-469e-ad95-291f8d8625d7           128  0  0       0               95.4G       root  disk  brw-rw----         0    512      0     512     512    0 mq-deadline
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       64 part        0      512B       2G         0    0B 0x5002538e49a8c056    0 sda                      block:scsi:pci
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   none
sda3 sda3  /dev/sda3
                  8:3                  ext4                                  80e61b3e-3b7f-468b-83cc-bffb2f427466 914ff959-4ba0-4682-b004-cab4bd1ff1a4 gpt    0fc63daf-8483-4772-8e79-3d69d8477de4 home      796da953-2b64-4dc8-b203-1401f8759799           128  0  0       0              835.2G       root  disk  brw-rw----         0    512      0     512     512    0 mq-deadline
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       64 part        0      512B       2G         0    0B 0x5002538e49a8c056    0 sda                      block:scsi:pci

Offline

#8 2020-01-11 14:20:34

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,072

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Edit:
No, the partition type doesn't really matter at all, but personally I like to set the type for /home to 8302 / 933AC7E1-2EB4-4F13-B844-0E14E2AEF915 for documentation purposes. (also because of https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Specif … tionsSpec/)

Edit2: When you mounted it on top of the existing /home dir, it masked everything that was in there, so if the partition doesn't contain a $HOME for your user, you would get the errors you expeirenced like being unable to create icons on the desktop etc.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2020-01-11 14:27:45)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#9 2020-01-11 14:27:07

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Mr.Elendig wrote:

Does mounting it by hand work?

Yes it works, but then if I close open windows (eg. nautilus), I am not able to launch them again through terminal for example.

From terminal I can navigate to /home and it shows it empty with the correct size.

So I can say yes it works.

Offline

#10 2020-01-11 14:28:18

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,072

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Mount the partition to /mnt and then see what is actually contained in it.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#11 2020-01-11 14:29:51

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

I can already see that there is a single folder 'lost+found' by running ls

Edit:
So manually it is being mounted correctly. But the automatic mounting through the fstab file is not working..

Last edited by light9876 (2020-01-11 14:30:50)

Offline

#12 2020-01-11 14:33:06

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,111

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Try

UUID=80e61b3e-3b7f-468b-83cc-bffb2f427466 /home ext4 defaults 0 0

Offline

#13 2020-01-11 14:35:53

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Actually I already tried using rw,relatime instead of default and it did not work.

I'm using the s now.

Let me restart my computer.

Offline

#14 2020-01-11 15:01:19

light9876
Member
Registered: 2020-01-05
Posts: 86

Re: [SOLVED] "Failed to mount /home" error

Sorry I was missing the 's'.

It works now. Thanks everyone!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB