You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-11 14:47:04

mattz7
Member
Registered: 2020-01-07
Posts: 3

[SOLVED] KDE plasma-browser- process uses 100% CPU

Hi everyone! smile

I have a problem with KDE. When I top my processes, I see that plasma-browser- uses 100% of the CPU power. Consequently, CPU temps run high until I kill the process manually. But after some time the process comes up again and we're back to square one.

Has anyone had any issues with this process? How do I make sure it doesn't run at all or it doesn't use 100% of CPU power?

Last edited by mattz7 (2020-01-11 15:56:54)

Offline

#2 2020-01-11 14:57:54

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,393

Re: [SOLVED] KDE plasma-browser- process uses 100% CPU

You are probably rather talking plasma-browser-integration, either remove the package, or if you actually want it, which browser did you install the plugin for and what are you doing in them?

Offline

#3 2020-01-11 15:02:11

mattz7
Member
Registered: 2020-01-07
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] KDE plasma-browser- process uses 100% CPU

Thank you for your response.

I guess plasma-browser-integration was never explicitly installed but served merely as a dependency. I just removed it and I'll see what happens next smile

Offline

#4 2020-01-11 15:24:17

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,393

Re: [SOLVED] KDE plasma-browser- process uses 100% CPU

It's not a dependency of anything, but if you install groups, well, you explicitly install all members of the group, and it's a member of the plasma group

Offline

#5 2020-01-11 15:34:27

mattz7
Member
Registered: 2020-01-07
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] KDE plasma-browser- process uses 100% CPU

Oh, thanks for letting me know. I did install the plasma group indeed. Anyhow, so far so good after removing plasma-browser-integration. I'll wait some more time and mark the thread as solved if the process doesn't come up again. Thank you! smile

Last edited by mattz7 (2020-01-11 16:07:30)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB