You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-14 11:44:01

makh
Member
Registered: 2011-10-10
Posts: 215

Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

Hi

I have to install windows 10, to work on autocad and some other windows softwares.

Can I easily recover my Arch Installation, if I need to repartition also?

Thankyou


OS:  Arch  &  Debian
System: HP Probook 440 G2
WM: Openbox

Offline

#2 2020-01-14 12:01:02

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,307
Website

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

So long as the Windows installer doesn't blow away your Arch partition, sure; you may need to reinstall your bootloader/manager to the ESP/MBR respectively, depending on what Windows does and how your system is configured.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2020-01-14 16:17:54

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,097
Website

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

I've installed Win10 alongside pre-existing operating systems (Linux & OpenBSD) and it's always behaved itself in respect of the partitions, the other systems are acknowledged and the partitions are not automatically selected for use by Windows. It will over-write the MBR in non-UEFI systems and place itself top of the bootorder for UEFI systems (as WorMzy notes) but then so do other operating systems.

Offline

#4 2020-01-14 18:48:45

jones
Member
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 176

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

That thread title confused me for a bit.

I can state that for 3 out of 3 installations of Windows on different machines with existing AL installs on each machine, their bootloaders, i.e. systemd-boot, were "deactivated". The Windows boot manager was put first to make the machine boot into Win 10.

The last one was last saturday and the windows boot manager even hid the splash screen during the first seconds on startup. So it practically voided the ability to switch bootloaders in the first place. That was one effing annoying and took me a while to figure out.
To perhaps help you preemptively, the solution was, via MS own's help docs, this very step:

If Windows is already installed, from either the Sign on screen or the Start menu, select Power (Power button icon) > hold Shift while selecting Restart. Select Troubleshoot > Advanced options > UEFI Firmware settings.

Offline

#5 2020-01-14 19:15:23

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,097
Website

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

jones wrote:

the windows boot manager even hid the splash screen during the first seconds on startup

That's because of Windows' "fast startup" [sic] and should be disabled to prevent potential corruption on the Windows partitions: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Du … s_settings

Offline

#6 2020-01-14 20:10:49

jones
Member
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 176

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

Oh! D'oh. Just turned off hibernation of that "hybrid shutdown". Totally forgot about "fast startup". Thank you smile

Offline

#7 2020-01-24 12:15:14

makh
Member
Registered: 2011-10-10
Posts: 215

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

Hi

I tried the Installer, but it stuck up on partitioning.

It cannot install windows 10 on the GPT setup. Though I created some 180GB space.

fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 931.53 GiB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
Disk model: TOSHIBA MQ01ABD1
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 

Device          Start        End    Sectors  Size Type
/dev/sda1        2048       4095       2048    1M BIOS boot
/dev/sda2        4096    8103935    8099840  3.9G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda3     8103936   86642687   78538752 37.5G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda4    86642688  112031743   25389056 12.1G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda5   112031744  170625023   58593280   28G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda6   170625024 1579759615 1409134592  672G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda7  1579759616 1745035263  165275648 78.8G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda8  1949835264 1953521663    3686400  1.8G Linux swap

Strange: /dev/sda3 is ext4

I am trying to install in /dev/sda7

It was pretty simple in MBR type partition and windows XP, ...

Or is it not possible to to install in this setup?

Thankyou


OS:  Arch  &  Debian
System: HP Probook 440 G2
WM: Openbox

Offline

#8 2020-01-24 12:23:21

jones
Member
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 176

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

Per the code you posted, both /dev/sda3 and /Dev/sda7 are not ext4. In my experience "Microsoft basic data" stands for NTFS.
Also, do I guess correctly that you meant to write "some 80GB space"?

I don't see an ESP. => https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/EF … _partition
Which partition do you intend to install the boot manager to?

Last edited by jones (2020-01-24 12:23:40)

Offline

#9 2020-01-24 14:21:38

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 103

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

Windows 10 installation does not work with GPT partition unless the system support boot in UEFI class 3. If your system is capable of booting as UEFI class 3, then there shouldn't be a BIOS boot /dev/sda1 but an EFI system partition. You have either not configured the system firmware as UEFI class 3 or the system is too old to support UEFI class 3.

Offline

#10 2020-01-24 18:30:51

makh
Member
Registered: 2011-10-10
Posts: 215

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

jones wrote:

Per the code you posted, both /dev/sda3 and /Dev/sda7 are not ext4. In my experience "Microsoft basic data" stands for NTFS.
Also, do I guess correctly that you meant to write "some 80GB space"?

I don't see an ESP. => https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/EF … _partition
Which partition do you intend to install the boot manager to?

Hi
Theres some fdisk issue, I suppose:

fdisk -l |grep sda3
/dev/sda3     8103936   86642687   78538752 37.5G Microsoft basic data

df -Th |grep sda3
/dev/sda3      ext4       37G   32G  3.6G  90% /

I want to install on /dev/sda7. The Installer firmatted it, but doesnt go ahead!

@ liewkj: I am having GPT, but I havent configured UEFI.

Can I install it in my way?

Thankyou


OS:  Arch  &  Debian
System: HP Probook 440 G2
WM: Openbox

Offline

#11 2020-01-24 18:49:51

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,307
Website

Re: Can I recover Arch on GPT, if install Windows 10

We are far beyond the scope of this thread at this point, as well as the scope of these forums. For help with installing Windows, you should ask on a Windows forum.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ort_*only*

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB