You are not logged in.

#51 2006-10-02 16:27:01

SuiRIS
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-15
Posts: 18

Re: New ISOs for i686

Hi tpowa,
My hardware:
- Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
- CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e6300
- GPU: Nvidia Geforce 6200 128MB + Turbocache
- Ram: MDT DD2-667 2x1GB

Kernel 2.6.17 serie have problems (cd-rom won't be recognize) with Intel P965 boards. It seem to be a Bug, solved in kernel 2.6.18. roll

Offline

#52 2006-10-02 16:30:04

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: New ISOs for i686

Man do I love kernel panic "screenshots"! Someone needs to collect these.

Offline

#53 2006-10-02 16:41:26

SuiRIS
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-15
Posts: 18

Re: New ISOs for i686

Woohhoo!
With the kernel parameter "noapic" the installation boot correctly. Thanks tpowa!

Offline

#54 2006-10-02 16:42:16

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

do you guys all have intel core duos? have an other thread where core duos make trouble

Offline

#55 2006-10-02 16:48:10

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: New ISOs for i686

tpowa wrote:

do you guys all have intel core duos? have an other thread where core duos make trouble

yes tpowa I have an Core Duo, it's wired, you can say from 100 boots are 5 with this error. I have test this... (not 100 really..)


Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#56 2006-10-02 17:15:26

leviathan
Member
Registered: 2005-11-04
Posts: 26

Re: New ISOs for i686

tpowa wrote:

do you guys all have intel core duos? have an other thread where core duos make trouble


yes a I have an Core Duo


My portal: www.reboots.net - Developer of ZippHO: www.zippho.org

Offline

#57 2006-10-02 17:16:39

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

ok guys, all of you have a core duo, which chipset you use?

Offline

#58 2006-10-02 18:11:58

leviathan
Member
Registered: 2005-11-04
Posts: 26

Re: New ISOs for i686

My MOBO

ASUS P5LD2 SOCK775 i945P DDR2+SATA+RAID PCI-E


My portal: www.reboots.net - Developer of ZippHO: www.zippho.org

Offline

#59 2006-10-02 18:24:26

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

ok tried to fix this with this kernel:
please report your success or error with this kernel package:
http://www.archlinux.org/~tpowa/core-du … pkg.tar.gz
thanks smile

Offline

#60 2006-10-02 18:34:41

entvex
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 52

Re: New ISOs for i686

report working over all its working on my TEST system its nice work i like the km to get the rigth keymap smile
Thanks i will report if i see any moer errors on this smile


Linux can run on any thing...
look at me
[img]http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/8413/indexol8.png[/img]

Offline

#61 2006-10-02 18:43:33

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: New ISOs for i686

[root@dune flo]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Class 0403: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controllers cc=IDE (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 4227 (rev 02)
15:00.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev b4)
15:00.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C552 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 09)
15:00.2 Class 0805: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 18)
[root@dune flo]#

Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#62 2006-10-03 12:45:56

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

can you please report if the posted kernel link works or not smile ?
thanks

Offline

#63 2006-10-03 13:21:02

leviathan
Member
Registered: 2005-11-04
Posts: 26

Re: New ISOs for i686

I didn't test it.

After boot ISO with param "noapic" the standard kernel works fine.

I have only problem with loading modules order...... sometimes my hd is recognized as /dev/hda ..... sometimes /dev/hde.

I try to fix this problem before tes your kernel  :?


My portal: www.reboots.net - Developer of ZippHO: www.zippho.org

Offline

#64 2006-10-03 13:41:33

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: New ISOs for i686

can you please report if the posted kernel link works or not Smile ?
thanks

I will try It



Edit:

@tpowa

Ähm, I nhave this Issue only with the Boot CD not with the Arch Stock Kernel...


Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#65 2006-10-03 16:53:55

malagant
Member
From: St. Louis, MO
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 13

Re: New ISOs for i686

As a Debian guy for over a decade (0.91 included with a long-forgotten magazine), I understand the rolling upgrades that Arch & Debian allow...I would even include Gentoo's if it didn't take all day to compile... ;-)

With that being said, I also appreciate not doing a fresh install and then having to download updates that were almost the same size as the install ISO, or editing 10 config files to sync changes.  Thank you for your efforts.

Can I ask that you add some additional wireless adapter support to the CDs if you have time?  rt2500, ipw2200 & madwifi, perhaps.  Even if just available on a different directory of the CD, such as 'Unsupported', with a Licensing Notice and note that they were there to help get laptop users going would be a big help.   I am sure other drivers might be requested from others but I have seen these chipsets a lot in the wild.   I only use the first 2 so if there is no room for madwifi, oh well!   tongue   lol

Perhaps this request could be sent upstream as well.  I have seen this requested many times in the forums and bug tracker but no progress has been made that I've seen.

Again, thank you.
Dave

Offline

#66 2006-10-04 02:35:33

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

Hello again
First of all, I thank all people and developer who have worked to resolve our problems. But the bad new, is that I have problem with the installation (with the new current iso). This is my hw:

MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
CPU: Core 2 duo E6600
RAM: 1 GB (I think that this is not the problem tongue)
HD: Seagate 250 GB SATA (Model NUmber : ST3250623NS)

When I boot, the system show that the HD is a sda device.
I tried to install with all-generic-ide irqpoll parameters, but was imposible to format the partition, and grub failed, so I had to repair this with the official 0.7.2 base install iso (only repair grub).
With noapic kernel parameter I didnt try to format, and I installed without format with the new iso. All appeared good, but when I reboot and load the nomal kernel image, ....kernel panic. With the full kernel image, all went well, but at filesystem check...fail (something about ext2 (I selected ext3)),so...Any help?

PS: Sorry me again about my lang, my english isnt the best.

Offline

#67 2006-10-04 05:46:20

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

well if you need noapic on iso you need it on normal arch too,
they both use the same kernel so it would make me wonder if only one of both works or fails.

Offline

#68 2006-10-04 14:15:05

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

How do I give noapic to grub?

Offline

#69 2006-10-04 15:10:45

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

on boot hit e to edit the config on the fly, when booted change /boot/grub/menu.lst

Offline

#70 2006-10-04 21:03:57

leviathan
Member
Registered: 2005-11-04
Posts: 26

Re: New ISOs for i686

After install (with noapic ) kernel boot fine on installed distro. 8)

I have only one problem; udev assign random load priority module on my multiple controller

it821x                  7300  0 [permanent]
generic                 4996  0 [permanent]
piix                    9220  0 [permanent]
ide_core              109256  5 ide_cd,ide_disk,it821x,generic,piix
ata_piix               10760  0
libata                 85908  1 ata_piix

Sometime hda is recognizer as hde....... and I have a kernel panic.

I solved the problem in this way:

In /etc/mkinitcpio.conf added a module:

MODULES="ata_piix"

It worsk form me

@Felipe Cordero:  your "dmesg | grep hda" seem like this or you have a "hde listed"?

Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda4 ro
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xffa0-0xffa7, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
hda: SAMSUNG SP1654N, ATA DISK drive
hda: max request size: 512KiB
hda: 312581808 sectors (160041 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=19457/255/63, UDMA(100)
hda: cache flushes supported
 hda: hda1 hda2 hda3 hda4
XFS mounting filesystem hda4
Ending clean XFS mount for filesystem: hda4
hda_codec: Unknown model for ALC882, trying auto-probe from BIOS...
Adding 248996k swap on /dev/hda3.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:248996k

My portal: www.reboots.net - Developer of ZippHO: www.zippho.org

Offline

#71 2006-10-04 22:00:39

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

Hello leviathan
A question: Do you have an ata or a sata hd?

Offline

#72 2006-10-04 22:05:41

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

I didnt see that you have an ata disk...is necesary for me the module you said?, because I have a sata hd.

An other question for all: What is the best filesystem that you recomend? ext2,ext3,reiserf, xfs...?

Thanks

Offline

#73 2006-10-05 00:48:32

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

Hello, finally I was able to install smile, and I can boot, no kernel panic...
but when boot exec rc.sysinit, at Checking Filesystems:

/dev/sda3 contains a file system with errors, check forced....
/dev/sda3: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY; RUN fsck MANUALLY

and sysinit stop.

I have to say that with the new iso, I wasnt able to fotmat /dev/sda3 (all filesystem type faills), so I tried with official iso and I was able to format at ext3. With that, I change the cd to the new iso and reboot, and without format again I installed all. But something goes wrong because cfdisk shows:

FATAL ERROR: bad primary partition2: Partition ends after end-of-disk...

I dont know how fix this.
Is possible that the hdd is wrong?

And Do somebody know which module I need to add to can start adsl connection?(I posted my hw before)

Thanks

Offline

#74 2006-10-05 08:15:22

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: New ISOs for i686

Felipe could you change to vc5 after formating failed?
there errors should be shown why sda3 didn't worked.

Offline

#75 2006-10-05 19:53:37

Felipe Cordero
Member
From: Calera de Tango, Santiago, Chi
Registered: 2006-09-28
Posts: 16

Re: New ISOs for i686

I commented all the lines about Checking filesystem in rc.sysinit flie, then reboot and "all" appeared good, so the one thing that rest is run my internet connection with the ethernet chip that come with my motherboard (GigaByte GA-965P-DS). I tried to compile the official driver, but failed.

Any suggestion?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB