You are not logged in.

#76 2006-10-06 08:54:07

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: New ISOs for i686

Finally I've downloaded and tried new base ISO.
Here are my thoughts:
1) It's strange but installer displays "|" instead of " " in some places, like LITE-ON|DVDRW or 12345|cylinders (cannot cite exact messages now). Why?
2) Two times during install some of post_install() messages wraps out from dialog box. I've seen this with old installer too.
3) Root password setting can be improved. I like how this is done in Underground Linux. BTW, I looked at their gallery and there are some other nice ideas, like cfdisk with blue background, for example. wink
I know that phrakture is working on new installer. But I'm sure it will take some time tnot only to write it, but also to test and polish. So meanwhile current installer can be improved.
I also discovered a new bug in Arch Linux (not related to your ISOs) that can be fixed in your ISOs, just to test if the fix works - and then implement this fix in the next official release.


to live is to die

Offline

#77 2006-10-06 09:20:29

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

as usual always stuff can be improved smile

the usage of _ and | was needed to get correct line breaks in dialog else it's written in one line and dialog breaks it where a " " comes.
if you know it better how to do it let me know.

well the outwrap is a cosmetical issue, i don't know how to remove it.

Offline

#78 2006-10-06 13:28:31

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: New ISOs for i686

And what about bug #5529? Could you please try to test the proposed solution with your ISOs?


to live is to die

Offline

#79 2006-10-13 11:14:27

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: New ISOs for i686

BTW, tpowa, when I was installed Arch from your ISO on a system with Windows XP I had to search in my old config backup for menu.lst, because I didn't remember what to add to menu.lst to make Windows boot.

These lines are in default menu.lst in grub package:

#title Windows
#root  (hd0,0)
#makeactive
#chainloader +1

but not in your ISOs. Please add them back.


to live is to die

Offline

#80 2006-10-13 11:57:07

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: New ISOs for i686

#title Windows
#root  (hd0,0)
#makeactive
#chainloader +1


I must use

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

or I can't boot windows


Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#81 2006-10-13 12:40:10

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: New ISOs for i686

fk wrote:

I must use

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

or I can't boot windows

Me too, I just forgot about this, because I copied it from menu.lst in grub package, which hasn't this line. I'll fill a bug about this.

UPDATE: bug #5579


to live is to die

Offline

#82 2006-11-08 20:28:35

matchil
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 56

Re: New ISOs for i686

Hi.
I've just installed Arch Linux from latest tpowa iso. I did a base system install.

I had randomly problems with booting the CD - the Kernel Panic Issue which I think occured as I have Intel Core Due (which was written few posts before). But the problem was random, on 4 CD boots it occured once, on 2 hdd boots it occured once as well. The 'noapic' seems to do the charm.

But the main problem I have with Grub. I have my partitions as fallows:
http://matchil.hopto.org/archlinux/fstab.txt

/dev/sda3 - swap - primary
/dev/sda5 - / - logical (it has a Bootable flag)
/dev/sda6 - /home - logical

I've installed Grub to /dev/sda5 (not to MBR). My menu.lst:
http://matchil.hopto.org/archlinux/menu.lst.txt

And when I boot my machine I get:
[query]L 99 99 99 99 99 ...[/query]

Any ideas what I did wrong ? Is it becouse of logical partition ? Is menu.lst wrong ?

Peace.

Offline

#83 2006-11-08 22:58:30

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: New ISOs for i686

I'm not sure, but I think the L 99 99 99 ... is a message from Lilo, saying the partition it wants to boot isn't there or something. I think you have an old Lilo in MBR. Why don't you install Grub in MBR? (ignore this if the reason is above.)

Offline

#84 2006-11-08 23:01:43

matchil
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 56

Re: New ISOs for i686

I've found the info that its an Lilo error message but it's kinda strange 'cos this is factory new PC. It had only recovery partition + windows partition.

I'm afraid that installing GRUB to MBR can couse some damage on Recovery partition. Can It ?

EDIT:

Ok. Problem solved as I installed GRUB to MBR (after backuping MBR tongue). But still dont know why it wasnt working, was it becouse Grub was installed on logical partition, or pass the 1024 cylinder or sth ? Whatever.

Offline

#85 2006-11-09 01:23:28

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: New ISOs for i686

I searched a bit, and it seems writing to MBR can take away the option to recover the system at boot time. Many people write about making grub boot the recovery partition, though.
You should forget about Windows, wipe out the recovery partition, enjoy Arch Linux and the extra space smile

Offline

#86 2006-11-09 01:55:57

matchil
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 56

Re: New ISOs for i686

Good point ;P But I still need Windows for some some soft I have to use on my uni :-/.

Now I am wondering about the CD kernel and Kernel Panic on Intel Core Duo issue. What is the diffrence between the CD Kernel and the Intel Core Duo Kernel gave out by tpowa ? I would like to compile the CD kernel on my own and was wondering if the difference between the kernels is in the configuration what options should I use to achive the same result for CD kernel (no kernel panic) as for Intel Core Duo kernel.

Hope someone will understand me wink

Offline

#87 2006-11-11 16:48:24

noobohno
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 13

Re: New ISOs for i686

brain0 wrote:

These isos have not yet been officially announced, but I still recommend to everyone using them instead of the official 0.7.2 CD, you will run into much less trouble. Download them at http://www.archlinux.org/~tpowa/newisos/

Tried to install from the FTP iso downloaded from above, but got a Kernel panic with message "not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Offline

#88 2006-11-11 16:59:31

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

how did you boot the iso?
really a strange error, which iso you tried?

Offline

#89 2006-11-11 17:09:51

noobohno
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 13

Re: New ISOs for i686

tpowa wrote:

how did you boot the iso?
really a strange error, which iso you tried?

Not so strange. There are a few other posters reporting the same problem - one with a camera screenshot with exactly the same output and error message.

Got round it, though, by execising the three boot options available, including acpi=off. (I don't know which one of the three was effective).

After that, FTP base download is working perfectly!

Offline

#90 2006-11-12 05:39:54

sokuban
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 406

Re: New ISOs for i686

I have a dual core too, the noapic option worked for me to do the install. However I still have kernel panics when I try to boot from the hard disk.

Though I can boot Arch Linux from the install CD by adding the noapic option and specifying the root. I successfully booted like that but not with grub.

I think I might have made an error on my menu.lst. Where exactly do you put the noapic? Here is my Arch Linux setting.

title        Arch Linux (on /dev/sda3)
root        (hd0,2)
kernel        /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro noapic
initrd        /boot/kernel26.img
savedefault
boot

Help is appreciated.

Offline

#91 2006-11-12 08:33:44

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

looks fine to me, there is no difference between cd and disk kernel.
what is the exact error when you boot from disk?
try to boot the fallback image kernel28-fallback.img, we had reports that on fresh installs it might happen that the rootfs module is not included.

Offline

#92 2006-11-12 11:43:11

sokuban
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 406

Re: New ISOs for i686

Yep, the fallback worked fine. Booted in ok. I don't think fallback is meant for everyday use. (Or is it?)

What should I do to fix the normal Arch Linux, or can I just continue life with the fallback image forever?

Does using the noapic option disable the dual core processor stuff? Is it a plausible solution to the kernel panic?

I should note that fallback can be booted fine without the noapic option.

Offline

#93 2006-11-12 12:20:32

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

boot with the fallback and regenerate the normal image,
mkinitcpio -p kernel26
and try to reboot with normal image

Offline

#94 2006-11-12 12:54:10

noobohno
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 13

Re: New ISOs for i686

tpowa wrote:

boot with the fallback and regenerate the normal image,
mkinitcpio -p kernel26
and try to reboot with normal image

I've no idea what that command did, but it worked for me (Centrino duo processor, if that's relevant).  Arch now starts normally - no kernel panic - without resorting to Fallback.

Offline

#95 2006-11-13 11:43:47

sokuban
Member
Registered: 2006-11-11
Posts: 406

Re: New ISOs for i686

Wow, thanks so much. Working fine for me too.

Now I just got to get my internet working so I can use pacman to get xfce. I have light because Arch detected my ethernet, and I bet it is a DHCP problem. Coming from debian/ubuntu I am looking for an etc/network/interfaces file but it isn't there. How would I edit for a static ip with Arch.

(Yea, I'm going off topic, sorry.)

EDIT: I got it working, yays! Was't a DHCP problem, but a static ip problem, I changed it back to DHCP and it surprisingly worked fine. Seemed to autodetect a false static ip setting. (Or I might have made a typo in the install.)

Offline

#96 2006-11-13 11:48:01

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: New ISOs for i686

sokuban wrote:

Coming from debian/ubuntu I am looking for an etc/network/interfaces file but it isn't there. How would I edit for a static ip with Arch.

See rc.conf wink


to live is to die

Offline

#97 2006-11-13 22:26:37

swiergot
Member
From: Kraków, Poland
Registered: 2005-01-08
Posts: 145

Re: New ISOs for i686

I just installed Arch from the lastest ftp ISO and got the same error so I booted into the new system using the install CD and recreated kernel26.img. It works fine now and it turned out that kernel26.img created by the installer didn't have /lib/modules/*/kernel/fs at all. The recreated kernel26.img has fs/ext2/ext2.ko, fs/reiserfs/reiserfs.ko and fs/mbcache.ko.

Offline

#98 2006-11-14 19:05:16

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

seems to turn out this is happening quite often hmm
we have to investigate this soon

Offline

#99 2006-11-14 23:26:54

swiergot
Member
From: Kraków, Poland
Registered: 2005-01-08
Posts: 145

Re: New ISOs for i686

I believe I know what the problem is. Before installing a kernel the setup attempts to bind /dev to /mnt/dev so that a kernel install script can read block devices and select appropriate filesystem drivers. But this binding fails because mount apparently gets confused when it can't find out how a filesystem with the original directory was mounted (looking at /proc/mounts it would seem neither / nor /dev was mounted). That's why mkinitcpio doesn't detect filesystems.

In initrd.img there is /etc/start_udev where the following command is commented out:

mount -t ramfs none $udev_root

It is supposed to mount ramfs as /dev and this is exactly what we need.

Offline

#100 2006-11-16 21:37:25

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: New ISOs for i686

latest isos now fix the autodetection bug smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB