You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-14 06:53:21

octylFractal
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 2

[SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

Hello,

I am trying to edit the font settings, but the Apply button is greyed out with no explanation, even after editing a setting. I tried fixing the permissions on ~/.config/kdeglobals, but it didn't help, even after a restart.

Output of running systemsettings5 and navigating to the Fonts module:

Icon theme "gnome" not found.
Icon theme "ubuntu-mono-dark" not found.
Icon theme "Mint-X" not found.
Icon theme "elementary" not found.
Icon theme "gnome" not found.
Icon theme "gnome" not found.
Icon theme "ubuntu-mono-dark" not found.
Icon theme "Mint-X" not found.
Icon theme "elementary" not found.
Icon theme "gnome" not found.
file:///usr/share/kpackage/genericqml/org.kde.systemsettings.sidebar/contents/ui/SubCategoryPage.qml:141:9: QML Connections: Cannot assign to non-existent property "onActiveSubCategoryChanged"
QQmlEngine::setContextForObject(): Object already has a QQmlContext
QQmlEngine::setContextForObject(): Object already has a QQmlContext
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:222:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/0_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/0_0.png
file:///usr/lib/qt/qml/org/kde/kirigami.2/FormLayout.qml:137:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to double
file:///usr/lib/qt/qml/org/kde/kirigami.2/FormLayout.qml:137:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to double
Using fontconfig file: "/home/octy/.config/fontconfig/fonts.conf"
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/2_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/3_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/4_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:222:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_0.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:222:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_3.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:222:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_1.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:222:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_2.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/0_3.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/1_3.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/2_3.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/3_3.png
file:///usr/share/kpackage/kcms/kcm_fonts/contents/ui/main.qml:185:25: QML Image: Invalid image provider: image://preview/4_3.png

Last edited by octylFractal (2020-02-14 20:39:41)

Offline

#2 2020-02-14 13:56:37

deadite66
Member
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

Having same issue, i think they broke fonts with Plasma 5.18.
been watching this bug report, https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=417488

also i've had problem with window decorations dying, Discord always seems to trigger this.

Offline

#3 2020-02-14 15:04:23

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,713

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

A fix should be included in the newly released plasma 5.18.0-3 package, please update and check and verify.

Offline

#4 2020-02-14 17:24:53

deadite66
Member
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

fonts are fixed for me, Discord problem remains.

Offline

#5 2020-02-14 20:39:48

octylFractal
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

New plasma package does indeed fix the issue. I don't experience the Discord issue, perhaps you should open a separate thread for that.

Offline

#6 2020-02-18 07:35:47

art
Member
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

Having the same issue, "Apply" button does not work in Fonts dialog. I tried `pacman -Syu` but it seems "plasma" group does not have the change. How to update?

[I] ➜ pa -Qs plasma- 
local/kdeplasma-addons 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    All kind of addons to improve your Plasma experience
local/plasma-browser-integration 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Components necessary to integrate browsers into the Plasma Desktop
local/plasma-desktop 5.18.0-2 (plasma)
    KDE Plasma Desktop
local/plasma-framework 5.67.0-1 (kf5)
    Plasma library and runtime components based upon KF5 and Qt5
local/plasma-integration 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Qt Platform Theme integration plugins for the Plasma workspaces
local/plasma-nm 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Plasma applet written in QML for managing network connections
local/plasma-pa 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Plasma applet for audio volume management using PulseAudio
local/plasma-sdk 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Applications useful for Plasma development
local/plasma-thunderbolt 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Plasma integration for controlling Thunderbolt devices
local/plasma-vault 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Plasma applet and services for creating encrypted vaults
local/plasma-workspace 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    KDE Plasma Workspace
local/plasma-workspace-wallpapers 5.18.0-1 (plasma)
    Additional wallpapers for the Plasma Workspace

Offline

#7 2020-02-18 12:50:28

Gosi
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 54

Re: [SOLVED] [KDE] Cannot apply font settings

It was fixed in plasma-desktop 5.18.0-3 (4 days ago).

If your current mirror still has plasma-desktop 5.18.0-2 you should probably switch mirror.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB