You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-18 15:06:43

quoiDraught
Member
Registered: 2020-01-23
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

Yes, I do realise that: those are proprietary, from AUR, and that there are free alternatives like mesa, but I really need DaVinci Resolve to run, that's why I need proprietary OpenCL and OpenGL drivers for it to run, apparently.

basically I've installed the following from amdgpu-pro-installer(AUR):

amdgpu-core-meta
amdgpu-pro-core-meta
amdgpu-pro-libgl
opencl-amdgpu-pro-orca

Than, I rebooted my system and startx is giving me the following error:

X.Org X Server 1.20.7
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux Arch Linux
Current Operating System: Linux zaloope 5.5.9-arch1-2 #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu, 12 Mar 2020 23:01:33 +0000 x86_64
Kernel command line: \\boot\vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=d18f0d5e-6200-43ae-b2b1-ae8c0f2bfc8c rootfstype=ext4 rw add_efi_memmap initrd=/boot/amd-ucode.img initrd=/boot/initramfs-linux.img
Build Date: 14 January 2020  07:13:52AM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.38.4
	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/home/zaloope/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed Mar 18 18:02:53 2020
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
xf86EnableIOPorts: failed to set IOPL for I/O (Operation not permitted)
(II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
/usr/lib/Xorg: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so: undefined symbol: exaGetPixmapDriverPrivate
xinit: giving up
xinit: unable to connect to X server: Connection refused
xinit: server error

And this line is the most concerning to me:

/usr/lib/Xorg: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so: undefined symbol: exaGetPixmapDriverPrivate

Of course my system is up to date and that seems to be a mismatch between versions... But I really hope that it's not the mismatch's fault and there is something that can be done about it, because I really need DaVinci to work, let alone my startx to run at all.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by quoiDraught (2020-03-18 18:32:29)

Offline

#2 2020-03-18 15:19:07

Henkm
Member
From: Dutch living in Malaysia
Registered: 2015-11-11
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so

is part of xf86-video-ati. I think you should install xf86-video-amdgpu instead?

Offline

#3 2020-03-18 16:14:17

quoiDraught
Member
Registered: 2020-01-23
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

Henkm wrote:

I think you should install xf86-video-amdgpu instead?

Was already installed, but I've installed it once again just in case + decided to try installing 32bit libraries: lib32-amdgpu-pro-libgl; lib32-opencl-amdgpu-pro-orca
+ updated everything just in case
It doesn't help, I still get the same error...

Offline

#4 2020-03-18 16:20:58

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,813

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

You could just remove xf86-video-ati, however the fact that xorg even tries to get that far points to xorg trying to load radeon, which card is this and are you sure it's eligible for amdgpu? What's your output for

lspci -k | grep -A3 VGA

?

Offline

#5 2020-03-18 16:41:55

quoiDraught
Member
Registered: 2020-01-23
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

V1del wrote:

Are you sure it's eligible for amdgpu? What's your output for

lspci -k | grep -A3 VGA

Well, I'm not really-really sure, but it should be eligible...

00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kaveri [Radeon R7 Graphics] (rev d4)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Kaveri [Radeon R7 Graphics]
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
	Kernel modules: radeon, amdgpu

Offline

#6 2020-03-18 16:56:01

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,813

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

It is, but it is also not that new that amdgpu would be the primary choice, so you have to do some additional configuration here to explicitly switch it over to amdgpu: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AM … K)_support

Offline

#7 2020-03-18 18:04:22

quoiDraught
Member
Registered: 2020-01-23
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with AMD GPU PRO

V1del wrote:

It is, but it is also not that new that amdgpu would be the primary choice, so you have to do some additional configuration here to explicitly switch it over to amdgpu: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AM … K)_support

YES! Thank you soso much! It worked perfectly!

In case somebody in future wants to know what exactly I've done and just looks for a solution:

/etc/modprobe.d/amdgpu.conf
________
options amdgpu si_support=0
options amdgpu cik_support=1

(try switching to si from cik if cik doesn't work for you, like this: options amdgpu si_support=1 options amdgpu cik_support=0)

/etc/modprobe.d/radeon.conf
_________
options radeon si_support=0
options radeon cik_support=0
/etc/mkinitcpio.conf
_________
MODULES=(amdgpu radeon)

also make sure you have modconf in HOOKS in this file, if not — add one

And than regenerate initramfs:

$ mkinitcpio -p linux

That's it. If my way doesn't work — consult this link given by V1del in the previous post, maybe there is some other information that will help you:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AM … K)_support

Both xorg was fixed and DaVinci Resolve now works. God bless this forum and Arch community, I was on a verge of giving up...
Thank you, V1del, so much.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB