You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-20 07:55:55

heap1

Systemd hybrid-sleep problem

Hi, fellow Arch users.
I am relatively new to Arch Linux and am attempting to make my laptop utilize hybrid-sleep when reaching low battery levels.
So I've tried to use the "systemctl hybrid-sleep" command, but it is not working correctly.
The problem I am having is during booting back up.
I will explain what is happening: when awaking from hybrid-sleep my computer gives the BIOS splash screen before giving a white grid with black outlines in the same position where the BIOS splash screen logo appeared. Here it's obviously got stuck in some broken state, I know the OS is actually running, it seems to be only a graphical issue because I was able to open a terminal and type in "reboot" which then caused the machine to successfully reboot into a fresh instance of my Arch install. (What I was doing was not visually displayed on screen, I just used the keyboard as memorized.)

I'll close with a quick summary and some information that may be relevant, please let me know if there's anything more I can provide to help you debug my issue.
Problem: Graphical issue when system awakes from hybrid-sleep.
Notes: Swap is configured to allow hibernation. systemctl suspend/hibernate is working correctly.

Extra info:
- Using LTS kernel is not an option. (Wifi drivers do not work on LTS kernel)
- My laptop is a Dell XPS 13 7390

Thanks in advance for any help to resolve this issue.

#2 2020-04-20 08:32:32

heap1

Re: Systemd hybrid-sleep problem

Minor update. I've tried a couple more things:
1. Attempted to add "i915" to the MODULES variable
2. Attempted to change tty after waking up: the mentioned white and black grid gives some slight feedback upon visual changes. It's definitely just the graphics giving problems. And only with hybrid-sleep.

#3 2020-04-27 15:30:50

krystiancha

Have you tried disabling the "early dell logo display" in BIOS?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … )#S3_Sleep