You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-29 08:03:22

Aashish
Member
From: South Asia
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 2
Website

Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

Hello Guys ??
I Got new boot issue

sda
|--sda1  -- boot partioon
|--sda2  -- swap
|--sda3  -- arch linux
|--sda4  -- debian

Here first I Install debian then arch
I Install Grub & os-prober also but debian is not detected unfortunately I wipe sda1 & tried to reinstall grub if I run grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg it looklikes debian detected but I
Now nothing is on boot screen I got Grub Secure .. may error I don't what to do I'm using T420 with bios legacy Boot.
Please anyone know which is proper method to do this help me really appreciated.?

Offline

#2 2020-04-29 09:39:57

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,765
Website

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2020-04-29 09:44:44

jonno2002
Member
Registered: 2016-11-21
Posts: 343

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

if your using bios legacy boot then you dont need a boot/uefi partition or a GPT partition scheme, you need to decide which one you want to use then read this page:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB
and read the relevant sections for either bios/mbr or uefi/gpt

since your file system has a boot partition im guessing its already using GPT so my suggestion would be to use uefi to save re-partitioning the disk

Offline

#4 2020-04-29 10:55:03

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,391

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

So can you now boot Arch?

Aashish wrote:

I wipe sda1 & tried to reinstall grub

Why did you wipe /dev/sda1 and how exactly did you try to reinstall GRUB? Which command(s) did you run?

Aashish wrote:

if I run grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg it looklikes debian detected

If you can boot your Arch system then please post the full output of

# grub-mkconfig
# parted --list

Offline

#5 2020-05-01 19:22:25

paulg
Member
Registered: 2020-05-01
Posts: 3

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

Hello people.
I got a similar problem. I had installed mint17 and Arch linux. I replaced mint with lmde (debian edition of mint). Unfortunately after installing lmde, Arch isn't on boot screen anymore although it is detected by grub-mkconfig (and os-prober)

update-grub output

Generating grub configuration file ...
Found theme: /boot/grub/themes/linuxmint/theme.txt
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
Found Arch Linux on /dev/sda4
Adding boot menu entry for EFI firmware configuration
done

grub-mkconfig output

Generating grub configuration file ...
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  set have_grubenv=true
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}
function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
fi
if loadfont /boot/grub/fonts/UbuntuMono16.pf2 ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=el_GR
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
Found theme: /boot/grub/themes/linuxmint/theme.txt
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
fi
insmod gfxmenu
insmod png
set theme=($root)/boot/grub/themes/linuxmint/theme.txt
export theme
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
  set timeout=30
else
  if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
    set timeout_style=menu
    set timeout=5
  # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
  # unavailable.
  else
    set timeout=5
  fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
	set gfxpayload="${1}"
}
set linux_gfx_mode=
export linux_gfx_mode
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd' {
	load_video
	insmod gzio
	if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,gpt2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux 4.19.0-8-amd64 ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64 root=UUID=6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd ro  quiet splash
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Debian GNU/Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd' {
	menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.19.0-8-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.19.0-8-amd64-advanced-6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
		insmod part_gpt
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,gpt2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 4.19.0-8-amd64 ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64 root=UUID=6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd ro  quiet splash
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
	}
	menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.19.0-8-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.19.0-8-amd64-recovery-6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
		insmod part_gpt
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,gpt2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 4.19.0-8-amd64 ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64 root=UUID=6b6689a4-e9ec-4054-931f-d09a168ae2dd ro single 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
Found Arch Linux on /dev/sda4

### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
Adding boot menu entry for EFI firmware configuration
menuentry 'System setup' $menuentry_id_option 'uefi-firmware' {
	fwsetup
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

#menuentry "Arch" {
#set root=(hd0,4)
#linux
#}
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
done

parted --list output

Model: ATA ST1000LM024 HN-M (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name                  Flags
 1      1049kB  538MB   537MB   fat32           EFI System Partition  boot, esp
 2      538MB   38,4GB  37,9GB  ext4
 3      38,4GB  157GB   119GB   ext4
 4      157GB   314GB   157GB   ext4
 5      314GB   319GB   4295MB  linux-swap(v1)
 6      319GB   996GB   677GB   ext4            bup

partitions 2 and 3 are root and home for lmde and 4 is arch

Note that when installed lmde I choose to format the EFI partition. (I think that that caused all this mess -now /boot directory in Arch file system is empty)
Please help

Offline

#6 2020-05-01 19:40:46

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,391

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

paulg wrote:

Note that when installed lmde I choose to format the EFI partition. (I think that that caused all this mess -now /boot directory in Arch file system is empty)

Well there's your problem then — GRUB is looking for a kernel image that isn't there. You need to re-install the linux package (if that's the kernel version you're using) in Arch.

But note that Debian's GRUB version can't deal with the extra initramfs image that Arch creates if you install the CPU µcode package so in that situation it's probably best to install and configure GRUB from Arch.

Offline

#7 2020-05-01 19:51:45

paulg
Member
Registered: 2020-05-01
Posts: 3

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

That's what I thought. Two questions ( newbie mode on xD )
1. I can't boot in Arch anymore so  that means I must boot from  installation usb/dvd and archroot, right?
2. I run mkinitcpio there?

Thanks

Offline

#8 2020-05-01 20:00:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,391

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

paulg wrote:

I can't boot in Arch anymore so  that means I must boot from  installation usb/dvd and archroot, right?

Yes but make sure that /boot is mounted correctly. You can actually use arch-chroot from LMDE, it's supplied by the arch-install-scripts package.

paulg wrote:

I run mkinitcpio there?

Yes.

Offline

#9 2020-05-01 20:01:37

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,765
Website

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

You can use an Arch liveCD if you want, but if you are booted into another x86_64 linux (mint, debian, centos, whatever) you can just mount your Arch partition(s), /sys, /proc, and /dev pseudo-filesystems, and chroot.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ch … ing_chroot


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#10 2020-05-02 00:08:07

paulg
Member
Registered: 2020-05-01
Posts: 3

Re: Dual Boot Arch with Debian Os in not detected using grub , os-prober

@WorMzy, I missed that part about mounting those

Anyway problem's fixed. Thank you both!

@Head_on_a_Stick, Debian GRUB seems to work fine. Nevertheless I did installed GRUB on Arch...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB