You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-26 19:12:40

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

[SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Somehow the tab-completion of yay does not work anymore on my system.
The last time I used it was about a week ago, where it was just fine.

The output I get when issuing the tab-completion is the following

No matches for: `package', `packages', `repository/package', or `file'

I tried a reboot and reinstalling yay via git, both did not solve the problem. Also I could not find anything on the Git page itself nor in this forum.

Maybe someone of you guys have an idea what could have gone wrong.
Thank you

Last edited by lonlon (2020-06-07 12:41:54)

Offline

#2 2020-05-26 20:09:06

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,792
Website

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Mod note:moving to AUR Issues


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#3 2020-05-26 20:20:57

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,426

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

You haven't told us what you typed into the shell, you haven't even told us which shell you're using, how should we possibly know?


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#4 2020-05-26 21:36:46

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

sorry my bad.
so what is happening is the following:

Let us say I want to install the program wireshark. So when I am issuing the command

yay -S wire

and want to tab-complete it, as soon as I am hitting tab, it will print the following message

# yay -S wire
No matches for: `package', `packages', `repository/package', or `file'

On the other hand, if I try the same in pacman I get

# pacman -S wire  
completing packages
wire-desktop     wireguard-lts    wireless-regdb   wireshark-cli                   
wireguard-dkms   wireguard-tools  wireless_tools   wireshark-qt  

So until about a week ago (that was when I last used yay to install something), yay would also tab-complete my query to give me a similar (if not the same) output as the pacman query. I did not change anything in my yay/pacman configuration, so I was wondering what I could do to get it working again smile

Last edited by lonlon (2020-05-26 21:43:15)

Offline

#5 2020-05-26 21:39:03

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,426

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

eschwartz wrote:

you haven't even told us which shell you're using


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#6 2020-05-26 21:45:55

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Terminal: Urxvt
Shell: zsh
Linux Kernel: 5.6.14-arch1-1
and my system is up-to-date as I am writing this.

Offline

#7 2020-05-26 21:50:11

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,892
Website

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Zsh, or OMZ?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#8 2020-05-26 21:58:06

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

OMZ
(I assumed that is just a plugin and not a whole separate shell as I did not have to chsh for that)

Offline

#9 2020-05-26 21:59:44

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,892
Website

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Test if it works in vanilla Zsh. If it does, it would just be one more data point in the litany of upfuckedness that is OMZ...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#10 2020-05-26 22:08:41

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

I restored the shell (~/.zshrc.pre-oh-my-zsh to ~/.zshrc and restarted the shell) and tried again, but the tab-completion still does not work

Offline

#11 2020-06-07 12:41:23

lonlon
Member
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] yay tab-completion is broken

Issues were resolved after a recent update of yay

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB